IMDb Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
IMDb Founder & CEO Col Needham
Col Needham
13 Ratings
  1. "Lack of bold vision, A lot of legacy systems, Middle management prefers to follow current"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to Amazon resources, practices, training's. Good life / work balance. Good communication from top management to lower levels.

    Cons

    1. Promotion is a big pain. Your performance or impact mostly isn't playing role. Managers, that are changing every 10 month, need to find time to support you, prepare documents. That results in "design with promotion in mind", overstating problem/solutions, etc. Because as part of small team you may not have exposure to projects at target level 2. Low engagement, initiative inside tech teams and across management. It's preferred to follow existent process, then challenge/improve it. (last one actually could be punished :( ) 3. No Innovation or hard problems to solve from tech side. Mostly small improvements that follows bigger teams practices 4. No growing, majority of ideas/project are pushed aside as luck of resources.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2020-03-26
  2. "You are at the mercy of the CEO"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb

    Pros

    Amazon benefits and stock options.

    Cons

    Founder treats it as his hobby, not a business.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2020-03-08
  3. "It’s really Amazon"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMDb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a huge website in size and traffic, so there are opportunities in the scale

    Cons

    so much promise trapped in a 1990’s page layout unable to break free due to low-level dependences they’re terrified to touch and Col’s intransigence to change The designers think they’re great but would be hamburger if they worked on sites that didn’t have a data monopoly and required a real competitive interface

    Continue reading
    IMDb2019-11-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, challenging role, lots of opportunity to learn and tap into Amazon’s resources

    Cons

    Can (unsurprisingly) be quite US-centric

    IMDb2019-02-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Middle Management Issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMDb full-time

    Pros

    Cool Company, CEO is generous, brilliant, and passionate about movies and the site he founded.

    Cons

    Middle management, from the Senior Managers to the COO, are a mixed bag with some tough nuts. They value performance, which is fair, but they treat people like dirt, which is never okay.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2018-03-14
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A great place for solving interesting problems at Amazon scale...but for movies!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You'll work alongside some of the best talent in engineering, product, and operations. - It's a great learning culture; most folks are happy to teach you something new. - You'll create, support and improve features used and loved by millions of customers -- including celebrities and movie industry pros. - You'll get to leverage cool Amazon tech and occasionally collaborate with other Amazon teams like Prime Video, Amazon Studios and others. - Dogs.

    Cons

    - We run at breakneck speed; fully-fledged design and tech specs are a luxury. Ownership means being ready to ask questions and fill the gaps. - Product and prioritization changes can come fast; you have to roll with it (or speak up).

    IMDb2018-01-16
  7. "Working at IMDb"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is one of the best companies to work at specially if you have a passion for movies/TV shows (and who doesn't). You get all the benefits of working with a small company (Movies + Dinners with the CEO kind of things). Yet you get all the stability, perks, benefits of a large organization since it all is a part of Amazon. You get double the proud feeling - you get to tell people that are at at Amazon as well as IMDb. Everyone at the company knows what they are doing and this is some of the best engineers and managers I have had the pleasure of working with. The sense of ownership and customer centric development is something I haven't experienced before.

    Cons

    I haven't really felt there are any Cons so far.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2017-10-26
  8. "Smart people, great culture, empowering work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - committed leadership - smart, passionate employees - the right culture has been cultivated by leadership - if you'd like to go over and beyond, people are willing to support that - decent work/life balance - adopting the best of Amazon while retaining the fun, start-up culture

    Cons

    - IMDb is one of the oldest web properties with some really passionate users. Any changes or updates made to the product always upsets a small set of passionate users which is difficult! - there is pressure from Amazon to deliver short-term results which can hurt customer experience.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2017-10-17
  9. "Smart team, terrific culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IMDb wants its products and employees to succeed. The business has ambitious plans and is focused on hiring the right talent to execute the roadmap. Seasoned leadership. Lots of teamwork. Most people genuinely like each other.

    Cons

    There are limited career growth opportunities, but employees can transfer into other areas of Amazon.

    IMDb2017-10-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Strong feeling of ownership and great life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The main reason I have worked here now for so many years is the sense of autonomy, influence, and feeling of ownership over the product. I work directly with project managers and designers to collaborate on solutions rather than being handed specifications to implement blindly. Reading and replying to customer feedback keeps me connected to ways of improving the product and coming up with tasks myself to fix problems. It's a lot like working at a startup in that I have a wide scope of responsibilities and influence, while still being in the safety of an Amazon subsidiary company. IMDb also has its own culture that is separate from the parent company in a good way. I'm rarely required to work nights or weekends, though I sometimes do just because I'm really excited about something I'm working on. Unlike many parts of Amazon, we have an operations team that handles the first line of on-call. We usually only get paged when it's not something that the operation team can mitigate quickly.

    Cons

    While we have a lot of cool ideas for new features, it can be frustrating to see them get deprioritized and forgotten about. The work we end up doing tends to focus on direct ways to get short term gains rather than investing in the product to grow our user base over time. Often, we can only get things done if we don't need to ask for help from other teams. Being one of the first internet companies, we have also had a lot of technical debt that has prevented us from accomplishing bold new ideas. We're very close to eliminating the biggest piece of that debt and I'm hopeful that things will begin to change. Previously I've felt that upper management has tended to attract some people who wanted to use IMDb as a stepping stone to bigger and better things elsewhere. Though, in the past one or two years this has changed. I'm now impressed with our current leadership and tentatively hopeful at the direction of the company. You probably won't get to work on a really cool secret project like you might find at Amazon. Most work here is routine and incremental. Only people who are excited about the company and successful in finding ways to get things done tend to enjoy working here.

    Continue reading
    IMDb2017-09-20
Found 16 reviews
</>Embed