Tango Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Tango Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Tango CEO Eric Setton (no image)
Eric Setton
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the culture at Tango Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • "Nice co-workers, some very talented engineers, a couple of talented directors who focus on the right things, free food, nice foosball partners(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, no recognition, poor management(in 13 reviews)

  • "I was sold on the promise Tango is going to be the next whatsapp and it's growing very fast(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tango

    Pros

    Fun sense of Camaraderie learned a lot

    Cons

    No job securityBackbiting Long hours

    Tango2019-07-09
  2. "Once upon a Tango"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to work with smart and kind people to work with. Tango once had a great potential and generous benefits/perks, nice office and awesome culture.

    Cons

    Management does not take other people's opinions and feedback into account, leaving employee morale low and unmotivated. Work/life balance is non-existent. They expect you to work 24/7. A lot of people start off happy but leave happier! It is like waking up from a horrible nightmare.

    Tango2018-07-14
  3. "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid for all meals, with or without overtime. Good health benefits.

    Cons

    Unlimited PTO, which means basically no PTO. They have terrible leadership that has no idea their market nor do they care.

    Continue reading
    Tango2018-08-01
  4. "Tango in SPB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Saint Petersburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tango full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High salary relative SPB market.

    Cons

    1. staff reduction 2. benefits reduction 3. vague product development plan

    Tango2018-05-27
  5. "Mobile developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Nice office in CA

    Cons

    There is no vision of project, like it seems frozen

    Tango2018-04-14
  6. "Monetization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tango full-time

    Pros

    Talented people and nice work-life balance. Eric Setton, CEO, is a genuine person that cares about you and your family. He likes to sit with different teams during lunch to chat. Very nice and heart-warming! It creates a great working environment and culture.

    Cons

    Lack of a good product lead

    Tango2018-02-01
  7. "The company is dying."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tango full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No more for now. All good engineers have left.

    Cons

    Alibaba has taken back of its investment. The company is waiting for die.

    Continue reading
    Tango2017-11-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time

    Pros

    Great workplace. Free lunches, snacks, beverages.

    Cons

    Company blew through $100+ million of investment $$ from Alibaba with very little to show for it. Three layoffs since 4Q 2015, with the last layoff 3 weeks before EOY (Merry Christmas!).

    Continue reading
    Tango2017-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Was okay until layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Sweat shop with a "payoff" of layoffs before their 401k match (every year I was there I saw this). Thinks offering food and mandatory "fun" events at the office is a valid replacement for your family.

    Tango2016-12-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI Designer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great! The management is easy to work with. I love the culture at Tango Austin.

    Cons

    Salary is on the low side.

    Tango2016-11-15
Found 92 reviews