Udemy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Udemy Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Udemy CEO Gregg Coccari (no image)
Gregg Coccari
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a flexible company with great work/life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "Other reviewers have mentioned that the company culture has changed, and that's probably true(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains leading to no clear cut path to promotion(in 15 reviews)

  • "Obviously there are some growing pains when a company is growing at a fast rate(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really lovely people to work with, a great product with good benefits. Very supportive of work/life balance and flexible hours. When I had a personal family emergency, I was stunned by the amazing support I received from my colleagues and managers. They put a lot of work into making it a comfortable place to work for everyone and diversity and inclusion and removing/recognising bias is very important to them.

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary but it's a lot easier to cope with here as generally it's a pretty positive place to work.

    Advice to Management

    React more quickly to feedback given at review time.

    Udemy2018-04-16
  2. "Great mission, middle-of-the-road yech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission to deliver education to all that want it is a massive one. Truly great people.

    Cons

    Engineers on product teams may feel underwhelmed and unchallenged by very conservative tech and processes.

    Udemy2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Dublin office is full of great people, the work is often challenging and interesting, and it is really nice to be driving a product with a positive social impact.

    Cons

    The company HQ is in San Francisco and this can mean some flexibility in working hours is required at times. This flexibility goes two ways though, and people often work from home or arrive in late if needed.

    Udemy2018-03-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior SR Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office. Not much work to do. Nice and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Not much work to do. Very boring with ancient technology.

    Udemy2018-03-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Love Udemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In this company I have never felt so challenged (in the best possible way) to unlock my full potential. This is a company that really treasures their employees with everything from organising a company wide retreat to career pathing. The people, the mission and vision for Udemy are what make this a great and exciting place to be

    Cons

    Being a start up - everything is fast paced and sometimes work-life balance can suffer slightly

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Udemy2017-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love that Udemy makes a difference.. a company that helps people to learn. How great is that? The culture in Udemy is infectious, everyone really embodies the values, the mission and are working together to see the company succeed. I am so grateful to be a part of this. I have never been in a company previously where I have felt so included and only have positive things to say about Udemy.

    Cons

    None spring to mind!

    Udemy2016-04-13
  7. "Good Content: Online Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, challenging, interactive, and plethora of material.

    Cons

    Be careful to preview the courses.

    Udemy2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very welcoming and nice coworkers (95% of the company) - Good work/life balance - Constant fun company events (trivia nights, pie making, Wellness day where you can take bar tending classes or cooking classes) - Free lunch Mon - Thu! - Very encouraging of learning (Udemy classes are all free, and many in-person classes are offered each quarter to better management style, achieve goals, etc) - Free medical! -... Encouragement to take on extra projects that you're interested in

    Show More

    Cons

    -During crunch times there will be a lot of hard work and you will have to stay within the main parameters of your job in order to get everything done, but when it slows down again you can pick back up on the extra projects you were taking hold of.

    Udemy2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Open and honest culture -Down to earth executives and managers -In an industry where every company is "changing the world" with their vision, Udemy practices what they preach.

    Cons

    -I do not have a con. Things can get hectic, but that is part of recruiting at a rapidly growing company

    Advice to Management

    Onward and upward!!!

    Udemy2019-10-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Beautiful mission, amazing people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiting Operations Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible time off and catered lunches - Collaborative space, opportunities to take on new projects, questions are welcomed - Unique learning fairs and sessions

    Cons

    - Currently going through some growing pains but that's something that just comes with a company that's ready to grow fast

    Udemy2019-10-17
Found 153 reviews