Lidl Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Lidl Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2216 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Jesper Hojer
276 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and also flexible time for your own(in 135 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 58 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "all good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lidl part-time

      Pros

      Salary, atmosphere, agreements around annual leave

      Cons

      Working hours, everything done in the last minute

      Lidl2019-06-04
    • "DSM Lidl"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Lidl full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good salary and progression opportunities for a 39H contract

      Cons

      Permanent pressure due to unrealistic targets

      Lidl2019-06-18
    • "Customer Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Athlone
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rate of pay above minimum wage

      Cons

      Unsocialable working hours

      Lidl2019-06-04
    • "Rewarding if you work well under pressure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate 

      I have been working at Lidl full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      High level of responsibility from the offset Training plans for all new hires Encourage collaboration

      Cons

      High pressure from management Mediocrity is not accepted

      Lidl2019-06-12
    • "Customer assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Duty Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good money 20 holidays per year

      Cons

      Constant lying for senior management , forced to stay past roster time

      Lidl2019-05-10
    • "Lidl"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lidl full-time

      Pros

      Friendly, no power tripping from managers, excellent pay and benefits

      Cons

      Couldn't find any downside at Lidl

      Advice to Management

      Don,t change

      Lidl2019-04-24
    • "Customer Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Galway
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      no problem with getting to work, parking spaces. some activities/ family events for employees

      Cons

      you really have to be flexible. working for shops mean working on weekends, bank holiday... No or very little Christmas bonus.

      Lidl2019-04-24
    • "Deputy store manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good salary and benefits.

      Cons

      Never get a second, it's non stop every day. Keeps you fit though

      Advice to Management

      I know the moto is we save on bills so customers save on the tills but i think by adding a few more working hours into each store would enable staff to engage more with the customers. Which in turn I believe would generate more revenue going in the long run because a common complaint i recieved from customers was that there was never any staff on the floor and if there was they they came across that they were too busy.

      Lidl2019-04-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lidl

      Pros

      Good benefits, company car, competitive rate

      Cons

      Weak leadership, lack of focus

      Advice to Management

      Pick a vision and stick to it

      Lidl2019-05-05
    • "Junior Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Lidl full-time

      Pros

      Great company to gain a good work ethic. very fast paced, day flew as you were so busy. Development is a big focus. Nice office. Great to develop a thick skin.

      Cons

      Always fighting with other Departments to get the smallest of things achieved. Massive focus on Hierarchy. Company is Full of "yes" people and if you go against the grain as in try change things for the better or are any way negative and honest you do not fit in and therefore "dont fit the company".

      Advice to Management

      Be open to new ideas. Just because your "Higher" management does not agree with a suggestion doesn't mean you may pee down on people.

      Lidl2019-04-01
    Found 2216 reviews