MongoDB Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

MongoDB Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
MongoDB CEO Dev Ittycheria
Dev Ittycheria
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "MongoDB has a great work culture and show a lot of transparency(in 47 reviews)

  • "They put a lot of effort into hiring smart people with very diverse backgrounds, which I think is the key to MongoDB success(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Please don't apply at MongoDB if you aren't expecting to be with(in 18 reviews)

  • "There's always more to do so work/life balance is something you have to actively hold on to(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Growing Company with amazing Culture & Career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MongoDB full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As the company is growing quickly it is exciting for everyone to be part of this success. Company values are lived by everyone, teamwork regardless of what department you are in. Work-life balance is also a huge PRO if needed to work from home to run an errand or two it is possible. I think I am most proud of the transparency and trust of Top Management.

    Cons

    Sometimes the days can be long due to cross continent teams but otherwise, it is manageable.

    MongoDB2019-05-16
  2. "Rewarding place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MongoDB full-time

    Pros

    Focus on learning and improvement is engaging and exciting

    Cons

    Like any strong culture, this is not for everyone. If you want to be challenged, like change, autonomy and lots of feedback, this IS for you.

    MongoDB2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Growing company with amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MongoDB full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The company is growing and everyone is excited. This means we create a good product highly demanded by the market * Internal culture is awesome, there is no pressure on projects, no blames, punishment if the deadlines are not met (in fact it's almost always impossible to estimate right in the beginning) * Company values innovation and initiative, promotions are frequent * Super work-life balance, it's possible to...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people need stronger pressure to work hard, democracy and lack of micromanagement is bad for them.

    MongoDB2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best place for a Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MongoDB full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    MongoDB has a great work culture and show a lot of transparency. Almost all of the directors or VPs on the Engineers side has a strong programming background. So the management is very Engineering friendly. A project is not considered done until all the tech-debt around it is cleared. Everyone around you are very helpful. The environment is very stress free with lot of fun clubs and activities going on.

    Cons

    Depending on your work location, with the amount of rapid hiring, workspace around you could get a bit congested.

    MongoDB2019-05-01
  5. "Good Leadership & Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at MongoDB full-time

      Pros

      Excellent training & development opportunities, excellent office culture

      Cons

      Nothing major comes to mind.

      MongoDB2018-12-08
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great company with growing pains"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Services Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MongoDB full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      love the product and the company values

      Cons

      the company is growing fast currently facing management challenges

      Advice to Management

      be intellectually honest, embrace diversity and build together three of the MongoDB core values. Truly mean those.

      MongoDB2018-07-08
    • Helpful (6)

      "Amazing workplace!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MongoDB full-time

      Pros

      Great welcome from the start. Bootcamp training session in NY. Amazing people. Fast growing environment.

      Cons

      Long recruitment process (around 5 steps)

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening and improving processes with employees

      MongoDB2018-04-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good company, growing pains"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Services Engineer 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MongoDB full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Flexible, collaborative environment within technical services organisation on the ground

      Cons

      Lack of vision and client focus from both technical services and development leadership

      Advice to Management

      Listen to customer, and feedback

      MongoDB2017-09-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fast paced environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MongoDB

      Pros

      Good salary, bonuses, fast paced environment

      Cons

      No where is perfect but they try hard!

      Advice to Management

      ...No where is perfect but they try hard!

      MongoDB2017-09-08
    • Helpful (15)

      "Great business, but needs fine tuning"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Dublin, Dublin
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MongoDB full-time

      Pros

      World class training, amazing technology, advanced sales process, travel to meet other teams, and some of the best sales tools in the market.

      Cons

      Lack of synergy across teams, too many first time managers, rarity of people hitting target is a major drain on morale.

      Advice to Management

      Hiring internally is a great thing, IF you have the right talent and experienced managers onsite to nurture. Not if everyone is a first time manager in the office... Consider the differences between the US market, and EU. The value: 'Intellectual honesty' should mean a freedom to be honest, when constructive. In application, that honesty is shunned.

      MongoDB2017-07-12

      MongoDB Response

      July 18, 2017MongoDB

      Hi there, and thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not have an optimal experience with management, especially since leadership training is a primary focus. We hope you addressed these concerns with HR prior to your departure so we can work to continue fostering management ...

      Show More
    Found 242 reviews