Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Boots Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1983 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "At Boots UK you receive good pay;(in 216 reviews)

  • "Staff discount & growth opportunities(in 150 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Boots part-time

      Pros

      Friendly staff and management also

      Cons

      Hours can be long if nothing to do

      Boots2019-07-11
    • "Worked weekends for 2 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Boots part-time

        Pros

        Money Time + half on Sundays Consistent hours

        Cons

        They’ll only give you two weeks off at once

        Boots2019-06-12
      • "Nightmare"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Limerick, Limerick
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        20% discount on anything boots owned. 12.5% on everything else.

        Cons

        Management is absolutely shocking. Have zero personal skills. Curse at you rather than talk to you.

        Advice to Management

        Get new management. Never worked in a place with such bad management and a big turn over of staff. Can't understand why people leave yet push them out if they dont like them enough regardless of actual work capability and ethic. Promised possibilities of moving up but very very slim chance of it actually happening

        Boots2019-07-07
      • "Customer assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good salary, good working conditions

        Cons

        Not good work-life balance if working fulll time

        Boots2019-05-24
      • "Boots employment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Boots part-time

        Pros

        In one of the stores I worked in the other staff were amazing.

        Cons

        In the other store I worked in the staff were terrible.

        Boots2019-05-22
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - good pay - good training - managers keep to their word - good benefits like pension and dental . - I think about 23 days holiday for 40hrs per week and option to take extra one week unpaid - larger stores are good about Christmas hours. Christmas staff must do Christmas Eve and Stephens day so other staff can have either day off

        Cons

        - often problems with roster in larger stores - sometimes lack of organization - impossible to get fired once permanent which unfortunately means reallybad staff members stay on even though they should have been fired

        Boots2019-05-11
      • "Customer Service Representative"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Galway
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Staff Discount Card and Friendly staff

        Cons

        10 hour contract often asked last minute to do many more hours

        Boots2019-05-13
      • "Pharmacist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Boots full-time

        Pros

        staff discounts available - not much

        Cons

        hours and flexibility for shorter notice days off

        Advice to Management

        pharmacist contracts

        Boots2019-04-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "All Hail the Cold, Corporate Overlords"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Healthcare Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The only consistent pro throughout my many years within the company is the people who worked alongside me. From team managers to pharmacists, my colleagues have been among the kindest and caring people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. The career opportunities are there for anyone willing to get their hands dirty.

        Cons

        There is a constant rally to impress the area managers, who in turn are looking to lick the boots of their seniors. Goals and agendas are pushed with such false enthusiasm because the only reward for doing so is reaped by a troop of clueless suits in Head Office. The pay is abysmal, especially for pharmacy staff. The hours are completely bonkers for new staff who only seemed to be offered flexi-contracts.

        Advice to Management

        Don't underestimate and/or undervalue your retail staff. They are your backbone.

        Boots2019-04-15
      • "Had a long lasting negative affect on me - worked in two different stores."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots part-time

        Pros

        The staff discount and the special discount at Christmas are good. Also, nice having an hour break then another 30 minute one depending on shift.

        Cons

        Would pit staff against each other. Would be pull aside if not making enough boots card sign ups (not part of job description). Made comments about my appearance. Would taken advantage of younger more naive staff members. An older staff member bullied a younger colleague of mine.Threw me on the pharmacy at the peak time in store with no pharmacy training what so ever. Given out if you have a number of voids. That was...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Take care off your staff, especially if you're going to do mental health day/weeks.

        Boots2019-05-06
      Found 1983 reviews