Shaw Academy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Shaw Academy Reviews

Updated 31 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Shaw Academy CEO James Egan (no image)
James Egan
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have enjoyed too much freedom here at Shaw Academy(in 33 reviews)

  • "with hard work you can achieve them(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "I'm writing this review simply to warn people away- believe me, if you join Shaw Academy you will regret it(in 17 reviews)

  • "You are expected to work ridiculously long hours and not see any benefits and as a result your work/life balance is nearly non existent(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Learning opp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shaw Academy full-time

    Pros

    Can learn whatever you are interested in, ample of room to grow Flat structure

    Cons

    yearly performance review process. training & conferences budget

    Shaw Academy2019-04-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, location, free coffeee

    Cons

    poor practices, management, dodgy sales, long hours, no time in lieu or flexi, bullying and poor mental health for employees

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Shaw Academy2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (4)

    "The worst of times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some great people, all former employees now after the many successive purges as the management drowned in its own arrogance and ineptitude.

    Cons

    Dodgy business practices, awful management, poor compensation for the amount of effort they asked for. Terrible company all round and I pity anyone still working there.

    Shaw Academy2019-10-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Terrible in everyway, don't go near this company

    Cons

    See above :), terrible place, felt like I wanted to leave every day

    Advice to Management

    Close the Business as and stick to your liquidation , everyone will be better off

    Shaw Academy2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Not a place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Academy full-time

    Pros

    Staff (although they have all since left)

    Cons

    Promised commission that doesn't get paid out, people being let go in large numbers, uneasy atmosphere

    Shaw Academy2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (21)

    "*Please* Don't Trust the Positive Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I made friends for life working here. Thanks to Shaw, I now know exactly what I want in a company and in leadership and the kind of companies and "leaders" I never want to work for again.

    Cons

    Apart from the obvious; long hours, false promises, intimidation, threats and low pay, the biggest con of all are the people in leadership. We were blatantly lied to on a regular basis on career progression, commission and targets to name a few. We were even encouraged to lie to customers. I witnessed 3 mass firings during my time here. The CEO hires in masses and then when he changes his mind, fires in masses.... You will not have job security if you accept a role here. The leadership team are awful. It's a boys club. Worst of all- the Chief People Officer. How he came about to manage people baffles me. He doesn't have one single people skill. He is painful. The only person in leadership who I liked and admired, a Co-Founder, left the business at the beginning of 2018 and I'm delighted that he did! If you go back through these reviews, you will notice that whenever there are a fresh batch of negative reviews, within the space of a few days a batch of positive reviews are uploaded. I have witnessed people being told to put these up following mass firings so can promise you that is the case with these too. I'm writing this review simply to warn people away- believe me, if you join Shaw Academy you will regret it. Bring your skills and talent to a company that values its employees. It's a shame you have to give at least 1 star on Glassdoor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. I wouldn't waste my time.

    Shaw Academy2019-02-27
  7. "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Academy for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an an honest review. I've worked in Shaw Academy for 2 years now and I've worked with nothing but top top people. A players, that i've learnt from. Working here is rewarding. The targets are ambitious, but you are paid big when you achieve them. with hard work you can achieve them

    Cons

    None really, we are just about to start growing fast

    Advice to Management

    Help me through the growth because I want to be a directo of the business

    Shaw Academy2019-02-01
  8. "Lot achieved a lot to be achieved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Taught over 4 million students from over 100 countries & a diversified workplace. Lot to learn & opportunity is always available to grow.

    Cons

    More structure within the company

    Advice to Management

    What you have achieved so far is great, so relax, enjoy & grow organically rather than pushing hard for it.

    Shaw Academy2019-01-28
  9. "Never say die!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Guidance Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are a sales person get in here This company lives and breaths performance And I'm performing, so I'm getting paid big. Others who don't perform, don't get the big bucks, and then they leave and complain here. Stop complaining The CEO is a genius, listen to him and learn

    Cons

    Complaining co workers are the worst; they rolled out values and one is Solve The Problem, not Complain About The Problem. Do you think Facebook get to where it is by complaining when things went wrong

    Advice to Management

    None, things are great, and I'm here for the long haul

    Shaw Academy2019-01-27
  10. "Doing what I love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm an educator and I'm very proud that I help people learn. Learning that helps them get a better job or do something better. I feel very proud about it. Shaw Academy allows my students to learn at a fraction of the cost of their other choice. So with Shaw Academy, I'm help people that wouldnt otherwise be able to afford to get educate and change their situation.

    Cons

    I want to do more courses.

    Advice to Management

    More courses for our students, please

    Shaw Academy2019-01-27
Found 149 reviews