Shutterfly Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shutterfly Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Shutterfly CEO Ryan OHara
Ryan OHara
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is a definite plus along with work flexibility(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, competitive pay and good benefits(in 31 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company going through too many transitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Web Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and everyone works hard. Laid back.

    Cons

    There's so much turnover. Always checking my inbox for a goodbye email, or a restructuring one. The whole company went from public to private, so there's no real clue as to where the company is going. The CEO position changed 4 times just in the last 4 years. Also, when hired, it seemed like there would be opportunities to transition from one team to another, but that wasn't true.

    Shutterfly2020-01-08
  2. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, SEO in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people culture. Not toxic or political. Fast paced Adapt to change faster

    Cons

    Too many changes in management/leadership Shifting goalpost for 2 years due to the change in leadership

    Shutterfly2019-12-17
  3. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Director 

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture of transparency

    Cons

    Lots of leadership changes of late

    Shutterfly2019-12-18
  4. "SBS - Will be threatened to mess with your H1B Visa if you don't take the pay cuts and demotion to a junior level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good Team Good benefits with stock options - may not be the case going forward medical plans were very good till 2019. premiums have more than doubled for 2020

    Cons

    Fulltime and contract positions are opened up impulsively in large numbers. Interview process is a big mess with literally whole technology team interviewing the candidate. there are no fixed guidelines for the interview process. Even after interviewers select a candidate, " I think this candidate is not the right fit" kinda statements come up, just because someone with power doesn't think so. for example, while recruiting for a php developer position, after the team has selected a candidate the one with veto power made a statement like "I think he is wild and looks like a fresh out of college candidate (his resume says he had 5 years of experience), it would be very tough to manage him (because he had a curly long hair and he was answering in a relaxed way). The decision was just based on what the one with veto power thinks - Purely judgmental. I think, that was disrespecting the interviewers and the candidate. Two leads were asked to step down as "Senior Engineers" taking a pay cut, the very next day after they were promoted following a 9 month evaluation in "Shutterfly's Leadership Evaluation" Program. This program was conducted by HR as SBS leadership's Initiative. people were threatened saying "H1B and Green card processing will be messed up if you don't accept the pay cut and step down from your role to a junior level". I see this as harassment. The same thing happened with a newly joined employee who was recruited 3 months ago. Currently, there are two more engineers who joined in the last 2 months with whom someone high above is not happy about. hope their careers are not messed with. There is harassment, dis-respectful behavior towards employees, abuse of power (with Bossy attitude) and threatening mode is used to get things done. resignations from last 2 months will complement this review. STAY AWAY FROM SBS IF YOU DON'T WANT TO MESS UP WITH YOUR CAREER. "SBS" IS A SINKING SHIP AND HAS ALSO BEEN PUT ON FIRE BY SOMEONE WITH POWER.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2019-12-23
  5. "Lies, Deception, and Broken Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Shakopee, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Pop Bathroom sinks are used to wash feet, disgusting. Complain and you get put on a list of people who do not have compassion for others religious beliefs. How about making everyone follow the rules, Shutts?

    Cons

    Unannounced Layoffs Poor Pay Weak Management Two faced Management team Do you really like working with Temps who cannot understand the English language?

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2019-12-20
  6. "Shutterflys shakopee location is the worst shutterfly location on all levels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator Level II in Shakopee, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO, Vacation, Heated building (kind of), big parking lot, looks nice on the outside.

    Cons

    Unprofessional HR, small raises, mandatory OT, favoritism, rampant unprofessional staffing.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2019-12-10
  7. "Great people, great culture, good work, avg pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analytics Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People - Culture - Work - Opportunity to explore different streams of work

    Cons

    - Compensation - Upper management planning

    Shutterfly2019-10-30
  8. "My shutterfly review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about customer, and customers are friendly mainly elderly clients

    Cons

    You have have patience a lot the customer are elderly,and hard of hearing might have a hard time using the website. As customer service rep your job is to be very attentive to the customer

    Shutterfly2019-10-29
  9. "Best job I could ask for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    my manager is a delight, and my two team mates are the nicest people, I get to work from home whenever, the benefits are wonderful

    Cons

    None to speak of. I've been here for two months.

    Shutterfly2019-10-28
  10. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation is 3 weeks for production employees. Salary employees have discretionary time off which is basically uncapped depending on your supervisor.

    Cons

    As a production employee you will need that vacation time to make up for low hours during off season. Middle managers are lacking and goals are sometimes unachievable. No real opportunity for advancement. Very click. If you're in the club you can go places. If you're not be prepared to stay in the same position until you move on to another company.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2019-11-08
Found 522 reviews