Shell Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shell Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,673 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Huge opportunity for the right candidates, just have to make it happen by inter company networking and all that

    Cons

    Too many young graduates who behave like they are the CEO

    Shell2018-11-14
  2. "Engineering manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Terms were good, well treated

    Cons

    Too much travel abroad expected

    Shell2019-11-26
  3. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Busineess Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell for more than 10 years

    Pros

    development opportunities and good pay

    Cons

    Poor management structure, undefined roles

    Advice to Management

    Focus on accountability of individuals

    Shell2019-07-31
  4. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    They pay well and have flexible working

    Cons

    Feel guilty about ruining the planet

    Shell2019-05-27
  5. "Good company but limited career progression in certain fields"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    good salary and perks, good experience and exposure

    Cons

    limited progression for mid career experienced hires

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on staff getting exposure in the field

    Shell2019-03-20
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Technology driven One of the biggest companies in Brazil Good career plan

    Cons

    Company was going through huge rearrangement Disorganized HR

    Shell2019-03-11
  7. "Mechanical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    Long working hours very busy

    Shell2018-12-05
  8. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Shell

    Pros

    - high hourly salary - work-life balance (home office is allowed even as an intern) - friendly coworker - challenging tasks

    Cons

    - the site in Wesseling is not very convenient to reach

    Shell2018-03-08
  9. "Excellent Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Good Development Oppertunities

    Cons

    Training was average, Target drive environment

    Advice to Management

    Improvement on training required

    Shell2018-02-17
  10. "Shambolic and disheartening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bellanaboy Bridge
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell

    Pros

    The current shift roster and the fact it is easy to get home if needed. There really isn't much else.

    Cons

    Putting up with incompetence at every level of supervision having people filling positions with no relevant experience. When there is a problem, which happens on a regular basis, then the answer is usually nothing that adds any value only more heartache to the downtrodden employee.

    Advice to Management

    Either start reading and taking action on the employee survey results which are the same year in, year out or look for another day job.

    Shell2018-03-18
Found 4764 reviews