Roku Reviews

Updated May 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 436 of over 476 reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Roku Founder and CEO Anthony Wood
Anthony Wood
322 Ratings
Pros
  • "Roku is an incredible company with great people(in 87 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance, great culture and supportive management(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I felt like everybody at Roku was extremely competent which I never found in other workplaces(in 58 reviews)

  • "Benefits are lacking, no 401k match(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Growing company

      May 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - No micro-management - All support to be on-boarding fast - Free snacks and lunch - Very friendly and easy to work team

      Cons

      - No cons at this stage.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Loving it Still

      May 8, 2022 - Data Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - No micromanagement - Good visibility and flexibility (project and time management) - Good work-life balance - Comps are competitive - Got some good people to collab with - Learnt about more shows

      Cons

      - Perks meh - Documentations meh - Career development & promotion unclear

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Promising

      May 8, 2022 -  in Cambridge, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with.

      Cons

      Multiple Time zones to cover for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Roku is a great place to work

      May 3, 2022 - Senior Program Manager in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people at Roku are great! Skilled at what they do, very nice people and helpful. Common values with an emphasis on teamwork. - Roku likes to hire senior people which makes for a culture where a lot get's done efficiently w/a lean staff - Exec. Leadership is solid w/good communication - Still fairly light in process so it's easy to get things done - Get to use a bunch of cool Roku products - Still a 'scrappy' environment which makes it fun and interesting

      Cons

      - Not a con, but at Roku you are accountable for your work. No hiding. No blaming or politics else you don't work at Roku anymore.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      One of the best companies I ever worked at

      May 2, 2022 - Director of Product Management in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been working for 20+ years and I can honestly say that Roku is one of the best companies I ever worked at. There is an opportunity to make an impact at every level and your contributions are valued. The culture supports and values a collaborative environment without the toxicity of politics yet expects accountability from everyone. I love working with my team and peers, and appreciate the transparency and communications from senior leadership.

      Cons

      I can't think of any major drawbacks. Since we are growing rapidly, there are the usual pains associated with the growth phase but that's also an opportunity for smart, driven individuals to step up and make a difference.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      May 14, 2022 - QA Engineer in Los Gatos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are nice and obviously industry leaders at what they do. Working at a company that was skyrocketing in brand recognition at the time was really cool too

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Roku is 20 years old.. Why does it still feel like, it's just starting to figure itself out?

      May 9, 2022 - Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Snacks.. in the office. Great People ... Limited Autonomy in certain fields.

      Cons

      1st on the list is easy... Lack of Diversity.. The "Internal Joke" at Roku was that it stood for "Old White Man" in Japanese The company had such potential in 2019.. Unfortunately going from a 900 person headcount to a 4k headcount, during the pandemic, stressed many of the employees to near breaking point. Another issue, some of the senior level Directors and Managers have less Enterprise level skillsets, than the new hires they bring abroad .... Many "Old Timers" (4+ years) are leaving.. Including an SVP who many people thought would be the next CEO and would bring Roku into the future. The mass departures of the "Old Guard" should tell you how Roku will fare in the moving forward.. TLDR: Google and Amazon are going to ultimately bury Roku bit by bit.. leaving the stakeholders and employees holding worthless stock.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Passive Aggressive Manager who needs submissives

      May 9, 2022 - Sr. QA Automation Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay A visionary CEO Amazing Products Smart and Talented People

      Cons

      My manager is exhibiting passive aggression towards me since I am trying to work from Home about twice a week. The company has recently announced a preferred Hybrid Model of working 'In Office' for 3 days and optionally remote on Mondays & Fridays. My manager persuaded other team members to come in everyday as he prefers working that way. As I have mentioned my personal need to work remotely for about twice a week, he is passively aggressive on me. He only hires people of Indian origin in the team so he can have control over them. he constantly talks about why he hires Indian people. He picks on me for pretty much everything and does not let me talk. If I am in listening mode, he brands me silent and if I talk more he snubs me as less detailed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Scrappy Fun

      Apr 18, 2022 - Marketing in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Responsibility right of the bat for those earlier on in their career

      Cons

      Lack of clear cut instructions and resources

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast paced but exciting!

      May 2, 2022 - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      co-workers exciting never been done before ad solutions

      Cons

      not great benefits no 401K

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 436 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Roku Reviews FAQs

    Roku has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 476 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Roku to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Roku employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Roku. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

    85% of Roku employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Roku 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Roku Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Roku? Share Your Experiences

    Roku logo
    or