Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Spotify Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO  and  Co-Founder Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growing pains and learning how to be efficient(in 20 reviews)

  • "The salary is not great compared to other companies in Stockholm, but including the other perks (like stock options) it's still a pretty neat package(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Data engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Force in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment and people, great experience.

    Cons

    Haven't found something so far.

    Spotify2020-01-21
  2. "Senior PMM at Spotify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, fun place to work.

    Cons

    Speed to market, no annual bonus.

    Spotify2020-01-18
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agriculture Water Quality Assistant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, compensation, learning, teamwork, and tech spirit

    Cons

    The culture after IPO changed a lot, it's hard to keep the culture.

    Spotify2020-01-16
  4. "Amazing techs and flat organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time

    Pros

    - All your equipment needs are provided - External conferences to boost your skills - Internal projects are challenging and satisfying to work on - Foods are free via the open fridge - Company takes really great care of their employees

    Cons

    - Flat organization can be exhaustive sometimes

    Spotify2020-01-03
  5. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good music to listen to

    Cons

    long working hours every day

    Spotify2020-01-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great forward-thinking company with a desire to be consistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Spotify over 3 years now, and it's an excellent employer. I don't think we are comparable to Google or Facebook in terms of engineering competency but we are one of the best employers in every other way. - Great benefits - Incredibly diverse (in many ways - terms of gender, ethnicity, languages, etc) - Passionate about audio - Incentivizes learning (via conferences, internal trainings, embeds) - Easy to move around, either team or role - Plenty of colleagues with personality - A handful of world class engineers that are easy to talk to - Daniel and C-level management are refreshingly transparency. Huge fan of Daniel, Gustav, Barry's personality and approach to business. Honoured to work under them. - Positive work environment - Never afraid of change - Truly autonomous, each team mostly operates as its own "business" - We make decisions primarily based on our own insight/views, secondly what our customers are saying, and thirdly what our competitors are doing. Priorities are right - We are 100% working on the right thing. Everything proves towards it - Incredible afterworks and summer/winter parties - Huge emphasis on team over individual - Great investments in technical infrastructure, ie Kubernetes/Kotlin/Swift - Real work-life balance, in true Swedish fashion

    Show More

    Cons

    - It can be slow to make decisions or ship (but being here for a while, I'm not entirely convinced if this is just due to a sprint vs marathon mindset. But yes it's very intentional from management) - Astoundingly poor manager retention (I am seeing managers leave left right and center, unclear why this is the case, and this will affect your personal growth) - Constant state of change in terms of restructuring (although you do get used to it, but it will affect your individual goals potentially significantly) - Promotion culture is weak. It has good intentions, but fails to work time and time again. Two examples: first is one person didn't get promoted because "they didn't ask for it" (and others don't because "they ask too much rather than doing") and the second example is I saw someone not get promoted because they did not show enough loyalty in their tribe. Has nothing to do with our newly introduced promotion framework and plays a part in why we struggle to maintain senior talent. - To my surprise, the longer you've been at Spotify the lower your salary has proven to be (and the new hires get offered significantly higher base salaries). I am not even sure if it is a good idea to just leave and come back 6 months later. Intentions are good, but in reality performs astoundingly with varying results. I am also unclear how this compares with other companies. - Increasingly political and process-driven, which doesn't suit individuals who want to stay as individuals. This makes us increasingly slower to execute - HR seems to rule the business. No exceptions exists in Spotify. This seems to stem from Swedish business culture where there are no exceptions. Don't work harder, it is not valued. Work hard during your paid hours and you'll be fine. You have to be a role higher than HR, such as a senior business leader, to be remotely considered as an exception.

    Show More
    Spotify2019-12-21
  7. "Great if you are independent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Learning Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good amount of help from people, autonomy

    Cons

    Time zones, duplicate work, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Keep senior engineers around by paying them fairly

    Spotify2019-12-31
  8. "Decent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You're surrounded by really talented people.

    Cons

    Growth pains. It feels like management doesn't try hard enough to maintain the culture challenges that come with a growing company.

    Spotify2019-12-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Spotify for under a year and absolutely love it. The people here are incredible, everyone knows there craft so well which is incredibly inspiring, I already feel like i've learnt a tonne from my colleagues. The projects are also incredibly interesting, you have the power to really delve into a problem space and solve real problems.

    Cons

    Challenge with multiple teams working on similar initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    None so far

    Spotify2019-11-29
  10. "SPOTIFY was a cool place to work, but little hope for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of autonomy and accessibility within the organization

    Cons

    not a lot of development.

    Spotify2019-12-10
Found 407 reviews