Fitbit Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Fitbit Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Fitbit CEO James Park
James Park
170 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Good Upside!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Strong product roadmap *Good communication from Sr Staff *Good benefits, started 401k company contribution *Very metrics driven *Put recent focus on better managing OPEX w/ good results *Likes to celebrate *Philanthropic *No debt, a lot of cash in the bank

    Cons

    *Need stronger accountability on meeting deliverables *Better focus on the projects w/ the bigger bang for the buck

    Advice to Management

    Sr team to improve on collaboration, need to ask the tough Qs to move the company forward.

    Fitbit2018-12-30
  2. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Discounted products Small team Collaborative culture Communicative Management approach Free Snacks Free in-house fitness classes Bright modern office with fitness room & library Underground parking Comprehensive benefit package

    Cons

    Coming off a huge period of growth allows for reflection on some areas which lack structure, such as process documentation & improvement

    Advice to Management

    Many resources have been put in place of late to improve the back-end side of the business, improvements in this area are much needed; I'm hopeful this will begin to bear fruit be year-end. Advice would be to continue to invest in this area, huge savings and efficiencies can be made here.

    Fitbit2018-06-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Fitbit full-time

    Pros

    No pros. Worst place ever

    Cons

    Horrible management. Not recommended to anyone

    Fitbit2019-04-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible for WHO. Nothing else really

    Cons

    Has lost its competitive advantage. All about leadership team who is sinking the business. Nothing for employees.

    Fitbit2018-10-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace and culture Interesting projects Incredible mission - to make the world a healthier place Like minded colleagues Phenomenal growth in last 24 months

    Cons

    Some processes outdated as have grown so quickly

    Advice to Management

    Stick to your guns, we are on the right path for continued growth

    Fitbit2018-02-06
  6. "A very good environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Android Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The first best thing about Fitbit is the people that are behind and the way they interact in teams and cross-team. They are all open minded and willing to help you at any time. Also, Fitbit is a great place to learn lots of things and even make your ideas part of the product (there are Hackbits and also a place where you can state your idea). Last, but not least, the benefits are good and the Bucharest office is... well located

    Show More

    Cons

    There are times where you have to take meetings at later hours to sync with teams in the US, but this is very flexible: you can take them from home and come a bit later the next day

    Fitbit2019-11-13
  7. "A short title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    awesome people; flexible time; i've learned a lot from my team; my team is patient with me

    Cons

    none so far; i really like here

    Fitbit2019-11-13
  8. "Good collaborative workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering 

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work hard, but you're fairly compensated.

    Cons

    Hard to balance work/family life.

    Fitbit2019-11-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work/Life Balance, Products & a Mission you can believe in, & a company focused on influencing the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The mission "To make everyone in the world" healthier is one that is talked up a lot but I feel most people do take it to heart here and it is something much bigger that we can get behind, rather than just aiming for "profit over everything" - You get an understanding of how these products change and impact peoples' lives and you feel a responsibility to them to put out your best work possible, because for some... people it really becomes a matter of life or death - Solid office perks like Friday Happy Hours, guided workouts & meditations, healthy snacks in the kitchens, regular company wide activities like step competitors, good location in downtown San Francisco, internal testing opportunities to help influence future product launches - Most people I have met and worked with are friendly and willing to help if you know how to ask. I've never really run into anyone with a snobby or "above-it-all" attitude and it definitely helps with the work flow. - Unlimited PTO, need I say more? Of course, use it responsibly and don't always be gone either, but if your work is done and it isn't a crazy time for the company I've never had an issue with a time off request. - You can feel the sense of community, especially when you see a lot of people gathered, at an all hands meeting for example, and you can feel when we all win or lose together. - Very open to self expression and supporting any extracurricular activities you're involved in and potentially bringing it to the company if you talk to the right people - Pretty recent, but there's been a strong push on diversity in the office and in recruiting which is nice to see that has become a priority, especially as someone who is considered "diverse"

    Show More

    Cons

    - While the jobs can be good, I've found a lot of different teams seem to struggle with finding an upwards mobility path. There's been a recent push for learning and development, but a lot of people don't know where to go "up" from their roles. - That leads directly into a lot of turnover, so sometimes it's hard to find a contact for something you need when the one you know left and no comms were sent out about... who is taking that over - I think it's seriously insane that we don't have a company gym. Yes, there's a small building owned "gym" in the basement, but it's a sorry excuse for a gym. I've seen hotel gyms with more equipment and space. Besides the obvious connection to fitness, it would also provide a cool environment for us to mingle in a different way and showcase features we love & use from our devices. - Could definitely use more "chill" areas or just places to work and get away from your desk and/or conference room.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We're the owners of this space, and we need to act more like it. It is hard to see competitors gaining the edge over use over simple things that we could have implemented a while ago. We need to continue to innovate and push forward company wide and ensure Fitbit stays dominant in the futre. I can tell there has been a recent push on employee health & wellness which I can very much appreciate, but there's no... excuse to not providing a gym to the employees and I believe the majority of us can agree on that. I know we're all learning and growing so I understand growing pains, but let's work together and make the future Fitbit.

    Show More
    Fitbit2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Android Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice project to work on Good career plan and personal development Different benefits Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Some late meetings, however those can be taken from home, or you can come later at work

    Fitbit2019-09-26
Found 258 reviews