Western Union Reviews

Updated 9 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Western Union President, CEO and Director Hikmet Ersek
Hikmet Ersek
618 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management has a disconnect with employees and their is a lot of politics with the organization due to which department work in Silos(in 36 reviews)

  • "Makes work life balance difficult at time(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Corporate Global experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit Senior in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multicultural environment at the Global level

    Cons

    I don’t want to answer this question

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    March 6, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    We're glad that you love our global and multi-cultural environment, and we thank you for 5+ years of service. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're glad to have you on our team!

  2. ".."

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work in many ways

    Cons

    Not enough to complain about

    Western Union Response

    January 16, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for your review!


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to start a career"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small company (in Ireland) with growth opportunities arising along the years. Had a great working experience in the last five years, I've been able to touch on different aspects of the business.

    Cons

    Sadly, the management is very political and generally not everything is done the way it should be, but the way it is convenient for the management. Voicing your opinion can lead to bullying. I don't feel like the employees are being valued and the company struggles with retaining talent. This is a risk for the company, as with long-serving employees the company is losing years of knowledge and expertise. Internal communication is not great either. Many decisions are made based on the unknown.

    Western Union Response

    March 30, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for your 3+ years at Western Union! We're glad to hear that you think we're a great place to start and build a career! We strive to create a work environment where employees develop skills and feel fulfilled with the work they do at the company. However, we're disappointed to hear about your experience with management. We understand that leadership has a critical impact on the organization, so we hold our leaders to the highest standards. As we continue to transform as an organization, we will be sharing your feedback with our leaders to impart effective and positive change. We also encourage you to answer our monthly WU Listens survey, and if there is anything else you would like to share with us confidentially, please feel free to reach out to us through careers@westernunion.com.

  4. "Good for starting positions as fin speckalist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, good team, free food

    Cons

    Wage is pretty low compared to other places

    Western Union Response

    November 12, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to see that overall you've had a positive experience while working at WU. We understand that compensation is a concern for you and we would invite you to discuss growth opportunities with your manager, leave feedback in our monthly WU Listens survey, or email us confidentially at careers@westernunion.com.

  5. Helpful (9)

    "WU = A company in turmoil"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good flexibility, benefits, and compensation.

    Cons

    Constant re-structures and most notably in 2019.. the current WU way project is causing a lot of speculation and anxiety amongst employees.. difficult to focus when roles, reporting lines and business are in a state of flux. Yes change is good and needed in WU but some announcements are questionable. Many tenured employees just want to leave but are holding out for severance. Feels like we are getting ‘lean’ for a takeover??!

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    September 17, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate your 10+ years of service to Western Union and we’re thrilled that you would recommend the company. However, we are disappointed to hear of your experience as it does not match our values. One of our top priorities is to provide a positive work environment for our employees especially during this transitional time. An environment where everyone has the they need to manage change, both personally and professionally. We are confident that this transformation is going to help drive us ahead in the market and that our employees will be set up for success with the skills and capabilities needed for the future. We welcome you to share additional feedback through our confidential email careers@westernunion.com, or use our WU Listens monthly survey to provide real-time improvement ideas.

  6. "Work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant work life balance and lovely environment to work for, people are friendly

    Cons

    Not much work progression and salary is below par

    Western Union Response

    August 17, 2019Company Representative

    We are happy to see that you have listed our work-life balance policy as a pro, but we are disappointed to hear about your experience with career growth opportunities. At WU, we strive to nurture a culture in which all employees receive the utmost support and guidance from their managers so that they are able to grow within their roles. As a current employee, if there is any additional information you would like to share confidentially, please feel free to reach out to careers@westernunion.com.

  7. "WU"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Milltown, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible times, friendly staff, pension plan

    Cons

    Low salaries than market, all the managers are not qualified

    Western Union Response

    November 8, 2018Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing about your experience as an accountant with WU. We're glad that you appreciated our company culture and benefits, including the pension plan. We understand the impact that management has throughout our organization, and we strive to provide them with what they need to lead their teams.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union

    Pros

    Loads to mention but top 5 are Flexibility, fair Managers, generous benefits package, development opps globally, plenty of opps to showcase skills/experience

    Cons

    US co so long hours and travel often required. Office is quiet and hard to socialise with other employees.. office location has bad public transport links

  9. "excellent opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Network Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee concerns and ambitions are listened to and management will endeavor to accommodate.

    Cons

    Global company, teams disjointed.

  10. "It is what you make it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union

    Pros

    Opportunities for career progression if you put yourself forward

    Cons

    Salary and benefits are not competitive

Found 1152 reviews