ASDA Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

ASDA Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
385 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly with good pay nice atmosphere(in 171 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours which was helpful as I was a student so I worked seasonally(in 168 reviews)

Cons
  • "Certain Managers who would not do their own work but got section leaders to do it all for them but then took all the credit(in 165 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours for very little reward(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Perfect part time job for student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Flexible in placing shifts around you (depends on manager)

    Cons

    Can get V busy on saturdays

    ASDA2019-05-21
  2. "Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deliver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time

    Pros

    Work always positive On your own and free to drive where you want

    Cons

    Holiday declined most of the time.

    Advice to Management

    Allow and understand holiday is a must for staff

    ASDA2019-09-17
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Money, easy, good fun, customer interaction

    Cons

    Hard to work for and management can be condescending

    ASDA2019-03-02
  4. "Home Shopping Section Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA

    Pros

    Fast paced department, meaning time goes quick. Good team to work with.

    Cons

    Could do with better pay for the pressure of the role.

    ASDA2016-01-06
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reliable and pay always on time

    Cons

    Unsecurity regarding your hours of work

    ASDA2020-01-19
  6. "Good for what it is!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Services Colleague in Sheffield, England

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perfect for myself at the time as I was a student. Pay very well for a student job and fairly flexible (not sure if this has changed or not given the bringing in of new contracts). Nice colleagues and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Understaffed so many staff were exhausted by the end of their shifts!

    Advice to Management

    hire more staff

    ASDA2020-01-19
  7. "Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Colleague in Spondon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Management aren’t the best at professionalism

    ASDA2020-01-20
  8. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shelf Stacker 

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Amazing, Social, Work Life, Hours, Benefits

    Cons

    Tiring, Management don't care, Contract, Promotions, Busy

    ASDA2020-01-19
  9. "Good company, slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asda Content Coordinator in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits e.g. sick pay, pension, and a share scheme. Large company with a lot of job movement possibilities.

    Cons

    Grade structure is hard to break out of and move upwards.

    Advice to Management

    A lot can be expected of employees that are a D grade, if you want them to take on more responsibility and work a lot of overtime this should be reflected in their pay.

    ASDA2020-01-18
  10. "calm job which is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oslo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can have good overtime opportunities

    Cons

    can have long hours with no breaks

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ASDA2020-01-16
Found 2885 reviews
</>Embed