Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Spotify Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO  and  Co-Founder Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
280 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Culture clash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership from the top and talented people on the ground looking to carry out those aspirations. Free food, flexible working, great parental leave for everyone.

    Cons

    Unfortunately there seems to have been a shift recently caused by hyper-growth where a middle layer of (usually american) middle-managers have swamped the company and gummed everything up, including the culture. Something disturbing happens when you mix Swedish openness with the US tendency towards passive aggressiveness. The flat hierarchy is an illusion. If you don't pay your dues you're going to be "managed out".... It's no longer the case that you can just do good work at Spotify. I've been shocked at just how corporate it is now. It's heartbreaking really because everything being said by senior leadership is still great but it's as if they still think the company is where it was 3 years ago. There is now a big push towards speed and breaking down decision making red tape. They understand what is happening but that's a hard knot to untangle. I see a lot of pain ahead for those on the ground. Currently, the reality is if you're the kind of person who just wants to do good work and speak your mind this isn't the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hey, senior leadership. Somewhere along the line, the innovation culture under the hood has spoiled. This needs to be addressed if you want to be truly innovative at the pace you are aiming for. You could do with speaking directly to makers on the ground to see what is happening. Otherwise, put in place channels for makers to feedback on management safely, update the feedback culture so that it can't be manipulated... so easily and champion / give the benefit of the doubt to the people and teams who produce stuff. Give innovators a safe space to ruffle some feathers without fear of it harming their careers and great things will happen! Lots of love.

    Show More
    Spotify2019-09-27
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Worth it if want to work in music and tech."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance, engineers get to have a say in the product and how the team operates, work on a diversity of technical challenges. There are a few smart, ambitious and loyal people at the company who really want to have an impact on the music industry and tech. Pay isn’t too bad considering I don’t feel like I’m selling my soul working for e.g. fb and my work has a clear impact on the music industry. I... have seen experienced personal and wage growth since I’ve been with the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough experienced engineers and managers who properly understand the complex multi-year life cycle of complex products. This leads to a good amount of understandable frustration amongst employees. With such a large relatively financially stable company, does attract some not too ambitious people, which is especially bad when some managers are lazy and don’t care too much. Some people could care less... about the music industry and they probably don’t last as long here and just jump elsewhere for higher pay. But it’s hard to find hundreds of talented engineers and managers who are really into the music industry, so that’ll continue to be a challenge. If the manager is lazy, the team really suffers and moves even more slowly, employees then flee to other teams/companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Given that Spotify values autonomy and allowing engineers to have a say in how the team operates, management should be better equipped to help empower engineers during chaotic time to shift things in a positive direction. Especially when a few teams have few or no experienced engineers. Should be better at setting expectations to employees: shipping a large new product can take a good two yrs or longer, and... like any other large tech companies and some products will never get launched. Helping employees to properly set expectations could help engineers deal with the pain of “moving slow” or during tough times. Or maybe this is higher up not having the right expectations of complex product life cycles, but I have less visibility into that. Hold lazy managers accountable.

    Show More
    Spotify2019-09-02
  3. "Great company. Progressive environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really open culture that promotes individual growth and ownership. Perfect for self-starters.

    Cons

    Work can be a little too silo'd.

    Spotify2019-09-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, exciting opportunities, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Very busy and sometimes chaotic working environment

    Spotify2019-09-12
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Great Office and Brand. Nightmare for Product and Engineers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful offices (both in Sweden and US). Perks are great too. People in various teams are usually friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Terrible politics. You won't get any work done here. As a PM, you will spend hours in unnecessary meetings created to please directors. Performance reviews are not actually based on your impact. Mostly based on how many friends you have and/or if directors and managers like you. Engineers are frustrated with the lack of direction and innovation. Cult-like environment that doesn't welcome different opinions. I spent... most of my time program managing people, endless meetings just to keep people happy. A nightmare for any product manager. Tech debt is insane.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act on the feedback your employees are giving you. There is no product innovation on Spotify. Politics are destroying this product and soon we will see more product and engineers leaving for other tech companies with better TC. We can't hire great talent because TC is a joke here. Reorgs are clearly not solving the foundational problems like politics and lack of innovation.

    Spotify2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spotify

    Pros

    Great benefits. Some truly exceptional colleagues / talent.

    Cons

    Toxic politics and workplace culture. Constant revolving door. Managers threatened by new talent under them and then undermine them. Total lack of leadership from the top. Some of the great talent is subject to gaslighting.

    Advice to Management

    Take a good, hard luck at your actual culture instead of the culture you want people to think you have. Give clear accountability between teams so it isn’t always war between teams that are fighting for their turf. So much potential for the company to be an amazing place to work.

    Spotify2019-10-06
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Lack of motivation and unfulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. You get to travel a lot (hit or miss if you're into that.. personally for me Stockholm gets old) Pay is mid-tier. Still great if you're comfortable knowing most SWE's at other tech companies make more than you. Great insurance, vacation policy, and parental leave.

    Cons

    With great wlb and autonomy comes some seriously unmotivated employees who take forever to get anything done. Maybe it's because the hiring bar has seriously lowered or maybe it's because there's no bonus structure combined with the fact that Spotify will probably not fire you as long as you push some code and are a fun/nice person. Regardless, at some point, you're going to realize you spend 40 hours a week at... work and would like to spend most of it NOT trying to motivate underperforming teammates to actually code and NOT deal with process heavy and debilitating consensus-driven product decisions that get trashed in 6 months because you're re-orged to some other part of the company. Spotify is honestly great if you're a parent or just want to coast because they expect so little from you. That said, if you're ambitious and find satisfaction from actually building great products with hardworking and innovative teammates I'd refrain from coming here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not everyone deserves autonomy. Middle management needs to be better about accountability and actually caring about impact and growth for ICs and their team... not setting up fikas (swedish coffee breaks) for us to force small talk over crap pastries.

    Spotify2019-08-27
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Uncollaborative, Unkind, and Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food - Free travel

    Cons

    Spotify is one of the most toxic work environments I've ever worked in. Politics run rampant and teams here are the most genuinely unkind I've ever met. If you care about producing work, this is not the place for you. Do NOT put your trust in managers. Here, they are just as destructive to your personal goals as they are ineffectual in helping you realize any professional development. Additionally, if you’re a... person of color don’t expect Leadership to create a safe work environment for you. I’ve personally witnessed incredibly ignorant remarks on the front page of internal public forums and racially insensitive remarks in official presentations. These comments have gone totally unresolved and no official action has ever been taken. Spotify enjoys making money off the backs of POC artists but not supporting their own employees of color.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As Beyoncé said: Until I see some of my previous notes applied, it doesn’t make sense for me to offer any more feedback.

    Spotify2019-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice people, but scared of product changes, continuous reorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Designer in Björkliden, Stockholm
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the people there. The company doesn’t mind to spend on business travels and off-sites. The projects were interesting, even though only about very few of the projects got implemented.

    Cons

    The Spotify team is known for being autonomous. However, it causes problems while the company grows to not a startup size. Each team only cares their own initiatives and priorities, and barely think of collaboration. The teams are scared of changes, and always try to push back. During my time there, every lead in my direct team left. Every person who sat next to me at my first week was gone. With all the parties and... travels they offered me, I was still unhappy due to the reasons above. There are lots of politics and it was hard to see the career growth there. Btw, the recruitment team was also terrible to work with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care for your people.

    Spotify2019-09-05
  10. Helpful (11)

    "this company is such a scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there are a handful, truly only a handful of OK leaders and unless you have the luck to be under one of them, you're screwed. If you do, you might learn something before they quit and then will have to find another job. nobody lasts more than 2yrs here its a complete boys club so if you are in the inside its nice - there would be more information about this but they'll offer you hush money in order to avoid bad PR

    Cons

    Unless you're into politics you won't make it here. you have to kiss up hard in order to maintain Women executives get taken advantage of in every way imaginable and used on a platform to promote inclusivity the company does.not.have. in general ive seen more women leave this company due to unfair practices than my other companies across the US combined they scam you with promises of perks and benefits but you'll... be lucky to take advantage of any before you realize you cant stand being here blacks and other minorities get constantly overlooked for promotions and job opportunities (five of my black colleagues have left within this year because of discrimination) you get zero feedback about how you are doing their HR department is the worst to experience, completely unresponsive and irresponsible leaders are selected based on favortism and nothing else, also being a middle age caucasian wont hurt stock and the way the offer it is the biggest scandal of all, also the company isnt doing well to begin with

    Show More
    Spotify2019-09-20
Found 400 reviews