Boots Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Assistant Manager

Boots Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Boots CEO Sebastian James
Sebastian James
7 Ratings
  1. "Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money, People, Progression, Benefits, Management

    Cons

    Hours, Customers, Certain members in the company (older store colleagues)

    Advice to Management

    Review old staff who are stuck in their ways and un-adaptable to new younger members of management

    Boots2016-11-20

    Boots Response

    December 8, 2016Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  2. "Friendly Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Assistant Marketing Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots for less than a year

    Pros

    People are very caring. Good benefits especially Boots staff discount. Freebies on occasions

    Cons

    Location is far from city center

    Boots2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Boots ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    very good potential for progressing in company, good ethos in the company about caring.

    Cons

    hours are horrible, can be day shift one day and overnight the next pending role. Punished for company loyalty. Not expected to get breaks in management

    Boots2016-06-08

    Boots Response

    June 14, 2016Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  4. "Assistant Buyer at Boots review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buying Manager 

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance encouraged

    Cons

    Risk adverse business Mixed career opportunities Location

    Boots2019-09-20
  5. "Challenging but you develop lots of transferable skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Romford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reputable Company with fabulous products and clear procedures to follow in every eventuality. Tonnes of communication from HO, sometimes too much to be able to action, but you can never say you you're short of information or guidance. Every day is different and if you can truly embrace working with the public, it can be rewarding. Decent holiday and generous staff discount. Lots of training on stuff that helps you... develop transferable skills. When I left I had a fantastic Manager but I had some shockers over the years!

    Show More

    Cons

    Demanding. After 20 years I was totally burnt out. It's quite a lonely job at times because despite all the people, you can often end up playing piggy in the middle between senior management and the shop floor staff. The role demands a huge workload equivalent to Area Manager responsibilities in other retail organisations, but is not well rewarded. Some of the Beauty Consultants working on just one counter, earned... more than me despite the fact that I was managing half the store with annual takings of millions. The role totally consumed me, I was sad to leave all my team, and at the same time felt I was breaking free!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Balance the carrot and the stick. Ensure your store managers are being fair and respectful to their teams. Take time to find senior staff who are best for the job rather than handing out senior roles to whoever is willing to give it a go. In twenty years I had some terrible managers from downright lazy to utter bullies and finally, just when I left I worked with a manager who was probably the nicest, wisest and most... fair person I'd ever met, so try to get some consistency across those very influential roles. Reward your middle management (Assistant Managers) appropriately. In recent years there has been a massive drop in morale, think how you can improve that, it doesn't need to cost a lot.

    Show More
    Boots2019-08-29
  6. "Staff value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - staff is valued - hard work is recognised

    Cons

    - can be draining - expect too much

    Advice to Management

    keep a healthy balance.

    Boots2019-08-14
  7. "Retail really is what it is..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company discount card after a month of working

    Cons

    If you care about doing a good job you will be working 60h + a week because the workload is huge and the expectations get higher every year, you won't get overtime pay as its a salaried role and end up getting paid less than your colleagues as its hard to recruit new Assistant Managers so people from outside with no experience would get paid a lot more.

    Boots2019-07-17
  8. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good discount Good pay Good management

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Upper management not available when needed

    Boots2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A view from the support office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff discount Supports charities and the community

    Cons

    - Lack of promotion opportunities. - If your face fits your fine otherwise you may have a bumpy ride. - Lack of long term thinking from some senior management. - Doesn't treat employees as well as they used to. - Rarely pay market rate ( and loose experienced people because of this). - Senior Management reluctant to listen to feedback or warnings.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and value your employees your brand is worth a lot less without them.

    Boots2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Your face must fit, ever changing rotas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice mix of employees, a big store so no day is the same

    Cons

    Lots expected of you considering salary. Not once did I leave on time or actually get to take a full lunch break.

    Advice to Management

    Join the union

    Boots2019-05-17
Found 46 reviews