Booking.com Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Booking.com Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
198 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development - PS 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly culture, nice people to work with and fast-paced work environment

    Cons

    Not very good at attracting and retaining talent

    Booking.com2019-10-09
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    nice people to work with

    Cons

    benefits are lacking compared with other companies

    Booking.com2019-09-12
  3. "Learning & Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning & Development 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong cultural values Friendly people Large-scaled corporation

    Cons

    A bit slow at times Uses a lot of old technology and code e.g. Pearl Their perf. process is also very outdated - there is no such thing as peer reviews. Only manager to direct report and upward feedback

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-03-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Vulnerability Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    - Nice Office - Good HR

    Cons

    - Seems to be a lot of problems with management - Some odd personalities about - Think they are better than they are. A long way from being one of the big tech companies.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-03-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    Free Snacks, parties, opportunities to try different working areas, Booking Annual Meeting in Amsterdam, free access to multiple online and presential courses

    Cons

    People management is too generic, no opportunities for promotions, really hard to receive a raise, Unstable environment (they can say you're doing amazing and get you fired next day)

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2017-08-26
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Don't work here if you value quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Backend Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Booking.com is very diverse. I loved working with people from dozens of nationalities. - The on-site lunches were nice, but the food got monotonous after a few months. - If you're looking for a European visa, you might consider working at Booking.com, until you find a better job.

    Cons

    - Individualism is discouraged, despite lipservice to the contrary - Quality is a four-letter word - Nobody is permitted to take real ownership--everything you create is considered "public property", and may be disrespected or discarded accordingly - The company is making too much money for its own good. It therefore has no requirement to make good hiring decisions (focuses on numbers of employees rather than quality of employees), vetting ideas, etc. - I markedly and severely became a worse programmer after a year at Booking.com.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2016-11-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management Plenty of ongoing training Autonomous role from an early stage Top business model and customer friendly service User friendly online platform coworkers and management always available and open to talking

    Cons

    Not many really, small bit more time could be spent on training the fundamentals of CRM usage and general management expectations and objectives

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2016-11-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Booking.yeah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I think what I prefer in Booking.com is the multicultural atmosphere! People are humble, positive and open-minded. + There are great opportunities worldwide!

    Cons

    The average salary is quite low compared to the average salary (same area same market) and unfortunately there only few benefits / compensations (again compared to other companies, same size same area).

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2015-08-17
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    You work hard and get rewarded for it.

    Cons

    It’s a great company to work for

    Booking.com2020-04-04
  10. "Awesome place to work and best OTA company so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Team Lead Operations in Jakarta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In an environment that is growing so rapidly, there is a lot of room for individual personal growth. It offers opportunities for growth and projects, had the opportunity to be involved with one of the projects and see the impact of investing in individuals’ development career.

    Cons

    I would say Booking is by far the best employer I have ever worked for.

    Booking.com2020-04-03
Found 2595 reviews