Softchoice Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Softchoice Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 584 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture, dogs in office, the people(in 56 reviews)

  • "monthy beer cart and pizza lunch(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no work life balance here(in 33 reviews)

  • "This is a common problem in the Toronto office but is not the case in their other locations(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is amazing! I really enjoy all of the people I work with. There are plenty of opportunities to grow here.

    Cons

    No real cons for me.

    Softchoice2019-09-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The Sales review for Softchoice ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition

    Cons

    Not much to share all is good

    Advice to Management

    Better pay structure would help retain talent

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  3. "Great company for starting in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits

    Cons

    Base pay kind of low

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a career in IT/Sales

    Cons

    Constant change in strategy, poor sales management, owned by PE form, high rate of employee turnover in all roles

    Advice to Management

    Place more value in your employees

    Softchoice2019-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "They think very highly of themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty office with coffee and fancy flavoured water.

    Cons

    Senior team won’t respond to a hello or good morning if they don’t think your rank is high enough. Some people will actually look the other way when you greet them. That speaks volumes about the real company culture. People who think too highly of themselves and who don’t really care about anyone other than themselves. Do you think that a culture like that will lead to good results in the long run? Don’t be misled... by the pretty pictures on their website. Everyone smiles for the camera and quickly returns to their self-absorbed cubicles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about all your employees, not just your leadership team. And for crying out loud, don’t pretend you didn’t hear a “hello” and turn your face. Makes you look bad. Makes the company look really bad.

    Softchoice2019-08-29
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, dog friendly, good life - work - balance environment

    Cons

    Lack of documentation, not many career opportunities, discrimination

    Softchoice2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun people, dogs allowed, awesome training across a ton of technology.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth, tons of vendor meetings, pay not too competitive for Seattle, and you will have to go to Toronto ever January (brrr..) for SKO.

    Advice to Management

    Make SKO virutal, figure out more competitive pay structure and cut out 1/2 of the internal and vendor meetings.

    Softchoice2019-07-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ive worked at softchoice for over 3 years and made some of the best friends of my life. Lots of free events, trips, prizes promos, Easy to get promoted(been promoted 4 times since being here), dont listen to the negative reviews about salaries it is very easy to overachieve your targets and make more money then OTE says.

    Cons

    sometimes a little more freedom in TSD would be helpful!

    Softchoice2019-07-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty Good Company, Management is All Over the Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work, life balance. Lots of fun social activities, being taken out by vendors, etc.

    Cons

    Not a lot of trust between management and employees. I was working from home, stepped away from my computer for 5 minutes and my boss called me and asked where I was and what I was doing. Created a very stressful work environment.

    Softchoice2019-07-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, iffy environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs, people, location, culture, volunteer days

    Cons

    mixed messaging, compensation never clear

    Softchoice2019-07-17
Found 584 reviews