VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

VMware Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4388 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2253 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good vibe, technical, good benefits

    Cons

    Stress, lots of cases,

    VMware2019-08-19
  2. "Business Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    was working there over 1 year in full time, nice atmosphere, interesting products, good salary

    Cons

    they moved the sales department to Barcelona

    VMware2019-08-13
  3. "Good place to work and develope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working, good Atmosphere, easily engage-able management. The company puts a lot of effort into equal treatment of employees. A lot of opportunities to grow and develop yourself

    Cons

    sometimes not enough work to do

    VMware2019-08-02
  4. "Tough but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ample opportunity to change & progress if you're willing to put in the work. Great culture, ethos, camaraderie

    Cons

    Peaks & troughs in workload, the peaks can be hard going for a few weeks

    VMware2019-08-01
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good working environment - Good salary and benefits - Good experience with my manager and director - People seem to stay here a long time which says a lot. - Promotion opportunities on my team are good.

    Cons

    - More chance to work remotely. At the moment it's a now and then, would be great to see that we could work from home once a week - as this would have such a huge impact of quality of life, as I'd get to spend 2 hours extra with my child that day, but not having to commute. I know on other teams people are fully remote - so it's a team by team decision.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    VMware2019-07-26
  6. "Best place i have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    freedom to do your own work

    Cons

    i cannot think of any - honestly i love my job

    VMware2019-07-25
  7. "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    good company it has good benefits ,nice and knowledgeable people

    Cons

    fast-paced environment not for everybody

    VMware2019-07-23
  8. "Not startup company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior TSE in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leading software Company with rapidly growing products like VSAN and NSX in Virtualization segment , with loads of job and carer opportunities.

    Cons

    Some teams are overloaded with work, In canteen only snacks no freshly cooked food available.

    VMware2019-06-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It might just be the most toxic work environment ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues, free food, get to leave at 4 P.M. on Fridays.

    Cons

    Management acts like they’re opening the door to a dark room, on a daily basis. They make decisions as if they don’t know what’s going on. They harp on about empowerment but put in place an astronomical amount of layers, upon layers of approvals. Additionally, they’re too top heavy and in order to be promoted you either needed to have shared the same womb as management or met them in crèche. In other words, promotions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Throw the whole management team away and start over.

    VMware2019-07-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "8 years at VMware - former manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Comp and benefits are market leading. You can make a difference - this is basically still a giant startup. Culture and your experience will vary depending on country, function and level but it is possible to work with some of the best people in the business. CEO and some SVPs/ VPs are inspirational.

    Cons

    Can be ruthless and disfunctionally political. I have seen repeatedly that underneath it all, everyone is disposable. There is a fair proportion of incompetent/ disinterested/ arrogant people in place at senior levels in EMEA. Hard work and dedication may get you nowhere.

    Advice to Management

    EMEA leadership should try being more EPIC.

    VMware2019-06-26
Found 4388 reviews