Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 989 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount(in 127 reviews)

  • "You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love(in 82 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I recommend it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at with great customers.

    Cons

    The pay is what is not the greatest.

    Hot Topic2019-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hot Topic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s fun and the staff was great to work with, the energy was great!

    Cons

    Lots of standing and walking around and quick thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of people’s conditions for standing for long periods of time.

    Hot Topic2019-08-02
  3. "Easy Job. Low Pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic

    Pros

    I enjoy working in malls.

    Cons

    Pay was minimum wage for sales associate.

    Hot Topic2019-08-17
  4. "Laid back and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inventory in Staten Island, NY

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good management

    Cons

    Average to sub average pay

    Hot Topic2019-08-03
  5. "Respond to any concerns and questions any customer may have. Respectful to whom’ I am working with. Hard working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Las Cruces, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hot Topic is an amazing store and I want to be apart in helping and working with people. I will help reach customers satisfaction and answer all questions they may have about any item in the store. I am kind, understanding and I will assist the customers to what they might like. Always on time, open to any position.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this store because this is an amazing store.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the good work, you’re store is wonderful.

    Hot Topic2019-08-03
  6. "Good work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Paramus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a good way to meet people who have like if not similar interests to you. The work hours are fairly flexible and it's overall a good place to work in.

    Cons

    Every once and awhile you get the angry parent walking in and saying everything in the store is "inappropriate" or everything sucks but everyone usually vibes with it.

    Hot Topic2019-07-26
  7. "very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Cashier in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working with customers and coworkers

    Cons

    managers expect too much out of us

    Hot Topic2019-07-26
  8. "Fun and rewarding with the right managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    >Coworkers are cool >Discount >Cosplay days >Challanging and fast paced

    Cons

    >Low hours + minimum wage >Retail drama >Highly competitive for internal promotions

    Hot Topic2019-07-23
  9. "Overworked but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relatively Good Compensation Not Salary: Paid Overtime Cool Lifestyle Great Product Great Clientele

    Cons

    Minimal Payroll Leads To Working Alone A Lot Ridiculous Demands for Tasking Unreasonable Goal Setting Inconsistent Management from Corporate Terrible Buyers in Corporate

    Advice to Management

    Consider asking the people on the front line what is best for the customers.

    Hot Topic2019-07-17
  10. "Hot Topic allows customers shop with a smile on their face because the vibe is positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Whitehall, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was a store small enough to not allow for people to steal. It was also very neat and well kept. the staff were very respectful to one another.

    Cons

    it was sometimes a bit dark and hard to see certain items in the store.

    Advice to Management

    brighten the lights a bit.

    Hot Topic2019-07-17
Found 989 reviews