CarTrawler Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

CarTrawler Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
CarTrawler CEO Cormac Barry
Cormac Barry
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work needs to be done and it is fast paced but the balance of hard work and social interaction makes this much easier(in 22 reviews)

  • "There's a great social scene with very active sports and social(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management who like patting themselves on the back but are not interested in what you do or feel(in 7 reviews)

  • "This is also a part of their planned move to Asia whereas the Philippines can use this tool to communicate in all languages(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "A fast growing, diverse company with great core values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Supply Manager (Mobility) in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Started in CarTrawler in 2014 in the Sales and Retention team, the company grew so much since then! What I am really grateful for is the career and growth opportunities that the company offered over the last 5+ years. The athmoshpere is young and diverse with people from all over the world which for me is a major plus. In terms of benefit the company offers a subisidised canteen, a health insurance and a pension plan, they also support and encourage further studies by financing college or training courses. The company oftnen organise social events, bootcamps, jiujitsu, family and friends events. I will certainly take with me good memories and new skills throughout my career.

    Cons

    Not really any cons to be honest, CarTrawler has been an amazing employer for me personally. Continue to invest in the growth of the company as well as the organizations that we serve and you will continue to see success.

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-09-18
  2. "Unmotivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CarTrawler full-time

    Pros

    nice to offer a small bonus when the company didn't meet targets.....

    Cons

    ....but no bonus for the first 3 months of being employed. I worked hard from the day I joined - really disappointed that my manager doesn't think the same way

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (3)

    "The best decision I ever made was to move to CarTrawler!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarTrawler full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My interview process was just amazing! Everyone was just so friendly and nice right from the beginning all the way to the end of the process. My recruiter was amazing! He kept me so well informed and I had the best candidate experience - this helped form my decision that I wanted to work in a place with people like this. I am learning so much in my current role and gaining invaluable experience and I am so happy I made the move to CarTrawler. Everyone is so very helpful here and friendly. Definitely the best place I have worked to date!

    Cons

    I do't have any. I have had a very positive experience.

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-09-30
  4. "Team manager - Cartrawler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people. Good career progression opportunities Fast moving ever changing environment

    Cons

    Lack of structure as senior management level which was emphasized as the company grew

    CarTrawler2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dundrum, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None really....some social nights are ok, but since the new CEO came in events became less and less to non existant.

    Cons

    Location! in the middle of nowhere, and even though the company has lots of space in the car park you can never get one. Management - During the reorg there was ALOT of new managers. Most of them have no clue on how to speak to people or engage in a professional manner. People Team - (HR) numerous complaints to them in regards to how people were conducting themselves in the office went on deaf ears. No sympathy, no emotion. The live up to their previous slogan in reverse...we are robots not people!

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Distopian Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - atmosphere on the floor is very relaxed and casual. - there are some parties during the summer, - sometimes the manager does not bother himself with micromanaging.

    Cons

    1. Where do I begin. Let's start from the beginning; the interview process was conducted rather unprofessional, like interviewing for a coalmine worker (e.g. can you hold a spade, if you do then you can work in this company). 2. Furthermore, they ambush you with compulsory examination after two weeks and if you fail they sack you without a word (a very inconvenient situation, especially if a person comes oversees to work for this company). 3. After a 4-week crash course, they are sent to the "front" or as they say in CT the "floor". There, from the very beginning a young, naive and inexperienced person can crash and burn quite quickly. It is hell on earth for the meek and feeble. 4. The leadership or as you should say the "stiffs" are the biggest disappointment of the company. There is a saying amongst the more learnéd leaders: "Leadership is about vision and responsibility, not power."In CT's case this philosophy is not applicable at all; from my experience, at CT there is only one vision (reduce cost and make more money), little responsibility and it's all about power over others. E.g. the CEO of the company rather sends posts of his dog peeing in the woods than inspire his "troops" by taking charge and ownership. Furthermore, local managers can barely speak English (especially the Spaniards) and everything is dictated by office (read: regional, e.g. Romance bosses prefer the Italian/Spanish coworkers etc.) politics. 5. The longtime strategic goal of the company is to move the company to the Philippines and employ local low-wage workers to do the work. There are two problems with this plan: firstly, they do not have any German and French speakers living in the Philippines and secondly, the customers do not like to talk to people who can barely speak English and (imagine this) talk to the Philippines making a complaint about a car rental in Germany or Scotland. 6. The company has extrem difficulties of acquiring agents with certain language skills (German and French). This coincides with the overall shortage on the Irish job market. As CT can not compete with the top dogs in Dublin, they are using Google Translate for chats and are intentionally directing customers to use this tool. This is also a part of their planned move to Asia whereas the Philippines can use this tool to communicate in all languages. But Google Translate is a joke comparing to a truly trained agent. 7. Furthermore, there is a lot of micromanagement in place which means great pressure for the employees, Naturally, the agent at the desk is to be blamed for everything- it is the normal order of things to blame others for their mistakes. This argument also alludes to the leadership malfeasance at CT; managers are not responsible for their actions! Therefore, such companies burn through people as fast as they can replace them. CT is one of the biggest "burners" in Dublin. 8. There are also no possibilities for advancement. Some departments are so depleted that they can not allow their personell to apply for other positions inside the company. Also, there is no commission for the sales' department, yet a salesman or a saleswoman must achieve certain goals. (naturally the employ complete novices with no experience whatsoever as the top talent leaves immediately). 8. Lastly, something of personal nature: I was extremely bothered by the attire of some people; in Dublin, there is an unique trend over-using self tanners and one of the bosses (sales dept) was indulging herself extravagantly, so much so that she looked an orange or like Donald Trump coming from a steroid-infused tanning spell. I found that very unprofessional, yet the management allowed it due to political correctness (which was plentiful to go around).

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Operations Rep in the CCE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a kind of gallows humour among CCE staff who know their day is gonna revolve around taking complaints, being shouted out down the phone and then receiving platitudes from Management who themselves know the companies tricky policies are clearly unfair on the customer but don't do anything about it.

    Cons

    - When I started with CarTrawler over a year ago, the glass door rating was much higher so all these recent negative reviews are a testament to the re-organisation that has taken place and the new Management that came in and changed the structure without really knowing what they were doing. - I left at the same time as many others and it's weird working in an environment of constant turnover, it felt like every day another person was announcing their departure. The feeling I got as well was that Management wasn't too concerned about the turnover and the long-term plan seems to be to move the call centre to the Philippines - staff there were already doing 24 hours coverage so having agents in Dublin may become obsolete in the near future. - In terms of day to day, what others here have said is correct: your day is controlled by a system call Genesys where you have to be on 'Ready' at the allotted times or someone comes down to your desk. Miss a call? Someone comes down to your desk. It is surreal and slightly Orwellian. The calls themselves are 90% complaints from people who think they are renting a car at a great price but in the end a lot get scammed by the local office who either refuse the rental if they don't have a credit card, add insurance the customer never asked for or keep the deposit (normally over 1000 EUR). At this point, a game of ping pong develops between CarTrawler and the rental agency where one blames the other and refuses to take responsibility and this goes back and forth with the customer in the middle until the customer eventually gives up and accepts that they have lost.

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-09-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Robot work in the CCE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit & cereal. Excellent coffee I learned how good my 2nd language skills are after 2 months because you had to think very fast on your feet. Unfortunately that only lasted a certain amount of time. After a number of months you got bored and my language skills went to pieces as I became less and less interested in the job.

    Cons

    Salary - very poor in relation to other companies No bonus if you work in car sales or insurance. No matter how much you sell you are not going to get more money. However if you don't "sell" enough you will be told about it. Micro-management. If you love having Big Brother watching your productivity, watching if you come in on time and also watching the clock all the time then the CCE is for you Don't believe what the recruitment consultant says at the beginning or during the interview to make it feel better. This is call-centre work and there is no variety. They will do their very best to put a good spin on it to get you in. It increases their bonus and languages like German or French are needed! If you have a certain language ie German, French then forget about advancement. You are stuck doing the robot's job. I had a manager who had no people skills who tried his very best to intimidate me. It failed as I gave as good as I got. It led to myself and others leaving. This is typical for management at the CCE. The last good people's manager left last week A terrible atmosphere on the floor - like in a graveyard. People hardly speak to eachother and even though we had 2 languages in the same team, we were never introduced to eachother or get to talk Management who if they felt I did did something wrong would go to my manager directly and not to myself. It felt like I was in school again as a naughty pupil You are just an number. Nobody cares what you do. I spent a whole afternoon preparing for a interview. Nobody asked me what I was doing. Senior management who like patting themselves on the back but are not interested in what you do or feel. The CEO sends weekly emails about what his family is up to - who cares? You feel like a 2nd class citizen in CarTrawler. All the other departments are so much better paid. They go in groups to the canteen to have lunch. CCE employees have a half hour so have to rush to get something to eat.

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-08-27
  9. "account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CarTrawler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diversity enviroment where you can work with people from different countries and cultures Very organized sports and social group

    Cons

    Not very clear career path for their employees and unfair promotion progromme as it always go to people who manage the markets where the company is focused on

    Continue reading
    CarTrawler2019-07-09
  10. "Great working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarTrawler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Great culture

    Cons

    - Not enough learning opportunities to grow and learn new things

    CarTrawler2019-06-27
Found 172 reviews