Planet Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Planet CEO Patrick Waldron
Patrick Waldron
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Galway
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a global company, there are opportunity's to work with people across many different regions, as well as the opportunity to travel depending on your role. Management are very supportive - Opportunity to grow and get involved in projects outside of your role if you are interested and willing. Good sports and social club - Daily fruit, monthly lunches, team activities and charity events Possibility to get exposure to all parts of the business

    Cons

    Communication across functions could be improved

    Planet2020-05-11

    Planet Response

    May 15, 2020Head of Talent Management

    Thank you for your review and it is good to see how you have embraced the opportunity to work with our diverse and global workforce. We are trying to improve the cross functional communications all the time but I will take note of your point. The great thing about Planet is that the leadership teams are always open to feedback and looking of ways we can improve upon.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Neutral experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People who work there are great, good location, perks of working remotely/travel depending on job title

    Cons

    Had no induction with HR at the beginning, depend immensely on individuals, no clear structure at times, most systems held together with glue and plaster, no proper reviews with employees, terrible recruitment at times, left head scratching at some management decisions

    Continue reading
    Planet2020-03-08

    Planet Response

    May 15, 2020Head of Talent Management

    I am sorry to read that you feel you did not get a good induction. We are working on this and have recently designed a new induction programme that we have started to roll out across the group. Please do not hesitate to reach out to local HR in Galway or indeed a member of the central HR team if you would like to have an open conversation about your experience. We would be happy to consider any suggestions you have as we value all our colleagues that make up the Planet family.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Dishonest management - Politics based company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you tried suicide but didn't succeed.

    Cons

    1) Joined the team in Galway leaving my home country in 2016. Team manager told me that all developers in the team were based in Galway. It was FALSE. Half of the team was working remotely from home all around europe. 2) I got a 1 year contract with the promise of a permanent contract as soon as somebody was leaving team. It was FALSE. 3 testers and 2 developers left the team and I never got a permanent contract. After other 2 developers left I became the owner of the application, even because remaining developers had connections in the company, didn't want to work and were literally destroying the application when doing bugfixing. Despite of this, rather than getting permanent, I got 1 year contract, then 1 year renewal, then 6 months renewal, then 6 months renewal, then 6 months renewal, then 3 months renewal. So I left. 3) Teams/countries are in competition against each other rathen than working togheter and a unique business strategy. 4) All of these is because this is a politics based company. 5) STAY AWAY FROM POS TEAM!

    Planet2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior management are really good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dangan
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1.Senior/top management people are really good and down to earth personality 2.Many pipelines 3.Very good growth over organisation 4.Top management are very supportive and accepts any advise irrespective of position 5.Work life balance 6.Monthly food, fruits and good HR management.

    Cons

    1.Middle management/Line managers are lack in people experience, harrasive, discriminative,biased,not treating people well which lacks in good company culture 2.Middle management is political ,biased over single nationality, changing the process to survive themselves. 3.Few resources in technical but more in management that makes lot of wrong commitment from middle management, lot talks rather delivery and play games using resources to stop good implementations to reach over senior management 4.No PMP certified managers are available

    Continue reading
    Planet2019-09-03
  5. "Very badly managed department"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Planet full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with in general were lovely and very good workers, just not recognised by management

    Cons

    Need major overhaul on the management side of things

    Continue reading
    Planet2019-08-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Disaster"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet full-time

    Pros

    Not much... at a push you could say the location of the Galway City Office is convenient

    Cons

    Title says it all.. no organisation or structure in this company at all!

    Planet2019-07-11
  7. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Planet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    Used old technologies. No plans to upgrade

    Planet2019-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "OK company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, friendly environment, central location, flexible working, ability to remotely work

    Cons

    Stressful, heavy workload, parking can be an issue, management can be poor, lacking leadership

    Continue reading
    Planet2018-05-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet full-time

    Pros

    Nice clean office environment to work in.

    Cons

    Management will throw you under the bus for their screw ups.

    Continue reading
    Planet2018-05-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Developer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work with to satisfy your passion or new ideas and good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Middle management is bit political by restricting developer innovative ideas to reach over the top management.

    Planet2017-09-24
Found 46 reviews