TransPerfect Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

TransPerfect Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
TransPerfect President and CEO Phil Shawe (no image)
Phil Shawe
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working alongside great people from all over the world(in 41 reviews)

  • "Its dynamic work environment is the best place for language graduates or seasoned translation industry workers alike to flourish(in 40 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Professional workflow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Translator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransPerfect

    Pros

    Flexibility in time and work management

    Cons

    Express trainslation may come unexpectedly

    TransPerfect2019-12-20
  2. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    Good Learning Good Management Manager support

    Cons

    Low salary, No increments Worst environment No bonus Pressure on single person

    TransPerfect2019-06-22
  3. "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    You will meet some great people.

    Cons

    Misogynistic and old fashioned culture. The sales organisation is a pyramid scheme.

    TransPerfect2019-02-19
  4. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Learning new things every day Excellent team Everyone is working together

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    TransPerfect2017-11-27
  5. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential to earn a lot of money.

    Cons

    You will sell your soul for the "potential" to earn money.

    Advice to Management

    Get some perspective on life

    TransPerfect2015-08-04
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Learnt lots of skills, but at what price? Quality vs. cheap rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As an employee for more than 3 years, I learnt lots of skills at Transperfect (software, management, training). Being a huge company, there are employees from any country in the world and the environment was mostly good thanks to that. I would only recommend working for Transperfect if you cannot find anything better.

    Cons

    Employees are exploited, translator rates are really low and in dollars (which are even lower against the Euro, for example). Salaries are quite low (sorry, but I got a better salary working in a bar). Employees are forced to penalize translators when client spots a mistake, this penalization comes through a reduction of the PO obviously. Most mistakes are due to the fact that all translations are rush and budget is very limited, which means project managers have to contact the cheapest linguists. Business representatives (sales people) have no idea about the translation business. They accept any request from the client and estimate absurd budgets and deadlines. Then the Project Managers have to deal with it. Little chance of negotation in order to get a better deadline or budget even if the quality of the translation is at stake. Project managers are penalized if they don't reach a monthly goal (high number of projects, high income obtained for the company, few errors and positive feedback). Some employees have been fired due to that. I have seen employees crying, staying until midnight in the office, on sick leave due to stress and even skin diseases (due to stress and scratching). I have even seen employees quitting on the same day because they couldn't stand it anymore. It's impossible to have a life of your own if you're working for them. Obviously this is a company that only cares about the money, not about the quality. It's like comparing McDonalds with a cozy family restaurant. We all know which one is bigger, cheaper and faster. Still, big clients prefer bad translations, otherwise Transperfect wouldn't be that huge. It's a big concern if we consider we are taking medications and many investigations are being translated by this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's not all about the money. If nobody opens their mouth, nothing will change.

    TransPerfect2013-03-14
  7. "Overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow

    Cons

    Management can be a bit cliquey

    TransPerfect2020-01-17
  8. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours. It totally depends on your manager if he is not a micromanager your life is easy here. If you are reporting to on-site manager and working efficiently you can have flexibility. May get a chance to travel if Indian management supports you. Top management is good but middle managers whom you'd be reporting may not all be that good, but once you establish your position here, all would be good.

    Cons

    Some managers locally micromanage else all good. Lot of things to learn if you are proactive and eager to learn.

    Advice to Management

    Top management should give trainings to middle managers how they should treat people fairly.

    TransPerfect2020-01-16
  9. "My Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    - Great Work Environment - Consistent Schedule

    Cons

    - Low Pay - I can't think of anything else.

    TransPerfect2020-01-08
  10. "Good experience, but needs a little improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Language Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment Able to work with little supervision or micromanagement Small office groups, no cubicles

    Cons

    Training is a little sparse Work requirements aren't always translated well No benefits

    Advice to Management

    Focus on training more, try and express the requirements of work a little better.

    TransPerfect2020-01-06
Found 908 reviews