Western Union Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Western Union Manager Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Western Union President, CEO and Director Hikmet Ersek
Hikmet Ersek
87 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union

    Pros

    Loads to mention but top 5 are Flexibility, fair Managers, generous benefits package, development opps globally, plenty of opps to showcase skills/experience

    Cons

    US co so long hours and travel often required. Office is quiet and hard to socialise with other employees.. office location has bad public transport links

    Western Union2017-02-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Accounting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Great people Great work life balance decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Snr Mgt (VP & above) are too aloof and protect their own patches - absolutely no sense of teamwork or collaboration No vision or direction of where the company is going or wants to be Colleagues globally living in fear of redundancy and losing their position to Lithuania Although decent pay is significantly below market levels Silo driven organisation No chance of career progression unless you are in Lithuania or indeed Costa Rica

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sack all the insiders who are there on a gravy train and in it for themselves. Appoint a CEO who will actually change things - set the tone at top start providing opportunities for individuals to progress in the company upwards I would recommend WU to a friend but would come complete with a caveat that to be prepared to be pigeon holed. Some people like that but other don't.

    Western Union2015-04-15
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Project Manager in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every org has its pros and cons. Thus, it depends on you what are you exactly looking for. For me, I received what I wanted / deserve. So far, the time and efforts I spent here are / were fruitful. I've learnt so many things e.g. Technology, Architectural stuff, Managerial, Domain etc. I less bother about salary b'coz my perception is diff in that regards however so far it looks competitive. I've heard folks complaining about so many things but again it depends on you how you deal with it :). There was a crunch time when i joined this org, however situation has been improved a lot since then. I would recommend you guys that get your expectations right at the time of / before an interview. That way it will be easy for you to decide whether to join this org or not. I am totally satisfied so far. Regarding policies - Those are all good and employee favored policies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not as such. As I said be patient and things will improve.

    Advice to Management

    Rewards to the best performing managers ;)

    Western Union2019-12-30
  4. "Positive and Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union for more than a year

    Pros

    Based in Denver! I respect my manager a great deal and feel very fortunate to be on a great team. She is qualified, smart and has strong integrity.

    Cons

    Culture varies greatly by departments/boss.

    Advice to Management

    Adhere to core values and assess the character of your team and managers. Self-promotion is rampant; while many of the folks in the trenches are the true leaders who have are the "missing middle" when it comes to promotions and pay grade increases.

    Western Union2019-12-30
  5. "Area Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Account Manager in New York, NY
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work from home that’s about it

    Cons

    Do not care about sales team

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the smoke and mirrors when it comes to the compensation plan. Attorneys have been contacted and there are many things that fall under Unethical business practices. Clean up this mess last year you robbed us and now this year you are trying to do the same. We are watching and are not dumb.

    Western Union2020-01-25
  6. "Global and cross functional environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, perks and benefits

    Cons

    Very low options for professional advancement, multiple reorganization changes that holds and delay plans and quotas attainments, poor leadership, too much concentration in digital channels as the bulk of the business

    Western Union2019-12-31
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CRM Manager 

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Nothing since 2016. Change all management

    Cons

    All everything is going down poor product

    Western Union2020-01-21
  8. "Lost company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company scattered across the world you will meet different cultures

    Cons

    Hikmet, the CEO, never cared about digital transformation until it was too late. Instead of stepping down and leaving younger people with digital perspective he is attempting cheap tricks to patch his error. Technology is very old and was never updated. He decided to outsource eveything some years back and the outcome was spaghetti code all over the place. Very monolithical systems and outdated stack. It's a shame. Only people having a blast are C-levels and VPs with some Senior Manager that can still travel on the few dimes this company has.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, they are lost while hikmet is in charge.

    Western Union2020-01-16
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Miami, FL

    I worked at Western Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    getting to meet new people

    Cons

    low pay, poor management of employee and supervisor

    Advice to Management

    make sure everyone knows how important the are to thee company

    Western Union2019-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of paid time off.

    Cons

    Management isn’t the best and things take forever to get done.

    Western Union2019-12-17
Found 136 reviews