Shutterfly Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shutterfly Reviews

Updated 8 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Shutterfly CEO Ryan OHara
Ryan OHara
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "good culture, but no investment in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * positive culture, shared accountability and little finger pointing * collaborative atmosphere * desire to make data informed decision making * software engg teams seem to be making some progress from legacy stack

    Cons

    * no investments, only cutbacks in tech * budget reductions and bonus cuts * increased expectations of product/service performance but no funding * flat to declining growth in the business * stock price has been hammered despite Lifetouch acquisition * jobs moving offshore

    Shutterfly2019-01-17
  2. "One of the best companies I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun creative environment, good benefits, good potential, quarterly bonus, free photo books.

    Cons

    nothing I can think of

    Shutterfly2018-12-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "When are Lifetouch’s employees going to see improvement?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with kids. Different environments regularly. Work independently.

    Cons

    LOW Pay! Most jobs seasonal and part time. No employee appreciation. Can’t make a living here, supplemental income at best. Early mornings. No guaranteed hours or set schedules. Pretty thankless job.

    Advice to Management

    I was really excited when Shutterfly acquired Lifetouch. I really thought internal processes and equipment would be upgraded and improved, I thought the bottom-of-the-barrel pay would improve, I really hoped the seasonal and part-time approach to valuable employees would improve. When will Lifetouch territories get the resources they need to improve the situation for employees? Are we going see an improvement or... should we just expect the same slide downhill?

    Show More
    Shutterfly2018-12-28
  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, competitive pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Hard to move upward after a certain level. Lots of long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Better internal growth plans for employees. Hire more from within.

    Shutterfly2018-12-14
  5. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly

    Pros

    Awesome work environment! Great staff.

    Cons

    No cons at this place

    Shutterfly2018-11-21
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Manager Team Leader in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly for more than a year

    Pros

    Management stinks they fear staff who know more than they do

    Cons

    Treat experienced people like crap. Managers sabotage work and examples of alleged poor work mysteriously disappeared. Don't work here if you're over 45 rampant age discrimination no chance for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing your middle managers to discriminate against your older employees. You lose a lot of good staff because those managers fear that advancing those employees with extended knowledge puts their jobs in jeopardy.

    Shutterfly2018-12-12
  7. "Great place to work long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, retention rate, coworkers are like family

    Cons

    Seasonal workers may not get hired full time

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting your employees first and they will take care of your business

    Shutterfly2018-11-06
  8. "Shutterfly Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule during non-peak season. Great people.

    Cons

    Very busy schedule during peak season(s).

    Shutterfly2018-11-03
  9. "Great place to work for as a stepping stone to do greater things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and great people.

    Cons

    Lack of growth for internal employees.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in internal employees and promote from with in.

    Shutterfly2018-11-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best job I have had but they could improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits if your a Shutterfly employee not Adecco. Generous free product promotions plus free shipping. Free drinks (water, soda, tea, coffee). Vending machines. Lots of fun events if your in customer service. Very rare fun events if your in production. Occasionally food or treats are offered (of course nothing is gluten free, vegetarian or health sensitive though). Mostly good co workers if your in... customer service but not as much if your in production.

    Show More

    Cons

    No room for advancement. They say you can advance but it’s extremely hard and it’s basically more about who you know instead of how good of a worker you are. Plus you have to be there for most of your life time before you can advance to a position you want. I was there 2 years as a temp employee until I finally got upgraded to permanent with benefits. Others have been there more than 3 years with no advancement to... being a permanent employee. And we all do the same work it’s just based on who knows you and cares enough to try and get you promoted. And if your trying to upgrade to a different type of job you have to be a managers favorite before they will accept an application for consideration. They also lie a lot by saying they will promote you then it never happens and sometimes they fire you instead of keeping you in the same position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps stop playing favorites and look at a persons actions and commitment to work when considering promotions.

    Shutterfly2018-11-01
Found 516 reviews