ASDA Checkout Operator Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

ASDA Checkout Operator Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
75%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
4 Ratings
  1. "Great company for being a working student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator/Self Service Host 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed hours, working with a range of people in different departments

    Cons

    sometimes part timers are expected to work hours as if they’re full time

    ASDA2019-11-08
  2. "Enjoyable job, but just isn't suited to me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator/Self Service Host in Reddish, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people i work with are some of the best people have worked with in my life, and working on self-scan means i get a lot of customer interaction which i really enjoy. It is nice to speak to different people and get to know them because some days you will be the only person that customer has interacted with and its rewarding that we can make a difference.

    Cons

    I enjoy working at Asda but it isn't a career for me. I am looking for something more permanent with more hours. It is also boring sometimes and i often work late nights which does suit me very well. I want a job with hours suited better to me and a job that is more challenging that i can really enjoy and get stuck into.

    ASDA2019-10-30
  3. "Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    when working at asda you definitely feel apart of a team

    Cons

    Some rules can seem tedious

    ASDA2019-10-21
  4. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator 

    I have been working at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Easy, meet lots of people

    Cons

    Boring and unfulfilling unless you love small talk

    ASDA2019-10-08
  5. "Checkout Operator Asda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The online system is very easy to use and the card swiping mechanism for starting and ending shift is innovative. The use of technology is good in this organisation.

    Cons

    The people seem to hate working there they were friendly enough but would complain all the time about the management (who were awful) and every other aspect of the company. I left as was not a nice place to work and everyone was extremely tired with no motivation.

    Advice to Management

    The management team threatened me when I asked to leave my job. Don't threaten your employees and please don't be passive aggressive because no-one deserves to be treated like that.

    ASDA2019-11-11
  6. "Overall not bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator in Larne, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is pretty straightforward, you can be trained in other departments of the store if you offer to do their overtime. Plenty of overtime available.

    Cons

    Work can become monotonous and there can be favouritism from management.

    ASDA2019-10-20
  7. "Short staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator 

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family environment Fairly easy job

    Cons

    Stressful Very short staffed so you take on a lot

    ASDA2019-10-09
  8. "Ideal for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always paid the right amount and on time. Always kept busy. Usually they are flexible to suit you especially if you have university commitments. Lots of opportunities including a retail qualification with babcock.

    Cons

    Some of the management staff are rude and look down on you, wouldn’t say that’s uncommon though

    Advice to Management

    Treat colleagues with more respect

    ASDA2019-09-24
  9. "ASDA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator/Self Service Host in Aberdare, Wales

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly, nice to work for

    Cons

    Shifts can someone be cancelled

    ASDA2019-08-28
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator 

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Good whilst at uni to gain experience

    Cons

    Micro management very common. Little autonomy when managers are in.

    ASDA2019-09-02
Found 118 reviews