MediaMath Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

MediaMath Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
197 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is also a major draw card; the work environment is very flexible(in 59 reviews)

  • "There are so many nice and smart people and teams you'll get to work with and meet(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "All good problems - the company is growing so quickly that the dynamic environment can be hard to manage(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, recent re-organization led to more politics in inter-group relations;(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Program!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Marketing Engineer Program is a fantastic program to jump start your career in Adtech. There are so many nice and smart people and teams you'll get to work with and meet! And ample opportunities to learn and grow your programmatic knowledge and technical skill sets.

    Cons

    If I had to mention one, I think maybe providing more job search support to make this piece of the program less stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! :)

    MediaMath2019-11-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Once Great, Now Volatile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture is strong at MediaMath and teams and the people who comprise those teams are dedicated and loyal. Perks are amazing - unlimited PTO (in the States), free snacks, beautiful offices...on the surface a dream place to work.

    Cons

    Upper management has lost touch with what made this company great in the first place. Ego and ambition lead the company to make many poor decisions which have lead to low revenue generation, difficulty hiring and maintaining top notch talent, and organizational changes that break high functioning teams apart. Turnover is high, loyalty is low, and the company is moving to a more corporate environment and ideology.... This type of growth is fine and expected for a company that is 10+ years old but the humanity and respect for the people who have literally and figuratively built the company has waned in the last few years. It's about making money and less about creating a steady work environment for people who are dedicated to the product and the vision. The top-down decisions have seemingly been made without consideration for those who do the actual day to day work which was a core part of what made working at MediaMath so great in its early days.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Admit your mistakes and stop promoting a workplace built on values that are clearly not honest. The company is not about the people anymore or about developing talent and being leaders in the industry. It's about staying afloat and competing with other companies in the ecosphere. There was something special about MediaMath several years ago. Now we're just another start-up that's gone corporate and lost sight of the... original vision. Stop pretending we're something we're not.

    Show More
    MediaMath2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Look at other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    Good office locations but that’s about it

    Cons

    The Managment and HR are completely misaligned with what’s happening in the company, furthermore they are highly unprofessional. Every few years there is a restructure and really anyone or everyone who has an option outside has left, surprising the HR and Managment fails to acknowledge this! HR is probably the most incompetent I have seen ( you can find this consistently across other glassdoor reviews).... Inexperienced and incapable people are promoted and hired instead of growing internal talent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your HR and managers in UK ! There is no work life balance ( outside US). The company is struggling and given mediamath underpays vs it’s competitors the least you can do is appreciate your employees so they stay.

    MediaMath2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Great hiring processes and good exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmatic 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    The hiring process was one of the best that I have encountered. HR was very responsive to all the questions that I had. The company really emphasizes on learning and growth and it feels like you are working in the company of some of the brightest minds in the ad tech industry. My interview process was pretty rigorous and that shows how invested the company is in hiring future employees. I had applied online and... received an interview call from HR. Once the phone conversation was over I was sent a data set to analyze and present my thoughts on. The next round was a 3-hour interview process that included a ppt presentation to a panel followed by 4 one-on-ones. Enjoyed talking to everyone as it helped me understand more about Mediamath and its company culture. Love the company and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the ad tech industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Great stuff! We feel happy to be lead by such visionaries!

    MediaMath2019-09-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Associate in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience, smart employees

    Cons

    Weak upper management, long hours, slow promotion process

    MediaMath2019-10-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Downward trend in employee growth and retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is not decentralised and so are the growth opportunities in regions outside the US.

    Cons

    Heavy Top Management and very US-oriented

    MediaMath2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (8)

    "HR and Sales leads a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and learning opportunities

    Cons

    HR is not well prepared, there are kids leading the processes and conversations very unprofessional. Not a real global company, they only care about NY office.

    Advice to Management

    Put key well prepared people in main roles. If you say you are a global company, BE a global company. HR changes ASAP.

    MediaMath2019-08-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    - Extremely intelligent group of people who are always happy to help each other - Great culture with regular team outings and and impromptu events - There are many departments in the company so there is always something new to learn - Flexible working arrangements - Highly respected company - Strong relationship with all clients and industry peers

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    MediaMath2019-05-13
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Think about your other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MediaMath is a 10+ year old startup that still requires investment capital. Why? If you look at ad tech's growth and MediaMath's competitors set, they should be profitable and in a growth trajectory. What will you learn joining this company? You might get the opportunity to fix internal processes, save an account, fill in tech gaps with human power, try different roles, and meet smart people. If you like working... for an underdog company, this could be a good fit. You will always be up against Google or other companies that have stronger engineering talent. If you like having constant change, this might also be a good fit. There are reorgs almost every year or reorgs still carrying on from the last reorg. Adtech is always changing and companies like MediaMath need to adapt to both trends and changing political climates.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are coming from a more established technology company and you are not looking for an aging startup environment, this will likely disappoint you. You are used to larger organizations with smart people who make logical decisions. There are checks and balances that keep large orgs with good products and market viability in a positive trajectory. This is not that. Instead of making decisions on behalf of future... success, many people in power like to go on power trips and set up the company to fail. Read other reviews here. Do your research in the ad tech space. Look at the companies that grow year over year. Dollars are flowing to the companies that have viable solutions for advertisers. Also look into what type of investments ad tech companies take. Some go public (IPO), some get venture capital, some take private equity. Those investments are not all equal. This information is available with a quick Google search. Do you want to work long hours, make meaningful changes in your small sector of responsibility, and be a positive change agent but never receive any praise or reward? You might enjoy it here. MediaMath is medium sized business. That gives senior leadership an unhealthy amount of power. They are a group of like minded individuals that like each other and their own ideas. They do not like outsiders. They do not like to hear constructive criticism. They are quick to adopt a trend or mindset without deep thinking. The middle manager sector of the company is large and unwieldy. Do talk to current or ex employees. Do the same for other ad tech companies. Ad tech firms are struggling as most marketing dollars go to the top three companies. Be aware of double-speak in your interviews. Are they just talking to talk? Are they saying anything of value in succinct sentences?

    Show More
    MediaMath2019-04-19
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Used to be a great place to work; now just sad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great snacks Some smart people Still some, albeit far fewer, nice people Flexibility

    Cons

    Disorganized Siloed Egos rule The most aggressive/calculating person is rewarded Lacking direction Slow innovation

    Advice to Management

    Humble yourselves. Talk to the people who actually do the work and fire most of your VPs. SLT is a joke. Change needs to start at the top.

    MediaMath2019-05-03
Found 304 reviews