Jacobs Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Jacobs Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Jacobs Chair and CEO Steven Demetriou
Steven Demetriou
672 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "CQV Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CQV Engineer in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to get work between short contracts

    Cons

    Have to travel a lot

    Advice to Management

    Take the advice and care of your assets

    Jacobs2019-12-12
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Payment high to be engineer

    Cons

    Salary good for the city

    Jacobs2019-08-12
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Team work, entry level positions

    Cons

    Due to contractual projects, hours can be long.

    Jacobs2019-07-24
  4. "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    global opportunities, possible to transfer from one industry to another, big highlight on positive mental health and how to help yourself and others, interesting projects.

    Cons

    long hours, no training of graduates, no benefits, no medical insurance, 20 days of holidays which is below Irish average.

    Jacobs2019-01-15
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Good management and good people work there

    Cons

    Noting. I enjoy working there

    Jacobs2018-12-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Disgraceful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co Dublin in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience and interesting range of projects to work on

    Cons

    Very poor management at various levels and public belittling. Many respectful managers have either left or had their positions taken from them in the past year. Some bullying by senior staff completely ignored by managers and HR. Graduate programme absolutely disgraceful, merely an excuse for free labour and brainwashing. Poor salarys and no potential to progress. Extremely negative environment. Forced to use lunch breaks for meetings and training sessions. Far too many graduates and continuous stress applied to graduates with unrealistic expectations. Very high staff turn over and my water/environmental department was a terrible place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the graduate programme, more incentives for employees and provide sufficient training for staff

    Jacobs2018-12-06
  7. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A very professionally run organisation.

    Cons

    Very large organisation can be a disadvantage

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible

    Jacobs2018-10-17
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs

    Pros

    Best project to work on.

    Cons

    Work load and work life balance. Be ready to be burnt out

    Advice to Management

    Work on being more firm on unrealistic time frames

    Jacobs2018-10-30
  9. "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs

    Pros

    Overall good exposure to new projects and people

    Cons

    Limited exposure to senior management.

    Jacobs2017-08-16
  10. "Civil Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexi time, option of half day Fridays, good opportunity for progression, good opportunity for international assignments, good management structure

    Cons

    Salary only ok with cost of living in Dublin, location of office, parking poor during periods of peak projects, no health insurance , 20days holidays but option to buy more (up to 5days)

    Advice to Management

    Introduce leadership training to mid-level management.

    Jacobs2017-05-13
Found 2812 reviews