NHS Professionals Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

NHS Professionals Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NHS Professionals CEO Nicola McQueen
Nicola McQueen
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "You pay your self on your time sheet,good holiday pay too(in 6 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, weekly pay, different wards(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Staff in wards can try to boss you around or to give you the worse jobs(in 13 reviews)

  • "I wish I never applied at NHSP at all or applied for the job role(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nhsprofessionals gives freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Professionals part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You choose where you work Weekly pay You choose you own hours and holidays

    Cons

    Staff in wards can try to boss you around or to give you the worse jobs. No one cares who you are and colleagues can be racist against you.

    NHS Professionals2019-11-15
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trust Services Partner in Aylesbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Professionals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of employee perks; company-wide ethos on continuing professional development

    Cons

    Lack of fluidity to move between roles in the organisation

    Advice to Management

    Improve the response time of the corporate recruitment team and their response time

    NHS Professionals2019-11-04
  3. "professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Assistant in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Professionals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean, tidy, mindful, professional, good

    Cons

    not enough holidays, more benefits

    Advice to Management

    more holidays

    NHS Professionals2019-10-30
  4. "Very slow induction process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Assistant in Banbury, England

    I have been working at NHS Professionals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Choosing your own shifts Good rates of pay at the weekend

    Cons

    Slow induction process Having to chase DBS submission. Not being paid practical training

    NHS Professionals2019-10-30
  5. "passion for people and real potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Professional in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Professionals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passion, people, opportunities, work life balance

    Cons

    Poor leadership working in silos and unclear on direction of business

    Advice to Management

    stop working in silos!

    NHS Professionals2019-10-30
  6. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Professionals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Choose hours to suit yourself

    Cons

    Not always work un the area you want

    NHS Professionals2019-10-28
  7. "Cons outweigh the pros of flexibility..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS Professionals part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You can book your own shifts (although can't be too fussy on what ward you want to work on, as some months it is harder to find shifts than others). - good for student nurses who want to experience more wards. - Able to work in different settings, so can enjoy variety.

    Cons

    - Little concern about how staff are treated by trust staff. I.e. one of my major issues is how agency/bank members are treated. Whilst this is more of a trust issue, i.e. there are certain wards that no-one works on due to trust members and so have had to use other agency staff, I know a few people who have complained about how staff have treated them to NHSP and have had no response. The ward are able to rate... staff, but staff cannot rate wards so no support for rude/unprofessional/bullying staff. - communication- i.e. I was booked onto a face-to-face training in June, but found it this month that it was not properly booked, there wasn't any alternatives available (unless I wouldn't mind driving 4 hours to another trust for free) but I would not be able to work. This was due to NHSP staff not booking it properly, and then no follow us so only found out when I was informing of redundancy. - training- out of pocket, and often very limited in where they are and when they are available. -Also, I have to pay for flu jab because the hospital would not do it (as I'm agency) but was so much faff having to email certain people, wait 5 working days, to get a response to something that we need working with vulnerable patients. - unable to access extra training such as cannulation and no career progression. - no supervision- i.e. the staff can rate us, but we have no way of gauging what we need to improve on unless talk to staff directly (which is fine if you work on only one ward, and not across 7 hospitals). This is ok if only working once every few weeks or as a student nurse, but for others who do it full-time, it is not good. - Staff at NHSP who are managers in specific trusts have been very rude (and multiple staff have complained about how certain staff members have treated them over the phone but have had no response). Als, also quite common to not have complaints replied to- I have only complained when it has taken more than 2 weeks to release timesheets ( meant to be done in 3 days, but some wards are known for being late but there has not been much change in this) and had only had a reply twice.

    Show More
    NHS Professionals2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "THEY DON'T PAY YOU ON TIME AND YOU HAVE TO CHASE PAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Professionals part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    currently looking elsewhere for work

    Cons

    You don't get paid on time. You don't get the correct pay. You have to keep an eye on your holidays because they sometimes don't add that one either. You have to chase them. Sometimes your shifts aren't put on in time for you to release for payment so you end up going 2 weeks without pay. When you chase it up you are on the phone for hours. When you do get through the call centre staff are rude.

    Advice to Management

    Just sort your whole system out and pay people for the shifts they work on time.

    NHS Professionals2019-10-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "hours of unpaid training to look forward to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Professionals part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Usually plenty of shifts. Pay not bad. Free uniform.

    Cons

    Training comes in tree parts. Firstly you do 15 hours online, in your time, unpaid. Then every two years you have basic mandatory training in hospital, 3 hours in your time, at your expense, all unpaid, not even offered a cup of tea. Every three years you do conflict resolution, 4 hours training, in hospital, unpaid, not even offered a cup of tea. On facebook, NHSP were rather proud to announce how they gave over... £9000 to Comic Relief. NHSP need to pay their staff for their training, before helping charity causes. Considering some nurses have to rely on foodbanks, this is disgraceful

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest properly in the staff who plod the wards, and make them feel valued

    NHS Professionals2019-09-24
  10. "Nice team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at NHS Professionals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team to work with (Marketing team). Marketing Director and manager were brilliant and kept everyone motivated.

    Cons

    It was based in Watford (London) and there was a huge call centre nearby which made the office environment a bit noisy.

    NHS Professionals2019-08-21
Found 75 reviews