Shell "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shell Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1,729 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Shell

    Pros

    - high hourly salary - work-life balance (home office is allowed even as an intern) - friendly coworker - challenging tasks

    Cons

    - the site in Wesseling is not very convenient to reach

    Shell2018-03-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geophysicist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You have to put up with all the large company BS: politics, big egos in management, bureaucratic processes that slow everything down, etc. But, all said, the company takes good care of employees, work-life balance is great, and safety is hammered into everyone - whether they like it or not.

    Cons

    As I said in 'pros', above: the bureaucracy of the large company is a negative. Hard to get away from that. There are also some jerks at high levels. Again, a symptom of the corporate environment.

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the narcissists from among your ranks. It doesn't matter how smart they are. Ultimately they'll be toxic. The employees will be happier and more productive without them.

    Shell2020-01-16
  3. "A good company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conflcits Atty in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Timings, Better than industry pay, more focus on Work life balance, 5 Days a week working

    Cons

    Need luck getting the right manager. Otherwise very difficult to have a good working environment

    Shell2020-01-15
  4. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, world class training

    Cons

    There are no downsides, This is an awesome company to work for

    Shell2020-01-10
  5. "Best company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trust Analyst in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and Pay. Very good work life balance.

    Cons

    Corporate can be very tough sometimes

    Shell2020-01-09
  6. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional staff, easy to get on with and always willing to help. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Significant bureaucracy associated with working at such a large company.

    Shell2020-01-09
  7. "Worked in Shell for 7 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, health and safety, performance bonuses are good.

    Cons

    Limited career development and basic salary is not competitive.

    Shell2020-01-08
  8. "Valuation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valuation Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-Life balance, Professionalism, International exposure, Culture

    Cons

    Compensation, Benefits, Ownership, Growth, Less dynamic

    Shell2020-01-04
  9. "Process Data Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Data Engineer in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance. Benefit Packages.

    Cons

    Salary against other same industry

    Shell2020-01-03
  10. "Favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and care for people.

    Cons

    Growth is based on the personal relationship with manager not based on talent. Hidden politics but huge. Full of unprofessional people with zero skills. Unskilled manager will give you rating on your skills with no further improvement plans.

    Advice to Management

    Clean the workforce as unskilled, stagnant people is driving the change projects which is very funny.

    Shell2020-01-17
Found 811 reviews