PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

PetSmart Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
283 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 401 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 242 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Seasonal Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, gradually increased responsibility, decent training, varied work tasks

    Cons

    Pay not great, hours can vary quite a bit

    PetSmart2019-12-11
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, friendly learning environment

    Cons

    Hard to get good hours

    Advice to Management

    Don’t discriminate against pregnant women.

    PetSmart2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (32)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22
  4. "Bather"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Bather in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good training Available to be promoted

    Cons

    Salary cuts Short hours Parking Management

    PetSmart2019-12-03
  5. "Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Cashier 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, very friendly coworkers who are always willing to help you. Plus you get to be around animals all day! Training was very thorough on the computer and with hands-on training. Overall a very great place to work :)

    Cons

    Since I am in college I only wanted to work a minimum of 20 hours per week but they keep putting me down for 25+ per week.

    PetSmart2019-12-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Corporate Merchandise Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Bring your dog to work everyday! competitive salary

    Cons

    In general, retail is dying.

    PetSmart2019-11-26
  7. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at PetSmart

    Pros

    This company has amazing benefits and a ton of different little perks as well! Plus you get paid to play with animals... kinda. so it’s fun.

    Cons

    I mean, it’s retail. That’s should say it all.

    PetSmart2019-11-27
  8. "It’s dog grooming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist 

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interact with animals Decent pay Can use skill set for volunteer work at animal shelters

    Cons

    Schedule revolves around managers favorites Forced to take more dogs than you can manage Customers are bitter

    Advice to Management

    None

    PetSmart2019-12-10
  9. "You need to LOVE dogs and cats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Petsmart PetsHotel Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with really great pets

    Cons

    Working with really bad pets

    PetSmart2019-12-11
  10. "Animal care (lack of)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to take the responsibility of caring for the animals

    Cons

    No one else cared. Animals are inventory items

    Advice to Management

    Have more adoptions and care about death counts

    PetSmart2019-12-10
Found 4573 reviews