TransPerfect Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

TransPerfect Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
TransPerfect CEO Phil Shawe (no image)
Phil Shawe
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will meet some great people(in 40 reviews)

  • "Its dynamic work environment is the best place for language graduates or seasoned translation industry workers alike to flourish(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, no security for 6 months, management is awful(in 87 reviews)

  • "Hectic schedule but work-life balance is still ok(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Learning new things every day Excellent team Everyone is working together

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    TransPerfect2017-11-27
  2. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    Good Learning Good Management Manager support

    Cons

    Low salary, No increments Worst environment No bonus Pressure on single person

    TransPerfect2019-06-22
  3. "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    You will meet some great people.

    Cons

    Misogynistic and old fashioned culture. The sales organisation is a pyramid scheme.

    TransPerfect2019-02-19
  4. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential to earn a lot of money.

    Cons

    You will sell your soul for the "potential" to earn money.

    Advice to Management

    Get some perspective on life

    TransPerfect2015-08-04
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Learnt lots of skills, but at what price? Quality vs. cheap rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As an employee for more than 3 years, I learnt lots of skills at Transperfect (software, management, training). Being a huge company, there are employees from any country in the world and the environment was mostly good thanks to that. I would only recommend working for Transperfect if you cannot find anything better.

    Cons

    Employees are exploited, translator rates are really low and in dollars (which are even lower against the Euro, for example). Salaries are quite low (sorry, but I got a better salary working in a bar). Employees are forced to penalize translators when client spots a mistake, this penalization comes through a reduction of the PO obviously. Most mistakes are due to the fact that all translations are rush and... budget is very limited, which means project managers have to contact the cheapest linguists. Business representatives (sales people) have no idea about the translation business. They accept any request from the client and estimate absurd budgets and deadlines. Then the Project Managers have to deal with it. Little chance of negotation in order to get a better deadline or budget even if the quality of the translation is at stake. Project managers are penalized if they don't reach a monthly goal (high number of projects, high income obtained for the company, few errors and positive feedback). Some employees have been fired due to that. I have seen employees crying, staying until midnight in the office, on sick leave due to stress and even skin diseases (due to stress and scratching). I have even seen employees quitting on the same day because they couldn't stand it anymore. It's impossible to have a life of your own if you're working for them. Obviously this is a company that only cares about the money, not about the quality. It's like comparing McDonalds with a cozy family restaurant. We all know which one is bigger, cheaper and faster. Still, big clients prefer bad translations, otherwise Transperfect wouldn't be that huge. It's a big concern if we consider we are taking medications and many investigations are being translated by this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's not all about the money. If nobody opens their mouth, nothing will change.

    TransPerfect2013-03-14
  6. "Needs a better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior User Experience Designer in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty close commute for NY

    Cons

    Needs more structure on research.

    TransPerfect2019-12-07
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    Nice people! Very hard work

    Cons

    Not paid enough for the long hours

    TransPerfect2019-12-06
  8. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Business Development 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to do what you want.

    Cons

    Not much sales structure or support to help employees succeed

    TransPerfect2019-11-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Work Life Balance and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance - yes some days you do have to put in more work, but not too frequently. work culture at TPT doesn't expect you to work once your 'off the clock,' my manager never messages me outside working hours regarding work - something I cannot say about other jobs I've had. PT, holiday and healthcare are all perfectly in line with, if not above average. The work is super interesting and I think the... growth opporunities are there if you show your worth.

    Show More

    Cons

    Teams are pretty siloed from other departments, so I never really know what goes on elsewhere - doesn't usually bug me though. Pay isnt as competitive as I think it should be - but it's not unreasonable.

    TransPerfect2019-11-11
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransPerfect full-time

    Pros

    Managers are very supportive

    Cons

    No cons at ll. Very nice company

    TransPerfect2019-11-16
Found 895 reviews