FDM Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

FDM Group Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
640 Ratings
Pros
  • "Foot in the door to blue chip companies(in 88 reviews)

  • "The opportunity presented to the dedicated trainees is by far the biggest positive of the graduate programme(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Might have a feeling that you are a product of the company, so account managers would try their best to sell you to their clients(in 158 reviews)

  • "2 year Contract hanging over your head(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Door opener to corporate world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impressive client list. Training bridges gap from university to corporate world. Great opportunity for grads willing to prove themselves.

    Cons

    Training is unpaid but then again so is university - all made clear up front

    FDM Group2019-04-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "2 years is too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Good clients, decent lifestyle in training period if you have a good class

    Cons

    Can’t choose where/who you work with. Salary not that high and fixed for two year (slightly bigger in second). Worst of all - 20,000 to leave before your 2 year contract ends is extortion

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-11-08
  3. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Limerick, Limerick
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    -Good opportunities to work with companies with big names -Travel opportunities

    Cons

    -Getting in contact with FDM after being placed is a nightmare. You have to wait weeks and send multiple emails to hear back on a simple query. -The way you get paid (base and day rate) can make it difficult to apply for loans/mortgages as the banks will only ever look at base. -Benefits are lacking (holidays/pensions/etc).

    FDM Group2019-10-09
  4. "Qa analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Experienced different work environments. You make good connections Gives people an opportunity into IT

    Cons

    Not much help in relocating from one side of the country to the other

    FDM Group2019-08-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "PMO Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Training is provided by experienced professionals

    Cons

    No pay during training makes it difficult

    FDM Group2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Destroyed the start of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training Staff at the academy are fun and engaging.

    Cons

    Training is next to worthless if you leave the company. Buisness plan is based on taking advantage of anyone with a fresh degree. Dont value you as a person, see you as a commodity. Sales team extreamly deceptive in their recruitment and staff managment.

    FDM Group2017-12-02
  7. Helpful (6)

    "FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Chance of working with a big company

    Cons

    Poor training for devs(you try to learn everything yourself basically) Unpaid training They place you anywhere and you have to go

    FDM Group2017-10-06
  8. "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wide variety of career paths available Blue Chip clients Social Global opportunities Improves your client facing skills Accepts many different degrees and backgrounds Great colleagues Not many companies will give you exposure to clients so early on

    Cons

    You need to be geographically flexible Unpaid training can be difficult

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-06-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    I trained to be a Business Analyst, and training actually wasnt that bad but definitely shouldnt be valued at £20k+. I had a really good team who I'm still in touch with at the moment. Some trainers really care about you and your progression, however some are just there to simply do the job. The firm has a good and ambitious vision, but execution can be much better.

    Cons

    Poor pay. no job security whatsoever. I know people who are placed but are still worried of where they'll be in a few months time because some have contracts that are only 4-5 months long, etc. When I was in the pond, an account manager nearly guaranteed me a job for a client as I was the next one to be placed in that field. But the client requested someone else who was already placed in a different country, so FDM took that consultant out of that contract and relocated him to a new one..? This just didnt make sense to me at all. Staff attrition is high. After training, they say it's FDM's job to get us into a job but their effort in doing this was not really shown whatsoever. No communication with account managers unless you persistently annoy them about you.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-07-10
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Java Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Java Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group

    Pros

    Want to learn java and have never done it before training is quite good.

    Cons

    Go to UK for €170 per week for 16 weeks. Promises of loads of jobs but most people in Ireland are never placed. €26,000 for a java developer is way below average for working in Dublin. Get more as a graduate.Tied in for 90 days after doing their academy which means you can't work with anybody else either. From your first day of employment you are tied to that money for 2 years.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-03-23
Found 1193 reviews