Cover image for Virgin Galactic
Logo

Virgin Galactic

Engaged Employer

Virgin Galactic

Add a Review

Virgin Galactic Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 169 of over 191 reviews
2.7
26% Recommend to a Friend
Virgin Galactic CEO Michael Colglazier
22% Approve of CEO

Found 169 of over 191 reviews

2.7
26%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Galactic CEO Michael Colglazier
Michael Colglazier
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company, good work environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "9/80 work schedule allows for much needed down time(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance is non-existing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management is out of touch with the little guys, so busy chasing stakeholders needs than realizing their company is built upon the little guy(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great project and great teams.

      31 Oct 2022 - Facilities Maintenance Supervisor in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and awesome project.

      Cons

      Little accountability for bad behavior.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      25 Oct 2022 - Associate Structural Design Engineer in Las Cruces, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Common mindsets, hard working employees, reasonable expectations and goals

      Cons

      Hard to reach upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Virgin Galactic team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros

      19 Oct 2022 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits, flexible, positive

      Cons

      Bad management, no more for growth

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Seems like a money laundering operation

      13 Nov 2022 - Space Wrench in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and snacks, super easy work.

      Cons

      No realistic vision. Selling rides for billionaires but not delivering any. Promises and fantasy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Start Here But Don't Stay Here

      3 Oct 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cutting edge aerospace. Great benefits. Good pay. Hybrid. Good colleagues. Interesting business plan. A stepping stone to give you experience. If you have Disney experience and want to move into aerospace, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      Poorly managed. Big ideas, no follow through. New changes every few months. Staff turnover. Low morale. No discretion. Dishonesty. Not a long term career move especially for engineers. Unprofessional leadership. Immature attitudes especially in management.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Blatant Discriminatory Labor Practices

      30 Oct 2022 - Program Scheduling Analyst in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good snacks in the Break Room. Brillant Tasks Managers and Technicians.

      Cons

      I would recommend pulsing other surrounding aerospace companies if one is a female minority. I was misled prior to acceptance of offer in regard to the requirement to work onsite. Technically, I belonged to the Tustin site, but after I hired on, with the information of going onsite 2 days a week, on a 9/80 schedule, management chose me to drive to Mojave everyday on a 5/40. I formally requested a compelling business rationale for be to be onsite everyday, at at my own expense. I was gas lit and given a run around. I am a Scheduler, in P6, with a VPN, and I work over the weekends as well. That means that all the supporting documents, artifacts, conversations, scheduling support can be done remote. I deliberately worked at home, on the weekends to prove that! I am the only scheduler who has this requirement while I watch my peers work from various states, while they can maintain their 9/80 remotely. I am 72 miles away from the Mojave site, that's 144 miles a day, and $240 a week in gasoline of which I would have never accepted the job on these terms had VG been honest in their offer.This is the scenario. There is one schedule file in P6 Enterprise, that 3 schedulers work in to support the same program. There is me, who must drive to site to VPN to an Enterprise that I could access from home, another white female, who works remote from Utah, and another white male, who works remote from Colorado. We all are in the same file! The Lead Scheduler monitors from New Mexico. This is blatant racism and ageism. So the Black direct schedulers are subject to fiancial burden to accomodate the white contract schedulers? What happend to fair hiring practices, equal treatment, respect, safety?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Interesting work, tough environment

      16 Sep 2022 - Director of Program Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company that pays well

      Cons

      Growing too fast to get anything done.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sad to see a great company gone bad!

      23 Oct 2022 - Supply Chain in Las Cruces, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with great people and developing great relationships.

      Cons

      Pretty sad to see how horrible the Glassdoor ratings are for VG, don’t think I have ever seen a rating so low. This is attributed to how horrible old and new management has been slowly turning once was a great company prior to becoming public into one of the worse places to work. Sorry….

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Discriminatory and Awful

      20 Oct 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Mojave, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Years ago, TSC was a great place to work. Everyone had passion and drive, we all worked hard together, and leadership did their best. Ever since going public and Colglazier taking over though that was no longer the case. The few good people left deserve so much better. There are still a few people who really care and are trying to make the projects work. Also, the work life balance is pretty good. No one is really in a hurry to get anything done so taking vacation and going home on time is easy.

      Cons

      VG likes to pretend like they empower minorities and women, but that's not actually the case. They do nothing for their employees beyond making social media posts about the few women they have working there. It became public knowledge that as a woman I was making about $45,000 less than my male coworkers with the same experience and responsibilities even though I had more years at the company. When it was brought up to management, their response was that they weren't going to change anything. I know a number of other women this has happened to there and so it's fairly common knowledge amongst employees that they are getting away with paying women less. If you are a minority or a woman, prepare to be used as a token for their social media and that's about it. Additionally, the insane amount of program managers and VPs that they keep hiring has put a massive damper on ability for people to get their work done. The procurement department is swamped with the worst processes I've ever seen at a company and it holds all of the engineers down because they can't get anything ordered or delivered. Buying parts to get your job done is a nightmare. Releasing documents is almost impossible. Scheduling is the worst because the turnover in employees is so high and no one wants to account for the time it takes to bring new people up to speed. The Tustin office is a joke and a facade used to convince potential employees that VG is a nice place to work. They keep throwing money at new coffee machines but won't fix the roofs in Mojave that leak water all over expensive spaceship parts and electrical equipment. Finally, one of the main reasons I left, is that the company doesn't do anything about sexual harassment. I had a coworker go through a very awful experience and instead of helping that coworker, HR backed up the harasser and allowed retaliation. This company treats their employees like garbage.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work

      4 Sep 2022 - Aircraft Mechanic I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good Place to work at.

      Cons

      -I have no con so far.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 169 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Virgin Galactic Reviews FAQs

    Virgin Galactic has an overall rating of 2.7 out of 5, based on over 191 reviews left anonymously by employees. 26% of employees would recommend working at Virgin Galactic to a friend and 20% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -16% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Virgin Galactic employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Virgin Galactic. This rating has decreased by -22% over the last 12 months.

    26% of Virgin Galactic employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Virgin Galactic 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.3 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Virgin Galactic Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Virgin Galactic? Share Your Experiences

    Virgin Galactic logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Virgin Galactic Photos

    + Add Photo
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Spaceship Unity and Team
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Unity22 full crew of mission specialists and two pilots
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Richard Branson in space on #Unity22
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Unity in space during #Unity22
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic's, Sirisha Bandla on #Unity22 spaceflight
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic #Unity22 Mission Specialists
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic Team
    See All Photos

    Affiliated Companies

    The Spaceship Company

    Virgin Galactic Job Seekers Also Viewed

    SpaceX Logo
    SpaceX

    4.2

    2,663 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 191 Virgin Galactic reviews submitted anonymously by Virgin Galactic employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Virgin Galactic is right for you.