Amazing.com Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amazing.com Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Amazing.com CEO Matt Clark & Jason Katzenback (no image)
Matt Clark & Jason Katzenback
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are allowed to work from home each Friday unless we have a previously scheduled meeting(in 6 reviews)

  • "It's easy to want to be part of a company that truly is passionate about helping others improve and change their lives(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The owner let go everyone so coldly, without even as much as personal call or personal email(in 4 reviews)

  • "There is no direction of the company(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Remote & enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked from home (in Ireland) which I loved. I had a good relationship with my colleagues in Texas and never felt alone. The work was varied which kept it interesting. We also got to attend live events abroad which was fun.

    Cons

    There were communication issues but this improved over time.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2019-03-12
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Useless CEO, Useless Company , Constant Negative Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly cannot think of one

    Cons

    The CEO has no idea what he is doing. There is no direction of the company. There is no direction of product. Employees are given an ultimatum "Create a product that makes us money or we are closing down". Two founders have no idea how to run a company with people in it . They went from 60 people in one day to 25. People were let go over email. They ensure that they are listening and acting accordingly to people concerns, which is absolute BS. Even if you are hired as a specialist in your area do not worry, you will be told that you are wrong since the two founders know everything from product management, through marketing to software development. People are "promoted" to position they should never be. Company structure changes every few weeks (This depends on what is hottest new company structure). Constant promises of bonuses, raises etc never actually happened.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2017-11-01

    Amazing.com Response

    May 26, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback in this review. Our goal has been and still is to create a great, fulfilling place to work and grow for every person that joins our team. I apologize that we did not live up to this with you. We promoted people to positions they didn’t have experience in. I have made many bad decisions myself that affected the entire company. Back in early 2016, we did have to do the horrible act of letting go of a significant part of our team (though not as many as your numbers indicate). Before then, we rapidly grew from 8 people to 60+ people in about 12 months. It’s been a crazy, bumpy, and, at times, chaotic, ride. And we’ve learned a lot. We are better now than we’ve ever been. We are more structured with employee compensation. We have a very clear strategic plan shared with the entire company so everyone knows what we’re doing and how they fit into the overall goals. We practice open book management and transparently share our financial performance with the company so everyone can make great decisions and contribute to the company’s success. We are also also positively impacting tens of thousands of lives across the world with our products. If you’d like to see that impact, feel free to check out our YouTube channel or Facebook page to see the many raw, unrehearsed interviews we’ve done with our customers. I apologize we did not live up to our standards for creating a fulfilling place to work for you while you were with us. You deserve better. Thank you for your feedback. I wish you the best in your current and future career :) Matt Clark, Executive Chairman, Former CEO, & Co-founder

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Constantly changing, and not in a good way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can work from home- flexible with vacation Mostly autonomous

    Cons

    There is no direction in this company, each week there is a new project or promotion - there is no such thing as following through. If the project doesn't show revenue instantly it's scrapped before it's even given a chance. The two co-founders don't value professionalism. They are pretty clueless about running this scale of business. In the past year the company has gone from 65+ to less than 25. Two major layoffs in less than a year. Very bad management and dismal communication - company structure is constantly changing meaning no one knows what they should be doing, which means a lot of key parts are falling through the cracks. Our customer service used to be great, but understaffing and poorly planned marketing means that most customers are waiting 2-3 days for a response. There is no testing done on any of our products and people are in professional positions without any skills or qualifications. I'm for up-skilling, but only when there is someone in the company to learn from.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2017-07-15

    Amazing.com Response

    August 24, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. I apologize we did not serve you well enough as a member of our team. We work hard to build a one of the very best places to work, and we failed with you. I take full responsibility for our previous chaotic nature and lack of structured planning. We grew quickly from about 10 team members to 60+ in about 12 months. Neither me or the other co-founder had been in that position before. We did try to bring in a full, professional management team. But, for many reasons, that did not work out. Then, the other co-founder’s daughter was found to have terminal cancer and so he could no longer be involved in the company. I did the best I could, and made many mistakes and bad decisions. The decisions I made led us to having to make the horrible decision to let go of nearly half of our team. If I didn’t do that, we would not have survived as a company. We have only had one single layoff in our company’s six year history and that was in early 2016. I am not sure why you are saying we had two. Fortunately, today we are doing better than ever. As always, we are positively impacting thousands of lives around the world with our products (you can see many of them with raw, unrehearsed interviews on our YouTube channel and Facebook page). We have implemented structured strategic planning and open book management. Everyone in the company is involved and knows where we’re going and how we’re doing. We are transparent about company performance and trust our team members to make great decisions. Thank you for your feedback and I wish you the best in your career :) Matt Clark, Executive Chairman, Former CEO, & Co-founder

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Useless CEO and bunch of morans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Survivor of massive lay off last year.

    Cons

    CEO has no idea what he is doing. Firing the people who knows what they doing and then allow a few IT morans manipulate the entire company by implementing stupidest idea ever. This company is a total rip off by stealing instructors from Udemy and they have nothing original to offer. If you still believe you can make millions from selling on Amazon, you better wake up! I can't wait to leave this company before someone sues them.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2017-03-05

    Amazing.com Response

    March 8, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. I’m sorry we let you down and did not allow you to thrive and be happy in your role here with us. We deeply value positively impacting our employees and customers. We’ve made a lot of mistakes in the past and it sounds like we made some with you. We help thousands of people change their lives by the unique, and completely original, products we create. Saying we “have nothing original to offer” is not true and unfair. If you’d like to see the impact we’ve had, feel free to check out our YouTube channel or Facebook page. We continue to grow and learn. Today we’re a stronger and healthier company than ever before. We’re growing fast and have a great environment for our team. We seek feedback from them regularly because we are here to build one of the very best places to work. Thank you for your feedback :) Matt Clark, Executive Chairman, Former CEO, & Co-founder

    Continue reading
  5. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Good working environment.

    Cons

    No strategy or vision going forward.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2019-10-06
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Lost Owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Co-workers are great - Freedom to learn more - Downtown Austin location

    Cons

    - Owners are absent - Owners continue with bad habits that negatively impact the company - Owners are clueless to how their employees truly feel - Owners are inexperienced and refuse to learn and be better - Company has lost mostly all its great talent and leaders - A company that was once 80 strong now has about 18 of us left - Most employees are here just to collect a paycheck

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "No Complaints, Loving It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the office space, the pay.

    Cons

    See Title, I'm overall happy with everything .

    Amazing.com2018-06-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Loving it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, work from home Friday's, paid parking spot (which is a must when downtown), fully stocked kitchen, great co-workers, friendly environment, good location, beautiful office, fast-paced, pretty transparent business model, new benefits on the horizon. My favorite thing about working here was also the hardest thing to get used to because it is so unusual in a business environment, and that is the level of trust and respect the company offers me as a person and the fact that they actually treat me like an adult. I have a start time and an end time, but I don't have to mark every minute, as long as I'm getting my work done, and pulling my weight, if I need an extra hour to go run to a appointment, or I'm sick and shouldn't be at work, but not sick enough to take the day off, I can take those times and flex them around or work from home. It is amazing what it does to moral when you're treated with respect and trust! Granted there could be those that abuse that trust, but those people are dealt with individually and the entire office isn't punished for one person.

    Cons

    There aren't too many things I can think of but I'd say the only ones right now are that there is no 401(k) or matching, and that sometimes we don't have really clear direction but are sometimes pulled in several directions with mixed ideas of what exactly is the priority.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2018-05-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for me to grow, love the environment I work in, Love the people I work with.

    Cons

    More work reviews or look over accomplishments in the Company for compensation.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2018-05-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time

    Pros

    - Awesome office (bean bag chairs!) - Weekly grocery orders (healthy kitchen initiative) - Funny, awesome people to work with who feel like family - Super flexible schedule - Understanding managers who work with you - Interesting projects/product, have learned a lot of new skills - Work from home on Fridays - Nice work equipment (macbooks!) - Rooftop access and FREE DOWNTOWN PARKING! - Passionate CEOs who want to help people improve their lives Overall a really chill, flexible place to work with great people who make me enjoy coming to work every day. The people here are interested in constantly improving and it shows in what they do. They've recently implemented monthly and quarterly work lunches/events to bring everyone together during company time and I think that's just really awesome and shows they care about their people. My managers are incredibly understanding and work with me whenever anything arises (personally or professionally). It feels good to have good support here. So many people here are just a pleasure to get to know and work with. It's easy to want to be part of a company that truly is passionate about helping others improve and change their lives. It's inspiring.

    Cons

    As a start up, sometimes things can be chaotic and decisions made on the fly without the proper communication to help all departments get on the same page, but it is something that is being worked on and management is aware of. That being said, there is also something fun and exciting about making decisions on the fly as they are constantly testing out what works and what doesn't. That's what life is about and I'm happy to support innovative ideas and help just make them work. It inspires me to take action in my own life as I get to see how it's done here. Career opportunities are lacking, I'm not sure what my options are to grow/expand. I would like to do more for the company, but feel stuck in my current position.

    Continue reading
    Amazing.com2018-06-05
Found 41 reviews