Intercom Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 of over 213 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Intercom CEO Karen Peacock
Karen Peacock
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Intercom has an excellent culture with strong values we live by(in 42 reviews)

  • "As a result, there are a lot of great people working here(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Intercom is great at underpaying overqualified workers(in 16 reviews)

  • "Growing pains you see in a usual startup(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 15, 2022 - Sales Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you feel heard, and that you can make a difference lots of leadership opportunities even if not managerial

      Cons

      fewer luxury perks when compared to big corporates

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it! I’m so glad you feel heard here, and that you see where and how your work has impact, which are two of the most important things for me to make sure we’re keeping focused on as we grow. And speaking of growth, we’re always looking for feedback on how we can improve our employee experience in terms of the support we offer to our people and their families. If there’s something specific you have in mind, please, reach out to me or any member of our People Team about it. Thanks, David

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You won’t be bored!

      Jul 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love working here. Lots of opportunity

      Cons

      Getting big, slowing down. Not a startup anymore.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thanks so much for your feedback. I can definitely assure you that we’re committed to staying entrepreneurial and moving quickly. Our speed, agility and scrappiness have brought us to where we have grown over the past 11 years, and we believe that startup ethos that is focused on shipping and shipping to learn as we stay focused on our customers’ success is part of what makes Intercom special. If and as you see areas where we can better honor that commitment, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly - I’d be grateful for the opportunity to help continue to be part of the solution! Thanks, David Chief People Officer

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I’ve ever worked

      Jun 2, 2022 - Senior Group Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic people and culture. It really is one of the best product companies out there.

      Cons

      Decision making can be hard to navigate at times with some orgs being top down and others consensus driven. However, this has been true nearly everywhere I’ve worked.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Wow - thanks for that input and that headline - it’s an honor for us to read that! I agree with you that our people and our culture make for the ingredients of a world-class company that is able to do amazing things for our people and our customers. Thanks also for the feedback on decision-making; it’s an area we’re focused on as we scale as we ensure that we stay lean and clear in how we set our vision and guide the organization through this stage of our journey and in those to come. Thanks, David Chief People Officer

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture and great people!

      May 31, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company with clear values and principles, with strong collaboration across all teams and an amazing culture.

      Cons

      Nothing to mention at this stage

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thank you - great to hear that you’re enjoying yourself. Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Development

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Embracing hybrid work in the right way

      May 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no shortage of companies trying to crack the hybrid work conundrum, and it's safe to say no company has all the answers. But Intercom is approaching this in a refreshingly humble and honest way – while we have a recommended number of days in the office every week, we're being treated like adults, and the opportunity to work together in the office is being framed as a desirable perk rather than an obligation. The result is that people are flocking back to the office, out of choice rather than coercion. It's been amazing to see that the strong interpersonal culture has withstood two years of WFH, and how so many new colleagues are revelling in being able to work together in person.

      Cons

      Certain orgs have a lot of new employees and leadership and are in the process of reinventing themselves. Inevitably, these growth spurts can be a bit a bit bumpy, but the Intercom fundamentals are still sound.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      We really appreciate you taking the time to write this, thank you. As you said, it's been amazing to see not only the strength of our culture and our personal relationships holding up through a couple of years of remote work, but also how much fun it's been being back in the offices together. Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Development

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      May 20, 2022 - Marketing Executive in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, hybrid model, bonuses, growth

      Cons

      I did not have any downsides working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thank you for writing this for us, we’re so happy that you’re enjoying yourself. Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Development

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and grow

      May 20, 2022 - Marketing in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people are #1 at Intercom - there's no hierarchy, everyone just working hard doing their thing - They are really trying hard to make the hybrid work life work and are doing a great job at it! - There's lots of focus on you and how you like your role and what you'd like to try

      Cons

      - Not necessarily a con, but it's a fast-paced environment that might not suit everyone but if you like that kind of environment - it's the right place for you!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thank you for this - we love that you’re loving it here! Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Development

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work and grow

      Apr 10, 2022 - Product Education Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture, compensation and just an all round great place to work

      Cons

      Scaling pretty hard right now. Lots of new hires in leadership roles causing some headaches for established teams as they try to do everything in new ways

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience working here - we really appreciate it. We know that scaling is a challenge and we’re working hard to make sure it’s as smooth a process as possible. I’m here if you have any specific thoughts or feedback that you want to share. Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Management

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company

      Apr 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company that truly cares about the success of their people Great company culture

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts. We’re proud of our culture, and we’re glad you’re enjoying your time at Intercom - here’s to many more happy years.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Startup culture in a global company (Impact!!)

      Mar 28, 2022 - Technical Recruiter in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Impact: Work on product defining projects from day 1. Huge scope for impact and growth, as the company scales. Comp : Solid overall compensation package with solid salary, Health/Dental, Unlimited PTO (Really!), Bonus, Pension, Free meals and snacks and more. Team: Just a great group of people, who are all genuine and awesome at what they do. Everyone I work with, I'd be happy to grab a beer with after work. Ambition: Intercom is growing a lot. I've never been part of a company with such a positive and ambitious feel. Remote work: Very flexible on remote working both now and plans are to continue with the flexibility post covid.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Intercom Response

      We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us this - thank you! Liz Sweet, Senior Director, Talent Management

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 205 Reviews

    Intercom Reviews FAQs

    Intercom has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 213 reviews left anonymously by employees. 86% of employees would recommend working at Intercom to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Intercom employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Intercom. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

    86% of Intercom employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Intercom 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Intercom to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management.

    Popular Careers with Intercom Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Intercom? Share Your Experiences

    Intercom logo
    or