Jump Trading Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Jump Trading Reviews

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Jump Trading COO Matt Schrecengost (no image)
Matt Schrecengost
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people - state of the art tech - all resources available to be successful(in 10 reviews)

  • "Comfortable working environment allows you to be yourself and not worry about perceptions(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Young work environment can contribute to pressure to work very long hours but then this is standard in this industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are no cons - only one would be that the industry is niche and that isn't jump specific(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quant 

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    They pay a lot for the good people

    Cons

    You have to work very hard

    Jump Trading2020-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Traders sometimes bring you to expensive dinner.

    Cons

    Poor work environment. Low Pay. Long hours.

    Jump Trading2020-01-07
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good office with great view. Clear responsibility areas. Pay well. Interesting corporate events.

    Cons

    Carrier path is confusing. Higher management says the titles don't matter. May be it is so for them, but it ends up with random and unreasonable title assignment, which leads to unnecessary tensions (conclusion from conversions with colleagues).

    Jump Trading2019-12-02
  4. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, really talented coworkers, challenging learning curve (you'll be surprised how much you can learn in a few years!), and of course great pay.

    Cons

    Things can get heated up and intense sometimes :)

    Jump Trading2019-10-17
  5. "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of intellectual stimulation and constant access to hard but interesting problems - Combination of analytically and quantitatively smart but humble peers - Culture is paramount and the company puts a high value to maintaining great culture - Top of the line benefits and compensation

    Cons

    - Company is growing through an inflection point and expansion - so expected kinks as it navigates through that but nothing serious

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-10-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Trading Systems Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge difficult problems and the top tools. Dynamic open collaborative environment. Excellent compensation and benefits. Flat hierarchy. Great upper management

    Cons

    Cutting edge difficult problems and long hours.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-09-09
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be a good place to work, but now there's too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Decent work environment, if you can handle the whole open concept type of seating arrangements. Pay seems pretty good.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Either you're in the group of golden children or you're definitely not. Too many high-level people, yet not very good project management.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-07-16
  8. "Fantastic Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Algorithmic Trader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay cut ratio is fabulous.

    Cons

    Algo trading industry as a whole is saturating.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-04-11
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place but needs improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are competitive, generous compensation structure.

    Cons

    Senior management has very little experience with running a firm like Jump. This means many people making decisions for the organization who don't understand the downstream effects.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-04-05
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Great company that values employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To preface this, I have only been working here for a short while, but the message I experience and receive over and over again is that Jump seriously cares about making their employees happy. For anonymity I won't share my job title, but I work in one of the technology teams. First of all, the benefits for this company are absolutely INSANE. Sign-on bonus is more than enough to cover first few months of rent, plus furniture, plus miscellaneous moving expense, and still give you many thousands left over. 401k is top notch. My contract has Jump matching half of my contributions up to the annual maximum. They provide very good dental, vision, and health options. I pay almost nothing for my health insurance. My boss is very lax on a lot of things (clock in/out times for instance), and has also made some pretty generous concessions in order to make me feel comfortable and happy. Paid time off is an entire month! It's more common you'll see half a month in the broader workforce. When I got my job offer, I felt I had no right to negotiate any part of it because the compensation and benefits are absolutely stunning. I can afford to live in a very expensive district in Chicago and have enough money left over to contribute maximally to the 401k, while also paying off loans, putting money in the stock market, and making an emergency fund.

    Cons

    The work has almost no meaning besides "make money for the company." There is no broader sense that the work you do benefits society in general. I came from a previous employer that did projects that had measurable impacts on society, but Jump isn't really like that. The company's entire goal is to make money off the stock market. Not very interesting if you ask me, but hey, that's life. Also not much room for growth. The organization is pretty flat compared to other companies, so while you will certainly be compensated fairly generously for working here, there is a pretty short path to the ceiling of career advancement.

    Jump Trading2019-02-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 71 reviews