Macy's Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Macy's Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17280 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1644 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Macy's Credit Cards & Bronze Enrollment requirements(in 910 reviews)

  • "It is very challenging to meet sales goals(in 560 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place to work yo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay is good for things

    Cons

    customers are kinda whack yo

    Macy's2019-06-02
  2. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Meet variety of people Flexibility with shifts Could pick up extra shifts if you wanted

    Cons

    Sales targets were a little high sometimes Breaks were not managed very well Always had to work black friday

    Advice to Management

    Review how breaks are organised. Provide better incentives for meeting sales targets

    Macy's2016-04-22
  3. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and pay as well as good management

    Cons

    Benefits were hard to get.

    Macy's2019-07-17
  4. "Inclusive, Fun, Engaging, Inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, inclusive company culture, denim everyday, great benefits, lots of PTO, unlimited sick time, good discount.

    Cons

    Some toxic upper management that creates a poor work culture, no real job security because the business of department stores is tough

    Advice to Management

    Create a clear and concise pricing structure, pricing is confusing even for employees. Eliminate brand/style duplication, too many options for the same thing. Invest in more people and sales experts in stores, the stores are messy and lacking customer service experts.

    Macy's2019-07-18
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Team Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of time off given to executives.

    Cons

    It’s retail where the hours does not give a work life balance

    Macy's2019-07-18
  6. "Wish They Never Closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved Working with them - Wish they never closed

    Cons

    Could be hectic at times

    Macy's2019-07-16
  7. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours Flexible schedule Great People

    Cons

    Many positions moving to Long Island City

    Macy's2019-07-17
  8. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had great time with the people working with. I think management is great at listening.

    Cons

    You have to push yourself hard everytime to achieve next level but I think that pushes you in life as well to become better and better.

    Macy's2019-07-15
  9. "Awesome Place To Work and Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues, great PTO, opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    Scheduling, Aggressive customers, Lack of Merchandise

    Macy's2019-07-15
  10. "It’s a Great Job but Not For Long Term Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Yearly Raise based on performance, Holiday Pay, Vacation, Macy Money, Employee Discount,

    Cons

    Minimum Wage in the state you live in, company sides with customer even if they are wrong. Must submit request vacation or day off 3 weeks in advance

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Macy's2019-07-14
Found 17280 reviews