Web Summit Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Web Summit Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Web Summit CEO Paddy Cosgrave
Paddy Cosgrave
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Although I enjoyed my time in that company I really missed all that Web Summit had to offer(in 7 reviews)

  • "Benefits were pretty cool (Gym membership, health insurance, etc(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Mundane work and the office is a shed(in 7 reviews)

  • "a lot is expected of you, and long hours/working outside of 9-5 can become norm(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time

    Pros

    amazing colleagues, exciting projects. huge potential for growth and promotion within company. criticism is listened to.

    Cons

    a lot is expected of you, and long hours/working outside of 9-5 can become norm

    Web Summit2019-10-12
  2. "French Partnership Manager (exhibitor team) for 18 month"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Web Summit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great workmates many become your friends. Some Manager are very inspiring you can learn a lot from them(Speaker Director, Customer Success Manager, Exhibitor Manager) Gender equality well respected probably the only tech company in Dublin with a majority of female manager. Be part of the best tech event in the world help you to grow as a professional and it is a massive advantage on your resume. Not much... pressure/micro management compare to other sales team in the Dublin tech industry (no cold call culture ) Start up atmosphere. You get to work with other team often. Travel to event. The Garden is great. Staff parties are unreal. The office Tramway house is uncommon type of occ The Ceo Paddy is great,i personally never had any issue with him 5aside on Wednesday ::Italian hands::

    Show More

    Cons

    Commission structure could be much better. Not easy to build your pipeline during your 1st year. Processes and strategy change regularly i guess its part of the Start up atmosphere. Target in the Sales team aren't really realistic according to me. Some people do get let go without notice and it could ruin your mood if you are close to them. Career progression can be difficult but i guess it is the same... everywhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My Overall experience was great, well done for the hiring culture as we all get on easily. I also do understand some of the bad reviews so 1 advice maybe listening more to the employees.

    Web Summit2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good career progression. If you are willing to put in the work then you are rewarded. The work is always interesting and challenging Very friendly co-workers Travel

    Cons

    Longer working hours the closer you get to an event.

    Web Summit2019-07-23
  4. "Unlike most other businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time

    Pros

    Huge range of experiences from App development to TV style production, connecting the best startups and scaleups in the world to interacting with world famous speakers, tech entrepreneurs and celebrities.

    Cons

    Won't suit you if you don't like constructive ambiguity and extremely fast face

    Web Summit2019-07-23
  5. "Why I rejoined Web Summit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time

    Pros

    I worked for many years at Web Summit when I decided to leave and work for another tech company. Although I enjoyed my time in that company I really missed all that Web Summit had to offer. Web Summit has given me so many amazing career opportunities and helped my career massively to date. The team are incredible and you get to work with talented and interesting people from around the world. If you are passionate... and driven then Web Summit is a great place to work and grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I began my career in Web Summit, like many growing companies things were not easy and people worked hard to grow it to where it is today. However, I cannot highlight how much has changed since then and am happy to see it grow from strength to strength.

    Web Summit2019-07-22
  6. "Good starter environment for new graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Summit full-time

    Pros

    A fast paced environment with good perks and a great place for graduates to gain experience. A good door to the tech world and exposure to interesting companies and people.

    Cons

    Pay was low for the amount of real hours put in resulting in a high churn rate. Some negativity from senior management at times which didn't provide a great learning or teaching environment. Training opportunities were oversold and under-delivered.

    Web Summit2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "poor work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Web Summit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to start, not to progress. young graduates may enjoy for while before going to better work environments. - give lots of responsibility - chance to travel -some nice workmates

    Cons

    very unprofessional work environment. immature like CEO. overall unhealthy work environment. - threatening + abusive behaviour from senior figure(s) - some constructive dismisal practised -CEO micromanagement -coliving among staff encouraged. -long hours for uncompetitive pay. -poor salary. -marketing wokewashing to promote company not issue. -unrealitic sales targets + overpromising.

    Advice to Management

    nothing - toe the line until something better comes

    Web Summit2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, provides big opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time

    Pros

    -Many learning opportunities in a face-paced environment - it's never a boring place to work. - A company full of hard workers with a laid-back atmosphere - Working with a very supportive team - Great employee perks - Opportunity to travel

    Cons

    - The fast-paced environment can also sometimes lead to confusion and miscommunications

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and honest communications about the company's vision and goals.

    Web Summit2019-01-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The team are supportive and work really well together - Company is growing extremely fast so there's a lot of opportunity for growth - Ideas are welcome and encouraged - Lots of support and recognition from management

    Cons

    - Plans and targets can change quickly in order to react to rate of growth, can lead to some confusion

    Advice to Management

    Previously would have advised management to be more transparent but things are already being done to improve this and achieve better internal communication.

    Web Summit2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parthership Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Web Summit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office is in a nice part of the city.

    Cons

    where do i begin. Everything they tell you , promise you never delivers.

    Advice to Management

    tell the truth for once.

    Web Summit2019-02-07
Found 71 reviews