AppFolio Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

AppFolio Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 355 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
AppFolio CEO Jason Randall
Jason Randall
150 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons outside of the expected stresses of a Customer Success position(in 24 reviews)

  • "It is expensive to live in Santa Barbara(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strong company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Exciting, meaningful and impactful work *Fast-paced and highly collaborative environment *Great office locations *Strong leadership *Lots of communication and transparency

    Cons

    No major cons at the moment outside of the fact that we're outgrowing our current space, which is actively being worked on.

    AppFolio2019-08-20
  2. "It’s good for a temporary position until you find something better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Representative in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Co-workers, casual atmosphere, basic snacks

    Cons

    Rare growth opportunities, extremely low pay rate for the daily high volume of escalated calls, Metrics focused

    Advice to Management

    AppFolio contact center has gotten worse and worse. This department has no future opportunities for growth and if so, it is highly competitive and will most likely go to a more senior employee who suffered longer through minimum wage(lower than what they pay at Whole Foods) doing a high volume stressful job, which consists of majorly escalation calls. They also expect you to stay within metrics not considering the mental...

    Show More
    AppFolio2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, but be warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Website Production Specialist in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING people, brilliant company values, encouraging environment; always has the long term business goal in mind. Great benefits, incredible work/life balance. Management cares about the well being of the employees.

    Cons

    Growing so fast it's hard for existing employees to grow with the company. I'm being asked to do much more than my job description in an effort to receive recognition, but am not being compensated outside of a "you're hard work is not going unnoticed" compliment.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management is so well intentioned, but as you are growing, please try to communicate better and more often. It's easy to see all of the big growth as a revenue grab more than a benefit for your customers.

    AppFolio2019-08-04
  4. "I feel lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best people work here, the events are super fun, work life balance is very balanced. Rewarding work, amazing mentorship

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    AppFolio2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lies Lies Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Workspace is neat and modern

    Cons

    Compensation, hours, managers are cliquey

    Advice to Management

    Only as strong as your least successful employee

    AppFolio2019-08-01
  6. "Amazing workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great company, great job. The teams are super tight-nit, everyone is friendly, helpful & super smart. Company is growing a lot, so, many opportunities for improvement and advancement. Great leadership, that really cares about the success of the employees. All in all, a place that I enjoy staying till 7PM on a Friday.

    Cons

    Santa Barbara is kinda expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the company culture! All the hard work has definitely paid off.

    AppFolio2019-06-27

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    So glad to hear you feel we're investing in our culture - thank you for taking the time to write a review!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Employee and Consumer Conscious Company -- Great Gateway for Entry-level Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Center Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Appfolio is a fantastic company to gain experience for anyone new to the workforce or shifting careers. While I cannot speak to the office atmosphere or management for all office locations or departments, I have been continually impressed with the operation of the contact center. The management team cares not only for the profit and future of the company but for the employees as well and it shows. It is a call center...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the Legacy Shopping area is nice for taking lunchtime stroll, the traffic is fairly awful regardless of which direction you are coming or going and public transportation is a poor option. While there are bus stops only a few blocks away, the TRE/DART does not have any stations nearby. While there is plenty of promise for internal growth and the management team is eager to bring forward opportunities whenever...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep collaborating and supporting your employees. It is rare to feel like an important and useful part of the company as only an entry-level employee.

    AppFolio2019-07-02

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a representative for our Maintenance Contact Center service - glad to hear you felt cared for as an employee.

  8. "Fun and agile work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time

    Pros

    -leadership truly invests in employee growth -open communication is practiced -awesome company culture

    Cons

    Growing so quickly (pro) it can be challenging to find a conference room.

    AppFolio2019-06-19

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Love to hear that you feel that we're investing in employee growth - in a fast growth company a great team makes all the difference.

  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time

    Pros

    great exec leadership, new opps

    Cons

    nothing really to say here

    AppFolio2019-06-13

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Appfolio has great people, culture, and opportunity for career growth.

    Cons

    Salaries are slightly below average for the market, but the benefits and the people make up for it.

    AppFolio2019-06-05

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Great people and culture are so important to us - thank you for appreciating it too!

Found 355 reviews