Prosper.com Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Prosper.com Reviews

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Prosper.com CEO  David Kimball
David Kimball
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, culture, and benefits(in 14 reviews)

  • "Inspiring leadership, great benefits, solid product and terrific atmosphere(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "First thing the CPO says after the layoffs is that now it's much easier to fit in meeting rooms(in 11 reviews)

  • "Consistent lack of success outside of personal loans(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Underwhelming Business Model, Low Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I've had the opportunity to work with their are really kind, hardworking, and knowledgable. They believe in the digital future of finance and their intentions are in the right place. But I wouldn't say the same about most of the top management.

    Cons

    The Company has been through a rollercoaster of growth and whatever the opposite of growth is, but they are still around. They are survivors. Unfortunately I feel like Management is too much focused on finance and not enough on technology, and it really doesn't even feel like technology company to me as much as a commodity finance player. Also there's too much competition and low margins.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of current management and bring in technology focused individuals, run the personal loan product on the side, raise another $200M round and use it to offer 3-4 new products to capture the lifetime value of customer. Grow retail channel as an alternative asset class. Spend money, run ads on the business. Get rid of direct mail.

    Prosper.com2019-10-25
  2. "Great place to work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Oppertunities for advancement if willing to put in the work

    Cons

    None; overall there are no complaints

    Prosper.com2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks--Laid off!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company with good growth projectile

    Cons

    Over expanded and laid off entire Salt Lake City office!

    Advice to Management

    When you acquire a company, you should not fire the CEO of the company. Prosper management took a successful company and effectively made it unprofitable.

    Prosper.com2019-08-20
  4. "Prosper is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time

    Pros

    Really great environment and people.

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers get grumpy

    Prosper.com2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time

    Pros

    Good location. Benefits are pretty decent.

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover on a continuous and rolling basis over recent years and still continues. Virtually everyone's new. Red flag. People who remain are toxic or toxicity permeates. Waves of mass exitus continue. Senior leadership siloes themselves from the rest of the company. Departments are also extremely siloed. Helps when people continuously leave to not feel the impact in other departments - as much. Moral... in the company is a killer. Toxicity is second. Leadership is so dysfunctional from the top down. Beware of grandiose messaging. Nice stepping stone, but buyer beware. CEO will ask for Glassdoor recommendations in meetings. Disappointing experience at best. Turnover is your sign ... Do your research.

    Show More
    Prosper.com2019-09-07
  6. "facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities 

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time

    Pros

    great team and atmosphere at the company

    Cons

    poor communication to team outside US

    Prosper.com2019-08-02
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Operations Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance , Career Opportunities

    Cons

    No Cons at all

    Prosper.com2019-07-05
  8. "It had its good time and it's bad times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Verification Specialist in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun office, great people and the employee outreach was excellent

    Cons

    when I was there the management was out of sorts and typically made the wrong decisions

    Prosper.com2019-06-29
  9. "Great Talent , just very unorganized work structure, constantly changing and employees confused."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com

    Pros

    Great Moral. and Benefits are given.

    Cons

    Too much change, poor communication and office politics never clear.

    Prosper.com2019-07-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It’s okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CX Sales Experience and Customer Service in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free benefits and potential company shares. Relaxed environment. Free light rail fare and gym memberships. Good for young teens.

    Cons

    Predictable routine and only challenge about the job is staying awake. Decent pay.

    Prosper.com2019-07-02
Found 187 reviews