eBay Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
eBay CEO Jamie Iannone
Jamie Iannone
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is very tough to manage/achieve in spite of flexibility for working hours(in 135 reviews)

  • "Leadership decision making can be better(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at eBay full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance, life insurance

    Cons

    Lot of late shifts

    eBay2020-01-27
  2. "eBay"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Fraud Investigator in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at eBay full-time

    Pros

    Very good culture and atmosphere

    Cons

    Limited in terms of opportunities

    eBay2020-05-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Experience Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time

    Pros

    the people, benefits, location, social events

    Cons

    management style, communication, work life balance, decision making

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-05-06
  4. "awesome flexibility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexibility, work life balance, great benefits, opportunity for change

    Cons

    poor decision making at top level with frequent changes in strategy direction

    eBay2020-04-15
  5. "Not great..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge Teammate in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time

    Pros

    Some people are nice to work with, company shares, enough vacation time.

    Cons

    It's all over the place. I can begin addressing bad staffing. Loads of people leave all the time and management do not replace them adequately. Those who can't quit are overworked leading to stress and burnout. Ineffective first line management, inadequate support when escalating member's complex issues as nobody has a clue. They do ask you to forward cases examples and tickets but you never have time to do anything between calls, chats etc...And they make this process complicated. Very bad in communicating policies and updates. When new processes, procedures and fixes to ongoing issues are rolled out everything is so wishy-washy. Ask different people and you hear different things. You will be even more confused when you come back to the customer. Limited in terms of opportunities, if you are lucky you get a lateral movement in a similar phone role.And that involves working weekends! Unless of course you know the 'right' people. Everyday there are new bugs on the site and on top of that technical issues on our CRM and system...

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "This company will break you."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buy/Sell Customer Support in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at eBay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Care, 25 days annual leave.

    Cons

    Management love HR meetings, constantly been told you'll lose your job if you don't meet targets. One manager's sole job each day is to sit at a screen observing what everyone is doing. This includes timing toilet breaks and if you are in the toilet for more than 10 minutes expect to have a meeting to explain why you spent more than 10 minutes in toilets. The calls are relentless and often hard due to tuff policies. You are not aloud any offline time to investigate problems, means if a customer calls with a complicate issue they end up calling multiple times as no one is given time to solve it. We take calls for tech issues but then have to email them to another department. Some tech issues are going on over 6 months, costing sellers money and in turn they scream down the phone at us but we're just the messages in the middle. There's never a break between calls. Leads to mental exhaustion which causes high sick rate. You're promised loads of career opportunities but they are rare and huge competition when there is an opening. Dublin is mainly a glorified call centre and there are no openings outside of this area. I joined this company planing a long career there but after year I started to plan my escape. Out of the 20 people I started with only 8 are there now after 2 years.

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-04-30
  7. "good oportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    hire from within equals oportunity

    Cons

    better than most but underwhelming

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-03-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sleeping Titan"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CS Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance. Benefits. Work - life balance.

    Cons

    Stagnation. Too much politic. Bullying practices.

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-01-31
  9. "ebay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, very friendly and diverse culture. Would highly recommend

    Cons

    Very slow to adopt change

    Continue reading
    eBay2020-01-13
  10. "Good employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Product Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, good location for people that don't want to commute into the city ,sabbatical after 5 years

    Cons

    Not many career opportunities, salary is average to on the low end compared to other IT companies

    eBay2020-01-11
Found 2827 reviews
</>Embed