IMDb Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

IMDb Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IMDb CEO Col Needham
Col Needham
12 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, challenging role, lots of opportunity to learn and tap into Amazon’s resources

    Cons

    Can (unsurprisingly) be quite US-centric

    IMDb2019-02-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Middle Management Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMDb full-time

    Pros

    Cool Company, CEO is generous, brilliant, and passionate about movies and the site he founded.

    Cons

    Middle management, from the Senior Managers to the COO, are a mixed bag with some tough nuts. They value performance, which is fair, but they treat people like dirt, which is never okay.

    Advice to Management

    CEO has his heart in the right place. He plays good cop while his COO and some managers are the bad cops. The people who suffer are the foot soldiers. But foot soldiers are not voiceless. Treat them like sentient beings.

    IMDb2018-03-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A great place for solving interesting problems at Amazon scale...but for movies!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You'll work alongside some of the best talent in engineering, product, and operations. - It's a great learning culture; most folks are happy to teach you something new. - You'll create, support and improve features used and loved by millions of customers -- including celebrities and movie industry pros. - You'll get to leverage cool Amazon tech and occasionally collaborate with other Amazon teams like Prime... Video, Amazon Studios and others. - Dogs.

    Show More

    Cons

    - We run at breakneck speed; fully-fledged design and tech specs are a luxury. Ownership means being ready to ask questions and fill the gaps. - Product and prioritization changes can come fast; you have to roll with it (or speak up).

    IMDb2018-01-16
  4. "Working at IMDb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is one of the best companies to work at specially if you have a passion for movies/TV shows (and who doesn't). You get all the benefits of working with a small company (Movies + Dinners with the CEO kind of things). Yet you get all the stability, perks, benefits of a large organization since it all is a part of Amazon. You get double the proud feeling - you get to tell people that are at at Amazon as well... as IMDb. Everyone at the company knows what they are doing and this is some of the best engineers and managers I have had the pleasure of working with. The sense of ownership and customer centric development is something I haven't experienced before.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't really felt there are any Cons so far.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing and I am sure IMDb will continue being loved all across the globe. It will be great to expand IMDb to video gaming world too :)

    IMDb2017-10-26
  5. "Smart people, great culture, empowering work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - committed leadership - smart, passionate employees - the right culture has been cultivated by leadership - if you'd like to go over and beyond, people are willing to support that - decent work/life balance - adopting the best of Amazon while retaining the fun, start-up culture

    Cons

    - IMDb is one of the oldest web properties with some really passionate users. Any changes or updates made to the product always upsets a small set of passionate users which is difficult! - there is pressure from Amazon to deliver short-term results which can hurt customer experience.

    Advice to Management

    For decades, IMDb has focused on providing what the users wanted. Sure, this may have led to technical debt and features which a very small customer base use. At the same time, scaling through advertising is tricky business and should not come at the cost of CX on any platform - it will lead to short-term gains but definitely not good for business long-term.

    IMDb2017-10-17
  6. "Smart team, terrific culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IMDb wants its products and employees to succeed. The business has ambitious plans and is focused on hiring the right talent to execute the roadmap. Seasoned leadership. Lots of teamwork. Most people genuinely like each other.

    Cons

    There are limited career growth opportunities, but employees can transfer into other areas of Amazon.

    IMDb2017-10-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Strong feeling of ownership and great life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The main reason I have worked here now for so many years is the sense of autonomy, influence, and feeling of ownership over the product. I work directly with project managers and designers to collaborate on solutions rather than being handed specifications to implement blindly. Reading and replying to customer feedback keeps me connected to ways of improving the product and coming up with tasks myself to fix... problems. It's a lot like working at a startup in that I have a wide scope of responsibilities and influence, while still being in the safety of an Amazon subsidiary company. IMDb also has its own culture that is separate from the parent company in a good way. I'm rarely required to work nights or weekends, though I sometimes do just because I'm really excited about something I'm working on. Unlike many parts of Amazon, we have an operations team that handles the first line of on-call. We usually only get paged when it's not something that the operation team can mitigate quickly.

    Show More

    Cons

    While we have a lot of cool ideas for new features, it can be frustrating to see them get deprioritized and forgotten about. The work we end up doing tends to focus on direct ways to get short term gains rather than investing in the product to grow our user base over time. Often, we can only get things done if we don't need to ask for help from other teams. Being one of the first internet companies, we have also... had a lot of technical debt that has prevented us from accomplishing bold new ideas. We're very close to eliminating the biggest piece of that debt and I'm hopeful that things will begin to change. Previously I've felt that upper management has tended to attract some people who wanted to use IMDb as a stepping stone to bigger and better things elsewhere. Though, in the past one or two years this has changed. I'm now impressed with our current leadership and tentatively hopeful at the direction of the company. You probably won't get to work on a really cool secret project like you might find at Amazon. Most work here is routine and incremental. Only people who are excited about the company and successful in finding ways to get things done tend to enjoy working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on our end users in addition to our advertisers. Invest in bold new features that will attract new user and keep existing users coming back.

    IMDb2017-09-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great tech company for movie & TV lovers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    About me: I've worked full-time at IMDb for four years. I'm in the company's Los Angeles-area office. While you don't *have to* love movies and TV to work here, it helps. Who works here? The kinds of people who sit through the credits of a movie, who binge-watch STRANGER THINGS, and who care about the box office gross of WONDER WOMAN. Our CEO likes to say that there's no such thing as a bad movie -- only a... movie that's not right for you. Meaning, we embrace the fat head and the long tail of movies and TV and love that people love what they love (SHARKNADO fan? IMDb loves you. Christopher Nolan snob? IMDb loves you. Honest Trailers fan? IMDb loves you.) The business of our site and app goes beyond the "Db", so there's a lot of diversity in the work. But the core of our company is that "Db", and much of our resources and attention are to that. Amazon acquired IMDb in 1998. We are a full-stack company and act fairly independently but we collaborate and take guidance from our parent owner. This is mostly an advantage but can be a constraint as well. The biggest advantage is that we're "Amazonian": Leadership Principles, Working Backwards, Customer Obsession, long-term vs. short-term, mechanisms vs. good intentions. If those buzzwords don't mean anything to you, look 'em up on Amazon or google them. These are the best parts of Amazon and they infuse IMDb. I think it's always easier to work for something that you believe in and/or love. If you love movies and TV and the people who create movies and TV -- and the people who love movies and TV! -- then as tech companies go, IMDb is a great place to work. If you believe in the "Amazonian" way of operating a business, then IMDb is a great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    I said that being owned by Amazon has its advantages, but it also has its disadvantages. One of the main ones is that decisions can't always be made independently. Occasionally we are pulled or pushed in a questionable direction because of our corporate parent. The other big negative is that we have a lot of legacy code. This is being refactored (on a massive, years-long scale) but it means that resources are... expended on fixing the past vs. resources being devoted to building the future. Most very old and very large Internet companies face this challenge but that doesn't make it any less painful. I think for our software engineers, it's actually demoralizing (fixing vs. building).

    Show More
    IMDb2017-09-20
  9. "Great environment - fun product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IMDb provides a fun and empowering environment with an opportunity to share new ideas with managers who are listening and are always open to new suggestions. Flexible schedule Opportunity to attend some cool entertainment events Great CEO

    Cons

    At times communication about changes and/or new processes can be slow

    IMDb2017-09-21
  10. "Great culture & part of Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMDb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great people; every is talented, helpful, yet modest * Excellent managers - my managers listen to my needs & help me grow in the company while presenting me with fresh opportunities * You get the best of Amazon - even though IMDb is a subsidiary we use the same tech as other Amazon teams & have access to the same tools/training * Team culture - we work well together, have weekly happy hour and occasional... movie/dinner nights * Work life balance - work from home days, flexibility of hours * Customer focused * Fun CEO

    Show More

    Cons

    * Some legacy systems, though those are being actively migrated * The work on some teams/projects tend to be more frontend heavy * No free snacks...

    Advice to Management

    Maintain focus on engineering, continue looking for ways to innovate

    IMDb2017-09-20
Found 14 reviews
</>Embed