MediaMath Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

MediaMath Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a good work-life balance - flexibility on working and great benefits and perks(in 60 reviews)

  • "There are so many nice and smart people and teams you'll get to work with and meet(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "All good problems - the company is growing so quickly that the dynamic environment can be hard to manage(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, recent re-organization led to more politics in inter-group relations;(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exciting times ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    - Exciting new leadership, with a mature "big company" vision. New President has provided clear direction and is very transparent - Challenges are very exciting - Source is excellent and could really revolutionize the industry - Exposure to some of the largest enterprise brands - Great benefits - open PTO, onsite gym, onsite massages, free food and drinks - Great culture, company is over it's hiccups

    Cons

    - Lack of diversity at leadership & board level - Priorities can often shift quickly - Lack of company events - would help keep morale high

    MediaMath2020-01-10
  2. "Great Company, great culture, great hiring experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    Company has a great competitive yet intelligent culture. It promotes motivation and ambition to the growing workforce in adtech.

    Cons

    Can be fast paced for people not familiar with industry.

    MediaMath2020-01-10
  3. "Good opportunity for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has really found its vision and voice with Source. It feels more aligned and I really believe we are trying to change the industry. There have been some organizational changes but I personally feel it is for good reasons and change for the better. Our new President is fantastic; He is open on where we can improve and is providing a much more transparent leadership. He’s not afraid to answer the tough questions. You get to work with incredibly bright people who are very passionate about their work There is a good work-life balance - flexibility on working and great benefits and perks. Lots of opportunities to develop your skills through training and the ability to move internally to another role.

    Show More

    Cons

    Diversity at a senior level

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the vision of SOURCE Continue to communicate with the organization

    MediaMath2020-01-09
  4. "Marketing Engineer Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great program whether you're a recent graduate or a career changer, like myself. You learn all about the programmatic industry and where MediaMath fits into the ecosystem. There is tremendous networking opportunity, but it is what you make it. The company culture is great. Everyone was so friendly & welcoming since day 1. I am very happy that I was able to be hired internally & stay within the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    You are not guaranteed a job upon MEP completion, but again the networking is what you make it. I really haven't experienced any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! & never get rid of MEP!

    MediaMath2020-01-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The worst job I’ve ever had — deplorable culture and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at MediaMath

    Pros

    As a client-facing resource at MediaMath, I found the work interesting — the company has good clients, which keeps the day-to-day stimulating. The office is modern and well-located, with a pantry is well-stocked with snacks and drinks.

    Cons

    The culture is AWFUL. I’ve never felt as undervalued and infantilized as a professional as when I was working at MediaMath. Managers are promoted beyond their abilities and have no clue what they’re doing — for the majority, managers and/or individual contributors with a Senior Director/VP title are often in their late 20s/early 30s, been promoted often internally after being there for 5+ years after, and started at MediaMath right after college. They end up being very arrogant and dismissive of people with actual work experience. They end up micromanaging even the simplest tasks and acting as the Police rather than an empowering manager. This leads to low team morale, and a clique-like mentality, where people are split between the Old Guard and talented newcomers who can’t fit in and are perceived as a threat. The product is difficult to use and not at par with the competition. This makes your day-to-day very challenging, as MediaMath the clients you need to support are often dissatisfied. It also makes you feel like your job is to fix a Product deficit, as the Product breaks often, the Product and Engineering team never delivers on time, lacks vision and lacks understanding of what the customer and market expects from a media buying platform. This also makes it hard to sell the Platform, as the tech has a bad reputation with agencies who prefer the Trade Desk and find MediaMath not intuitive to use at all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Hire for experience and results, not personality. 2. Focus on making your product better. I worked with clients and literally felt like the justification for my job was to fix a bad product gap...

    MediaMath2020-01-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Once great company now in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mostly good, intelligent people Perks & benefits

    Cons

    Poor leadership has led the company into subpar performance, and there is difficulty in retaining employees. Constant organizational changes that seem to be made without any rationale or input from broader teams. There is generally a lower morale, which poor leadership is unable and unwilling to fix

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees New, diversified leadership

    MediaMath2020-01-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Program!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Marketing Engineer Program is a fantastic program to jump start your career in Adtech. There are so many nice and smart people and teams you'll get to work with and meet! And ample opportunities to learn and grow your programmatic knowledge and technical skill sets.

    Cons

    If I had to mention one, I think maybe providing more job search support to make this piece of the program less stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! :)

    MediaMath2019-11-15
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Once Great, Now Volatile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture is strong at MediaMath and teams and the people who comprise those teams are dedicated and loyal. Perks are amazing - unlimited PTO (in the States), free snacks, beautiful offices...on the surface a dream place to work.

    Cons

    Upper management has lost touch with what made this company great in the first place. Ego and ambition lead the company to make many poor decisions which have lead to low revenue generation, difficulty hiring and maintaining top notch talent, and organizational changes that break high functioning teams apart. Turnover is high, loyalty is low, and the company is moving to a more corporate environment and ideology. This type of growth is fine and expected for a company that is 10+ years old but the humanity and respect for the people who have literally and figuratively built the company has waned in the last few years. It's about making money and less about creating a steady work environment for people who are dedicated to the product and the vision. The top-down decisions have seemingly been made without consideration for those who do the actual day to day work which was a core part of what made working at MediaMath so great in its early days.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Admit your mistakes and stop promoting a workplace built on values that are clearly not honest. The company is not about the people anymore or about developing talent and being leaders in the industry. It's about staying afloat and competing with other companies in the ecosphere. There was something special about MediaMath several years ago. Now we're just another start-up that's gone corporate and lost sight of the original vision. Stop pretending we're something we're not.

    Show More
    MediaMath2019-11-19
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Look at other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    Good office locations but that’s about it

    Cons

    The Managment and HR are completely misaligned with what’s happening in the company, furthermore they are highly unprofessional. Every few years there is a restructure and really anyone or everyone who has an option outside has left, surprising the HR and Managment fails to acknowledge this! HR is probably the most incompetent I have seen ( you can find this consistently across other glassdoor reviews). Inexperienced and incapable people are promoted and hired instead of growing internal talent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your HR and managers in UK ! There is no work life balance ( outside US). The company is struggling and given mediamath underpays vs it’s competitors the least you can do is appreciate your employees so they stay.

    MediaMath2019-11-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Great hiring processes and good exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmatic 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    The hiring process was one of the best that I have encountered. HR was very responsive to all the questions that I had. The company really emphasizes on learning and growth and it feels like you are working in the company of some of the brightest minds in the ad tech industry. My interview process was pretty rigorous and that shows how invested the company is in hiring future employees. I had applied online and received an interview call from HR. Once the phone conversation was over I was sent a data set to analyze and present my thoughts on. The next round was a 3-hour interview process that included a ppt presentation to a panel followed by 4 one-on-ones. Enjoyed talking to everyone as it helped me understand more about Mediamath and its company culture. Love the company and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the ad tech industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Great stuff! We feel happy to be lead by such visionaries!

    MediaMath2019-09-25
Found 310 reviews