General Mills Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

General Mills Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
245 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in our digital age(in 97 reviews)

  • "Decision making tension between region & local markets hasn't been fully resolved yet(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Good training at the start

    Cons

    No room to advance within the company

    General Mills2019-03-07
  2. "Position forManager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work & healthy environment

    Cons

    Too much manual work & stone age approach of working

    General Mills2019-12-10
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Carson, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Benefits and pay is outstanding

    Cons

    Worklife balances isn't great swing schuedule sucks

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-12-09
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Company offers generous benefits. My manager really cares about their team and wants us to feel appreciated and successful.

    Cons

    Corporate culture - they call it "Minnesota nice" but it sure doesn't feel that way sometimes.

    General Mills2019-12-06
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best work culture a d people

    Cons

    Less use of skills

    General Mills2019-12-04
  6. "Benefits are great. Work/life balance is manageable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workforce Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Work/life balance is manageable. Opportunities for growth and scalability in COEs.

    Cons

    Slow at making decisions. Too processed-oriented that impedes growth and taking action.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-11-27
  7. "Good Company in US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture if working with the corporate headquarters

    Cons

    Very difficult to move internally, politics beats experience

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-12-06
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture, strong brands and heritage. Good work-life balance. Average/competitive pay for this segment.

    Cons

    Slow decision speed, slow to react to/predict market changes. Limited roles for development in Canadian office due to size of team.

    General Mills2019-11-20
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good work life balance. opportunity to learn new Technologies.

    Cons

    growth is very very slow.

    General Mills2019-11-14
  10. "The company is really good with lots of flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibile working hours and good facilities

    Cons

    The upper management does not judge you by the quality of the work you done but more by how you appease people

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-11-13
Found 2144 reviews