ASDA Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

ASDA Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
337 Ratings
  1. "Great part time job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Services Colleague in Govan, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fair pay for part time work, easy to manage studies alongside working, friendly colleages

    Cons

    Can be hard to get shifts covered if required, holidays are often not approved even if placed months in advance

    ASDA2019-11-05
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Cape Town
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    absolutely amazing staff including management

    Cons

    not much to mention other than the salary was not that great

    ASDA2019-11-06
  3. "Great colleagues and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work Challenging and encouraged to try new things Plenty of internal courses if you choose to engage in them Great events

    Cons

    Heavy reliance on e-mail audit trail for communication when the relevant people are in the same building and often only a few desks away Big budget suppliers drive new retail activity

    Advice to Management

    Take more risks and have a bigger budget to innovate

    ASDA2019-11-05
  4. "Shop Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - George Colleague in Ruislip, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working atmosphere, friendly colleagues, flexible working hours

    Cons

    can be busy during Christmas

    ASDA2019-11-04
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor in Bham
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff to work with

    Cons

    Can be hard during busy periods

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff and be realisitc

    ASDA2019-11-03
  6. "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - G M Colleague 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Part time in stores is great for students

    Cons

    Not many work as a team and shift patterns can be not the way you like

    Advice to Management

    Fairer opportunities in regards to part time and full time colleagues

    ASDA2019-11-03
  7. "Not bad for entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at ASDA full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance and pay is fairly standard

    Cons

    Few opportunities to move up and out of a role

    ASDA2019-11-02
  8. "Great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management Good pay compared to other supermarkets

    Cons

    Bad working hours, need better flexibility

    ASDA2019-10-30
  9. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Grimsby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay not good but good pay

    Cons

    Long hours short hours closed on sundays

    Advice to Management

    Stop being bossy

    ASDA2019-10-30
  10. "Enjoyable job, but just isn't suited to me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator/Self Service Host in Reddish, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people i work with are some of the best people have worked with in my life, and working on self-scan means i get a lot of customer interaction which i really enjoy. It is nice to speak to different people and get to know them because some days you will be the only person that customer has interacted with and its rewarding that we can make a difference.

    Cons

    I enjoy working at Asda but it isn't a career for me. I am looking for something more permanent with more hours. It is also boring sometimes and i often work late nights which does suit me very well. I want a job with hours suited better to me and a job that is more challenging that i can really enjoy and get stuck into.

    ASDA2019-10-30
Found 2753 reviews
</>Embed