Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner Chief Executive  Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Strong emphasis on work life balance, remote working etc(in 34 reviews)

  • "There are many inspiring and great leaderships to learn from, flexible working environment as they put trust in each people to be productive(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some squads don't even need to exist at this point(in 11 reviews)

  • "Career progression is impossible unless you're not Brit working at the HQ or with many friends in the organization(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "The best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to build products, a very product centric organisation and culture. Building and shipping stuff here is very easy. Mission driven company, truly customer centric, all decisions are made in a data driven way with customers at the heart of how we operate Great team mates, people here are smart, ambitious and very humble. Interesting problems to work on, when you get to a certain level of scale,... interesting problem spaces emerge that you wouldn't necessarily get to work on in small startups.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working across circa 9 offices can sometimes cause communications challenges, but this would be the same in any global tech company and not specific to Skyscanner, it's really up to people to decide what scale of company makes sense for how they like to operate.

    Skyscanner2019-12-05
  2. "I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong emphasis on work life balance, remote working etc

    Cons

    It is hard to get promoted

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add

    Skyscanner2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Technically excellent, culture is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Excellent problems and challenges to work on * Smart people to work with * Work lift balance is good

    Cons

    * Culture is changing and not for the better, colocation limits ability to work on what you want * Reward depends on what team you are a part of. * Disagreement is looked down upon HUGELY

    Skyscanner2019-11-23
  4. Helpful (16)

    "How the mighty have fallen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the remnants of the previously excellent company to work for, are still in place. Flexible working, nice offices, friendly and collaborative colleagues. You get the kit you need to do your job. Nice offices in nice places you get to visit. All the clichéd tech company perks. On a day-to-day basis, it's a very pleasant place to go to work.

    Cons

    The previously excellent company leadership has been replaced by a team of puppets effectively. The new CEO pulls the strings and they do as they are told. The previous company culture was largely thanks to the previous COO. He was never replaced and there has been a noticeable void in leadership ever since. As a result, the company culture has been in freefall since the end of 2016. That isn't helped by an HR... function with no evident desire to do anything about the deep issues which exist. To be fair, HR is really good at supporting you and your lifestyle but not the problems in your working life. Toxic behaviour by senior people goes unreported, because people don't feel safe enough doing so. The design team leadership is comically bad. They are more concerned with impressing company leadership than trying to support and protect the team. Leaders in the Design Team steal the work of the designers doing the actual work then claim it as their own in front of company leadership. The Design Leadership is a boy's club (this is the term designers use internally to describe it), some of the treatment of my female colleagues has been appalling. But as I said, there is no security to report such things. Otherwise your chances of progression as a designer lie in how nice your slidedecks look when you present them internally. Designers have learned this and there is more concern about presenting nice-looking work to colleagues than making any useful changes to the product. The Design Team behaves like the end user is the CEO rather than the millions of people who actually use Skyscanner. There are a few good product managers left to work with but generally the standard is quite low now. I've worked with some amazing people at Skyscanner, but they have either mostly all left or are in the process of leaving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the culture

    Skyscanner2019-11-22
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Very nice people - Nice Environment - Cutting edge technologies

    Cons

    No major cons coming to mind

    Skyscanner2019-11-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of talking the talk but little walking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good Smart colleagues Product that's used by millions of people Opportunity to travel to the many offices

    Cons

    Company is more interested in branding itself than building products Secrecy around hiring, promotions, diversity leads to a lack of trust in leaders Indecision in senior management. Conflicting instructions given regularly Frequent seemingly random changes to product direction and organisation Senior leaders aren't available for their teams when they need them Crazy amount of self promotion and blogging Lots... of tech debt

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Set a clear vision and stick to it. Grand words are meaningless if you don't follow through. Stop changing people's managers so they can build trust. Stop bragging about your unique culture

    Skyscanner2019-12-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great, really great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people and great atmosphere.

    Cons

    No cons as far as I know.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Skyscanner2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Barcelona

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely and smart people and the chance to work within truly autonomous teams

    Cons

    Working with remote teams can be challenging

    Skyscanner2019-11-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really interesting work, with great tech, autonomy, and ever-evolving processes. People are super smart AND super lovely Great culture - excellent flexibility and work/life balance, wonderful offices Senior management are very visible, and dynamic with the strategy - it gives you confidence in the company's future

    Cons

    I've heard it's hard to get promoted (not that I've tried yet!) but I think they're aware of the issues and are actively working on making these better It's quite likely you'll get really into what you're working on, and suddenly get pulled off to work on something else because of a change in a strategic priorities, but I've gotten used to this now - I think it's a good thing

    Skyscanner2019-11-15
  10. "Dynamic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Growth in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - invested in growth - great atmosphere; flexible and friendly

    Cons

    - is Skyscanner sustainable as a long term model, especially with the rise of Google Flights?

    Skyscanner2019-11-15
Found 210 reviews