Macy's Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Macy's Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1,887 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only think was opening credit cards(in 941 reviews)

  • "many long hours especially during the holiday(in 544 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place to work yo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay is good for things

    Cons

    customers are kinda whack yo

    Macy's2019-06-02
  2. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Meet variety of people Flexibility with shifts Could pick up extra shifts if you wanted

    Cons

    Sales targets were a little high sometimes Breaks were not managed very well Always had to work black friday

    Advice to Management

    Review how breaks are organised. Provide better incentives for meeting sales targets

    Macy's2016-04-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's an okay place to work! But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate - Seasonal in South Portland, ME
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great employee discount! You get your discount on top of the sales that are going on in the store, which adds up. The people are great, very friendly, and will help you when you need it. A nice atmosphere. Always hiring!

    Cons

    Low pay, for decent work. The schedule is not consistent - you don't know if you'll get any work in a week or how many hours you'll get. They are trying to cut down on people's hours as well, for budget reasons (shopping malls are becoming obsolete you know, sorry :/). Training could be a whole lot better. I did not feel at all prepared on my first day being on the floor. There is a lot of burnout from the full-time employees who have been there for a long time. A serious amount of theft happens, and you can't always catch people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the training longer, maybe 4 days? To be safe make it a week. There's a lot to learn! As said above, there is a ton of burnout from your seasoned employees, try to treat them well with paid vacation/sick time. Offer that to all your seasoned employees actually! They're running the place! Make security better! Have there be more than one officer on hand, and have more security cameras, or a better security system. That way you won't be losing as much money as you are from theft! Another way to cut down on costs is not ordering merchandise that doesn't sell! Being on the front lines selling things, you see what sells and what doesn't...and there's A LOT that does not get sold.

    Show More
    Macy's2020-01-17
  4. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate 

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, helpful team, management was great

    Cons

    Not much I would consider a con

    Macy's2020-01-19
  5. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice- President Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, great people

    Cons

    Retail restructuring is constant. Don't know whether or not you will have a job from year to year; Still has work to do on diversity

    Macy's2020-01-17
  6. "It's fun but not alot of room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the schedule is flexible so it's easy to make your schedule

    Cons

    There are lifers so its hard to move up

    Macy's2020-01-16
  7. "Wage is very low as compared to the work required to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff and colleagues are good. Treats well

    Cons

    Hard work and wages are low

    Advice to Management

    Increase the hourly rate

    Macy's2020-01-16
  8. "Pretty Cool job and fun perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun work environment and cool job

    Cons

    Running around all day and not much communication

    Macy's2020-01-15
  9. "Excellent Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Sales Manager in Hayward, CA

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was awesome. What I learned still benefits me 16 years later.

    Cons

    Retail wages in general are depressing and Macy’s was within industry standards, not higher or lower than expected for retail.

    Macy's2020-01-15
  10. "Hectic But Stable Employer and Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and long term engagement of employees.

    Cons

    Large corporation easy to get lost in the mix.

    Advice to Management

    At a distance management of tech employees not always optimal to rate local performance.

    Macy's2020-01-14
Found 18459 reviews