Irish Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Irish Life Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Irish Life CEO David Harney (no image)
David Harney
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexi-time/days (again team dependent)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Some really good people working here(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Increased red tape since takeover from GWLC(in 6 reviews)

  • "Outdated systems, lack of morale,long hours,poor management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    Open, transparent, good culture and allows growth.

    Cons

    Reactive to their corporate clients.

    Irish Life2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Truthful review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    - Marketing Campaigns - Location - Lot of events

    Cons

    - Pay - Some department area staff is very clique and majority are family member so you can't be too careful. - Always left on contract no permanent vacancies and interviews can be extremely hard. - Exams is a forceful must.

    Advice to Management

    Some of you are most of the staff problems in the first place. Some amaze me how they even become management at all.

    Irish Life2020-01-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horrific experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Planning Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues & customers, min 5 word entry struggling to find more

    Cons

    Management carry out criminal activities to get rid of staff. With Absolutely no concern for well being hr are aware of this behaviour and do nothing to protect staff. They make up things to rid of people who are too expensive and even presented with facts they stick to their lies, and when this is pointed out to HR they bring in these criminal managers to stand over their lies with no help or support from HR truly shocking.... do yourself & health a favour go somewhere else. I have and 12 months on I still cannot believe how they treated me .... I really cant believe how well Iv been treated in my new company after the hell hole of Irish life ....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None they are aware and allow horrific treatment of staff

    Irish Life2020-01-05
  4. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, gym, decent pay

    Cons

    Career possibilities , parking, work life balance

    Irish Life2019-11-21
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am on a great team. Only work 10 hours a week around college hours and I choose when I want to work.

    Cons

    Only bad thing is that some teams are very understaffed

    Irish Life2019-11-18
  6. "Irish Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to operate as needed

    Cons

    Salary doesn’t stack up with work load and expertise

    Advice to Management

    Pay appropriately

    Irish Life2019-11-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrific treatment of advisors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is excellent. Brand recognition.

    Cons

    Politics Expect you to bring in business but will never tell you how considering the 100s of restrictions in place They expect you to fund yourself and do not offer any financial assistance They will sell you a false bill of goods based on complete fantasy Management do not care. They will do everything to force you out.

    Advice to Management

    They dont listen to advice.

    Irish Life2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "communication problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    looking outward for innovation and new ideas

    Cons

    political, poor inter-communication between teams, leaders seem disingenuous. Small number of gossipy staff, blame culture. Old fashioned view of how the work place should operate, agility doesn't exist here, disappointing and unrewarding - if you intend to work for this company - i suggest you join the clique to progress

    Advice to Management

    rethink your roles- adapt to the changing reality that staff do not need to be in an office 9-5 to produce good work. Old- school approach to sector collaboration - things seem to get done only for those who know the right people ..wink culture!

    Irish Life2019-11-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, supportive company if you wish to continue obtaining qualifications

    Cons

    Becoming more and more difficult to unlock bonuses

    Irish Life2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Irish Life Health: Mixed bag, developed a lot but left because of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Salary & benefits not bad *Develops lower level staff for mid-range roles *Office is centrally located

    Cons

    *Do not develop staff for more senior roles *Frustrating BAU experience as most decisions not made for the right reasons (politics) *Too many staff get away with very poor performance consistently

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved with the day to day details of teams. Develop meaningful metrics on how each team is performing and use those to enact change in teams. Hold people accountable for results. Promote from withing where possible

    Irish Life2019-09-15
Found 111 reviews