McAfee Software Development Engineer In Test Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Software Development Engineer In Test

McAfee Software Development Engineer In Test Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
McAfee CEO Christopher Young (no image)
Christopher Young
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company with great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Test Engineer in Cross Mahon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for less than a year

    Pros

    The office layout is flat and you can approach anyone with any questions or concerns. You choose your hours. There were times where I would come in early or late and as long as I do my hours, there's no problem which is fantastic when you're sitting in traffic and not worrying about being late. Also free cakes on a Friday were amazing!

    Cons

    Large company so it can be easy to get lost in the crowd. Coincidentally, the amount of work they had me do could have been more. Some days I felt like I wasn't needed.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your interns with more.

    McAfee2019-07-29
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you want work life balance ,McAfee is best choice for u.

    Cons

    I don't think of any cons

    McAfee2018-05-13
  3. "Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance with good work if you insist on it. Keep yourself highlighted and you go places

    Cons

    Office politics and Firing twice a year

    McAfee2018-04-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to find employment opportunity now that McAfee is stabilizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer In Test in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work and there is much opportunity during this stabilization phase. It was previously under the umbrella of Intel Security but has now, once again, become McAfee.

    Cons

    Too many inexperienced managers at different levels during this stabilization phase. It has been difficult to see bad decision making during this stabilization process which has put unnecessary burdens on many people causing burn out.

    McAfee2018-01-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Room for growth and development was very low. I felt stagnant after a couple of years with no end in sight."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer In Test in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McAfee for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and benefits were top notch. I felt like I was making a difference in the world about the bad guys.

    Cons

    Good raises and internal promotions were very rare. Old technology was used and processes constantly changed. Innovation rarely existed. The product was poorly architected in the beginning which made new features and automation costly.

    McAfee2017-07-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Place for working as an contract employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer In Test II in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McAfee

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Chances to learn

    Cons

    Bad management (especially for contract employees)

    Advice to Management

    One should understand that even the contractual employees are human beings and they give almost same deliverable as a permanent one. then why treating @contract employees as just use-and-throw-pen

    McAfee2017-04-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "SDET"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer In Test in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee

    Pros

    Great people. Great place to work. Nice technologies in security domain. Nice colleagues and smart. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing. Sometimes you get bored working in same technologies but have option to switch teams internally.

    Advice to Management

    Look at companies like Google. Allow employees 20% time to work on projects they are interested in. That might be helpful for innovation for a tech companies like us

    McAfee2017-02-28
  8. "SDET @ McAfee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice to work with NO Pressure Better Learning opportunities

    Cons

    Food Caterer not good.. Have to go outside of EGL for food

    McAfee2017-02-07
  9. "Good Company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Package Better work-life balance Good place for settling in a company.

    Cons

    Getting good work is purely on luck

    Advice to Management

    Should listen to employees concerns and act timely on that

    McAfee2016-12-04
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Development Engineer In Test in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McAfee

    Pros

    Flexible culture. Great people. Allow to pursue open ended problems.

    Cons

    Not any. Apart from food.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing more of the same

    McAfee2016-10-20
Found 14 reviews