Walmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Walmart Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46798 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
12,881 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the amount of work(in 1733 reviews)

  • "Good benefits good raises good associates to work with(in 1158 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours of Standing for shifts(in 1261 reviews)

  • "The only thing for me is they will have you part-time working Full-Time hours(in 1256 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "sales assisant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kilkenny
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly people , nice place to work

    Cons

    long hours, lunch is great though

    Advice to Management

    nothing to be honest all good

    Walmart2017-08-29
  2. "Worst Decision of my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pretty good pay & benefits (but being stripped away)

    Cons

    - Burdoned with poor decisions of people above you with no way to change things. - You will focus on the 80% of work with 20% impact. - Things move at a snails pace, and only when upper management decide it. This was the most hierarchical, slow moving company I ever worked with. - Poor work / life balance (On-call weekends every 6-8 weeks, you lose a good chunk of your weekend, meetings dragging on until... after normal work hours, culture of long hours, "flexible" once you're way over contraced hours) - Micromanagement from top to bottom - Large overspecialised teams focused on a single technology. No room for growth or opportunities to learn. - Lies from management and recruiters when joining. You could interview for one team and find out that your team is gone by then end of your first month. - Big beaurocratic, slow moving company, lumbering towards failiure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A captain should go down with his ship, but tell your sailers to escape while they can.

    Walmart2019-07-25
  3. "pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, benefits, support, hours

    Cons

    corporate expectations, support staff scheduling

    Walmart2019-05-31
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    Easy work, no movement, don't have to stock shelves, minimal small-talk

    Cons

    Having to talk to people

    Advice to Management

    Not push us to sell the credit cards

    Walmart2018-11-29
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Great perks Few good teams

    Cons

    Back office Bad management

    Walmart2018-11-22
  6. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time their.

    Cons

    Hard work hard work hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Glassdorr would struggle to run this operation.

    Walmart2018-04-17
  7. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart

    Pros

    All positive. Enjoyed working here

    Cons

    None as of now. All good.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Walmart2018-02-28
  8. "Helpdesk Suport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, and infrastructure.

    Cons

    Low wage according to the market

    Walmart2017-12-22
  9. "Fun experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Saint Johns Port
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and also usually good coworkers with amazing experience in the work force and a lot of good places to work in Walmart

    Cons

    Some times you can get mean customers or very weird things brought back to Walmart some guy brought in a rotten tomato

    Advice to Management

    Get security

    Walmart2015-11-19
  10. "Floor Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great perks and benefits, great health care and sense of giving back to the community

    Cons

    Hard to be motivated when I know the amount of hardship employees face on a daily basis but the steadily rising profits and bonus package ease the pain.

    Advice to Management

    I love people and hate principles, and prefer people without principles more than anything. People and profits share two letters and little else

    Walmart2015-04-08
Found 46798 reviews