Udemy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Udemy Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Udemy CEO Gregg Coccari (no image)
Gregg Coccari
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a flexible company with great work/life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • "Udemy has the best company culture I've seen in almost my 20 year career(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains leading to no clear cut path to promotion(in 15 reviews)

  • "Obviously there are some growing pains when a company is growing at a fast rate(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "High energy, welcoming, exciting environment, watch this space!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Confidential in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time

    Pros

    -Excellent on-boarding in first few weeks -Welcoming, friendly down to earth employees -Exciting and strong product, clear vision on growth -Clear communication, open, mature and results-focused environment. no sign of micro-management, trust placed in employees. -Good culture of maintaining work-life balance -Strong emphasis on learning, self-development and career growth -This is a really exciting time to join Udemy, its clear the company is on the cusp of something big.

    Cons

    None that I can see currently.

    Udemy2020-01-06
  2. "Great mission, middle-of-the-road yech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission to deliver education to all that want it is a massive one. Truly great people.

    Cons

    Engineers on product teams may feel underwhelmed and unchallenged by very conservative tech and processes.

    Udemy2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really lovely people to work with, a great product with good benefits. Very supportive of work/life balance and flexible hours. When I had a personal family emergency, I was stunned by the amazing support I received from my colleagues and managers. They put a lot of work into making it a comfortable place to work for everyone and diversity and inclusion and removing/recognising bias is very important to them.

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary but it's a lot easier to cope with here as generally it's a pretty positive place to work.

    Continue reading
    Udemy2018-04-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Dublin office is full of great people, the work is often challenging and interesting, and it is really nice to be driving a product with a positive social impact.

    Cons

    The company HQ is in San Francisco and this can mean some flexibility in working hours is required at times. This flexibility goes two ways though, and people often work from home or arrive in late if needed.

    Udemy2018-03-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior SR Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office. Not much work to do. Nice and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Not much work to do. Very boring with ancient technology.

    Udemy2018-03-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Love Udemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In this company I have never felt so challenged (in the best possible way) to unlock my full potential. This is a company that really treasures their employees with everything from organising a company wide retreat to career pathing. The people, the mission and vision for Udemy are what make this a great and exciting place to be

    Cons

    Being a start up - everything is fast paced and sometimes work-life balance can suffer slightly

    Continue reading
    Udemy2017-02-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love that Udemy makes a difference.. a company that helps people to learn. How great is that? The culture in Udemy is infectious, everyone really embodies the values, the mission and are working together to see the company succeed. I am so grateful to be a part of this. I have never been in a company previously where I have felt so included and only have positive things to say about Udemy.

    Cons

    None spring to mind!

    Udemy2016-04-13
  8. "Most honest, transparent, accountable, and NICE Leaders I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Udemy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our CEO and CTO are the 2 most engaging executives you will ever meet. I have all the confidence in them to lead us to success through 2020. Both are very transparent and always talk about the direction of the company at All Hands. They go through the how and the why, not just the what.

    Cons

    We can afford to be more aggressive and 'louder' with our branding. We are a sleeping giant.

    Continue reading
    Udemy2020-01-10
  9. "none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Udemy full-time

    Pros

    good site, easy UI. Keep up the good work

    Cons

    need more courses on the site

    Continue reading
    Udemy2020-01-20
  10. "Really abusive culture where bullying is rife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Udemy full-time

    Pros

    The culture is relatively young, and there seems to be a sprightly "start-up" mentality. Give it a month and it all goes downhill from there. They pretend to be better than other workplaces and the reality doesn't live up to it. If you've got the experience it can be interesting ... for as long as you can put up with the micro management, extremely poor mid/senior sales management.

    Cons

    New management is reluctant to accept criticism. Senior management has NO idea how bad the morale on the ground is. Most of the sales job is complete luck! No strategic long-term view. Very little career progression- there is nowhere to move. The focus was always on hitting your targets and management never cared how you went about it, they will constantly pressure you into everything

    Continue reading
    Udemy2020-01-23
Found 161 reviews