SUGARFISH Reviews

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SUGARFISH Owner & Sushi Chef Kazunori Nozawa (no image)
Kazunori Nozawa
9 Ratings
  1. "Good money"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at SUGARFISH full-time

    Pros

    If you like to work, this is the place

    Cons

    Only one day off a week

    SUGARFISH2020-02-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Complete Nightmare"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Busser in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off sushi! No family meal for this money making scheme of a restaurant.

    Cons

    This was hands down my worst restaurant experience in NYC, I am still triggered by it today. They are incredibly discriminatory and coincidentally would only promote Asian people to become servers. Their promoting system is completely subjective and based on race. They hire you as a "Host" however you seldom host. Most days you are food running or bussing aggressively. The environment is completely bland - they discourage conversations and enjoying yourself (Except for management, hypocrites) You don't make tips in this incredibly high paced environment and there's a severe wage gap between bussers and servers, the latter doing less work with a robotic monologue and earning at least $10 more an hour. The management is condescending (for no reason) and devalue you and your labor. The management and servers have created a social circle and if you are not involved, you are not wanted. Absolutely a waste of time and terrible for anyone's mental health to work here.

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "HIGH TURNOVER RATE FOR A REASON!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Studio City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SUGARFISH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great job to have if you live with your parents and don't have bills to pay.

    Cons

    High stress for low pay. Will work you 6 days a week with a cumulative total of 30-35 hours per week. Sprinkle on some racism, homophobia, and sexism for spice too in this work environment.

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2019-11-19
  4. "Racial Hiring and Mediocre Wages"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food and some good people, easy once you get in the flow

    Cons

    only promotes white and east asian people. if you aren't that don't expect to ever be a server, no matter how long you work there. Only restaurant that doesn't feed their staff. No tips and mediocre wages. You can make way more at another restaurant and actually afford groceries

    SUGARFISH2019-08-27
  5. "Great Learning Experience / Taught me discipline and quality over quantity."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Kitchen Manager/Kitchen Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great money / Over time guaranteed.

    Cons

    5 to 6 Days Double Shifts , And Triple shifts. Work is life and no life out side of work .

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2019-05-11
  6. "Money, Money, Money"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move up Great money, better than most of the industry

    Cons

    You will only succeed if you make your job your life. If you are looking for balance between work and your social life, look elsewhere. Used to be a very family feeling place to work, however as the company grew larger, turned into a typical corporation. You will feel overworked and underappreciated, at every level from entry to upper management.

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2019-03-28
  7. "The company doesn’t care"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host/Food Runner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SUGARFISH full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays decently for the work

    Cons

    It’s seems like a great job at first because it’s pretty simple work, but after working there for about 5 months I realize that the company doesn’t care about their employees at all. They also expect you to memorize an entire handbook of questions that “customers might ask you” that you have to memorize word for word that usually never comes, and if you get too many wrong you get a write up. You also have so many managers that talk down to you. Overall the experience is not worth the pay.

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2019-02-12
  8. "Assistant Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time

    Pros

    Great average pay Insurance benefits Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Scheduling Only paid little more compared to being a server

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2018-09-18
  9. "Seriously?"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH in Los Angeles, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good and isn’t dependent on tips, so you know exactly what you’ll walk away with. 50% off of the sushi...that’s about it.

    Cons

    For starters, seriously? I understand having pride in what you do, but the pressure here is crazy for no reason. They take themselves insanely seriously and are not a friendly company. The managers and GM’s are cold, rude, and unprofessional. I’ve worked in many restaurants and during my training week alone I felt so berated I cried more than once. Also - when you start in the company you are usually hired as a “floater”, meaning you will float amongst locations on any given day and your schedule will change every week. You will have one day off, but other than that you are either scheduled or have to be available to come in until a certain time of the day. Once again...seriously? How is anyone supposed to plan anything? You can’t even schedule a dentist appointment. When you request off for one day for this purpose or another, you’re told it’s “not promised”. My first week of work an employee who had been there for 1+ year told me “SugarFish has to be your life if you want to work here”. The whole environment is so negative and toxic. Would warn anyone who looks for a positive workplace that cares about their employees and anyone who has a life to stay far away.

    Continue reading
    SUGARFISH2018-06-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, High expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SUGARFISH full-time

    Pros

    Good Salary Good Benefits Team structure Lots of growth, high turnover rate

    Cons

    Work like a slave High expectations from Upper management some management favortism a lot of brown nosing customers high turnover rate not flexible schedule

    SUGARFISH2018-06-20
Found 29 reviews