Zendesk Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
404 Ratings
Pros
  • "They had an incredibly flexible PTO policy which made work-life balance better than any other company I've worked for(in 98 reviews)

  • "Worked on a small team of great people(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective(in 37 reviews)

  • "Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage)(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great experience with great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best in class tools to do your job Great people Excellent commission Career progression

    Cons

    Company wide changes & communications could be clearer

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-01-06
  2. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment and friendly people

    Cons

    I didnt encounter anything negative yet

    Zendesk2020-04-15
  3. "Great people, interesting problems"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is very positive. People are empathetic and people take ownership of their work.

    Cons

    Nothing major I've encountered yet.

    Zendesk2020-03-28
  4. "Account Executive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and big growth

    Cons

    Lower salary compared to some other companies

    Zendesk2020-03-27
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Had a bad experience :("

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    - nice office - free unhealthy snacks, if that's your thing - free beer on tap - free food, but it's not great. No hot food. - $1500 development budget which you can spend on conferences, courses, books, etc. - RSUs & ESPP - some people are nice, like in every company - generous parental leave (both maternity and paternity) - phone allowance

    Cons

    - Managers: incompetent, unfair, biased, self-serving, lacking in people skills, playing favourites. Some of these managers were lucky to be in the right place at the right time when the company was growing fast, and got promoted to their level of incompetence. And they keep getting promoted, even though their reports are leaving! - 360 reviews are a joke, no one seems to care about the feedback you provide. - Promotion criteria are unclear. It really comes down to whether your manager likes you or not. - Salaries are not that great. - Very stingy with WFH. - No exit interview. They just give you a short form to complete. I guess nobody really wants to know why you’re leaving.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-03-08
  6. "Basic tech company as a place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices, good pto and benefits

    Cons

    Somewhere between a startup and a mature company

    Zendesk2020-02-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing experience and exposure"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced and ever changing. Excellent exposure to global projects and a considerate management team. These guys are all about the experience

    Cons

    A bit top heavy in terms of senior management. Exposure to global projects comes at a cost of a lot overtime, projects are usually managed from US so the EMEA timezone can be difficult to manage at times.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-01-15
  8. "Great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work which is constantly evolving and changing

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Zendesk2020-01-29
  9. "Great Company to work for (really); becoming more typically corporate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Product Solid Leadership Fantastic People Fantastic Office

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective. AE Territories are sub-segmented and cut. Still a very solid place to work.

    Zendesk2020-02-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "From startup to grow up."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Salary, Office and People

    Cons

    Growing pains and inadequate internal systems and processes make some basic tasks very labour intensive. A lack of shared culture, identity and vision create a lack of engagement and collaboration across regions.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-10-09
Found 512 reviews