eBay Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

eBay Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
eBay Interim CEO Scott Schenkel (no image)
Scott Schenkel
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is very tough to manage/achieve in spite of flexibility for working hours(in 134 reviews)

  • "Poor senior management decision-making(in 103 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance. Decent pay structure. Private Health Insurance.

    Cons

    None that i can think off.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to give. They're paid to best advise me.

    eBay2020-01-07
  2. "ebay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, very friendly and diverse culture. Would highly recommend

    Cons

    Very slow to adopt change

    Advice to Management

    None

    eBay2020-01-13
  3. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Product Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, good location for people that don't want to commute into the city ,sabbatical after 5 years

    Cons

    Not many career opportunities, salary is average to on the low end compared to other IT companies

    eBay2020-01-11
  4. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at eBay full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Colleagues, Competitive Salary, On-Site Parking.

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, shift-work with little flexibility, timed bathroom breaks, low job satisfaction.

    eBay2020-01-22
  5. "The job is massively talked up compared to stark reality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Team Member in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at eBay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home - no commute to work Training is good. Reality of the actual job is a stark contrast however!

    Cons

    Super short breaks - no time to really do anything or get some fresh air on your lunch break You are massively undersold what the actual job entails during recruitment and training period. They word the role very well, when in reality you are doing a call center role taking back to back phone calls The tools and computers are super outdated, slow and unhelpful The phone calls are tough. Expect abusive, racist and vile language and shouting on the majority of calls. Once you complete training you do 'on the job training'. The training during this period is non existent. You have zero support, bar a IM group with a 'coach' who is answering your query plus 10 others and dont give you any valuable advice or help which eats into your AHT and affects your stats. CSATS affect your bonus, however the customers give you back CSATs for stuff totally outside of your control or thinking its for another company and eBay refuse to remove them and you therefore dont get a bonus. I have worked in calls centres for over 10years in a variety of sectors and I have WFH before but I genuinely mean it when I say I felt so alone working here. Such a pity when its a huge company you would expect standards to be better. Your stats are mental in terms of achieving them all. AHT under 7.30minutes and they want you to resolve the query, deal with the issues and build rapport during this time. Its unrealistic. Hold time is 2 minutes. if you go over this your stats go down, but if you cant solve the query you must bank it and call the customer back later, but you can only call back when approved by a TL or manager which is hardly ever, and this affects your stats also During recruitment they big up career progression but the reality is progression is based on who you know, not the quality of your work or your drive or enthusiasm. Overall - HUGE disappointment. I left as soon as I could.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop all the pretence - and actually actively manage. During my time there the management were non-existent. Escalation calls were massively avoided also by the managers, when that was part of their role.. to manage escalations! The hierarchy is real.

    eBay2020-01-20
  6. "M2m"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - M2m Customer Care in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at eBay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team. Good canteen, nice coffee from cafe

    Cons

    Bad management, too much pressure, no soul

    Advice to Management

    Be real

    eBay2020-01-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Buy/sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at eBay full-time

    Pros

    Free fruit, food on Wednesday, w2 free drinks every Friday

    Cons

    The management, never have a break, always busy, managers/coaches act like they dont care when you go for questions, being treated like children, broken promises.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like children, for example stating that colleagues cannot go to the bathroom between particular hours in the morning. Dont break promises, constant promises of offline time being protected for your employees to "make customers feel great about themselves" only for that offline time to be removed from peoples schedules. Help your employees on calls! I can't say how many times I had gone up to someone and asked for assistance only to be told to find it in the help centre, or looking for a reason to get out of the conversation immediately, stop. I feel like the whole marketing about "making customers feel great" should be removed, as the buy/sell queue isnt about that, it's about getting through as many people in the Q as possible and then leaving them forever, they need further follow up? Sorry you wont have time to do that.

    Show More
    eBay2019-11-27
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at eBay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and training for staff

    Cons

    Shifts can be long and very strict on breaks

    eBay2019-10-17
  9. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eBay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    HR role openings in Europe do not happen too often

    eBay2019-10-14
  10. "Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at eBay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Understanding management, subsidized canteen, parties and nights out, team engagement.

    Cons

    Parking is very limited if you are not on an early shift.

    eBay2019-10-14
Found 2790 reviews
</>Embed