Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Spotify Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
276 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growing pains and learning how to be efficient(in 20 reviews)

  • "The salary is not great compared to other companies in Stockholm, but including the other perks (like stock options) it's still a pretty neat package(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work on a product you love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spotify hires top talent and has great growth prospects. The CEO is clearly the smartest person at the company.

    Cons

    Pay is competitive in Stockholm but in NYC it is not when compared with Google, Facebook, or Netflix.

    Spotify2019-11-15
  2. "Quite simply the best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people The attitude towards each other The leadership team Exciting challenge

    Cons

    Many career progression opportunities only exist if you are prepared to be located in specific regions, namely Stockholm or New York.

    Spotify2019-11-12
  3. "Great place to work, and have fun with music"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good environment, friendly colleagues, a lot of trust and vision from PM and managers

    Cons

    Work life balance should be less life, sometimes.

    Spotify2019-11-09
  4. "Best company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at the company for two years. Never have I worked somewhere where there is such a focus on staff well being and staff engagement. The office environment is second to none - We moved in last year and it’s absolutely wonderful. It’s been designed with staff in mind so there are loads amazing areas to work from, you have the Hideaway which is for quiet working with cool sofas and a smoothie bar, Fitness... Studio, collaborative squad areas for teams, the ‘pitstop’ for grab and go items with fridges stocked to the brim with free food and drinks and we are all eagerly awaiting new new ground floor to open which will include a stage area, cafeteria for free hot meals, coffee shop, games rooms etc. Spotify is unique in that it is headquartered out of Stockholm. New York and London are its 2nd and 3rd biggest hubs. You get to travel pretty frequently if you so wish which one of my favourite things about the company - It’s truly global. All meeting rooms are decked out with Google Hangouts too so it’s super easy to have video calls with anyone no matter their location . All staff get new Apple Macs upon joining and the choice of an Android or iPhone - We are very lucky to be given the very latest in technology whereas lots of my previous companies would give staff pretty old stuff to work with. The benefits are insane such as stock options upon joining, Bupa Dental, Bupa Healthcare, 6 months full pay maternity and paternity benefit with a 7th month gradual back to work, 12% pension (4% you 8% Spotify), 6 free counselling sessions a year, flu vaccinations, weekly massages, agile working so you can work from home pretty frequently thanks to Google Hangouts, crazy amount of free food and snacks daily and great Summer and Holiday parties too. Everyone is super friendly which make it an incredibly enjoyable environment to work in.

    Show More

    Cons

    We hire 120 every month globally so there needs to be a focus on ensuring that the culture remains there. That’s like the size of a company every month.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I’m inspired to be working for a ‘change the world my company which is focused on ensuring we are the best audio platform in the world.

    Spotify2019-11-08
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Spotify full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work all around

    Cons

    there are no cons to working here

    Spotify2019-11-08
  6. "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Jurong West New Town, West
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open and transparent culture, Good Benefits, Opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Lack of career growth, Ambiguous environment

    Advice to Management

    Senior Leadership team is excellent.

    Spotify2019-11-06
  7. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and fantastic culture in Sydney office

    Cons

    Small teams, everyone works very, very hard. Not a bad thing if you have the right people in your team, but can be seen as very intense workload for people who aren't used to putting their head down/have adequate time management skills.

    Spotify2019-10-27
  8. "Good people who care a lot about the Spotify product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First off, Spotify is a very strong product. Extremely passionate people that make me excited to go into work every day. Most engineers are bright and also approachable. Worklife balance is strong: 6 months of parental leave, paid on-call rotations. Great office with a lot of perks (free lunch, snacks, barista, band room with musical instruments to play with). Everyone is trusted to do the right thing (and it... seems as if they do - most people seem to have good intent). Basically, if you like tech and music this is the place to be!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes things move slowly and it's easy to get trapped in a lot of meetings if you don't aggressively manage your calendar. Compensation is not on par with Google, Facebook, Apple but I think the benefits make up for this.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on ensuring teams deliver results. Cut out unnecessary planning meetings.

    Spotify2019-10-24
  9. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely office Friendly Good atmosphere Good colleagues Fair enrolment process

    Cons

    Segregated from other employees Very boring at times Long shifts

    Spotify2019-10-21
  10. "Lost its spark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office will be great when they eventually get around to finishing it.

    Cons

    Culture is fake and social activities are forced fun. It lost everything that was good about it, no longer feels like a happy environment where people are genuine friends and have fun. Old timers get pushed out, and hiring/firing is unsettling. No career path in Sales.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring people that aren’t a good culture fit for Spotify then wonder why Spotify has lost its culture and spark.

    Spotify2019-11-03
Found 393 reviews