Irish Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Irish Life Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Irish Life CEO David Harney (no image)
David Harney
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexi-time/days (again team dependent)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Some really good people working here(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Increased red tape since takeover from GWLC(in 6 reviews)

  • "Outdated systems, lack of morale,long hours,poor management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Irish Life Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent wages & Benefits (Free Healthcare and Good Employer Pension contributions) Good Atmosphere in the Office & they Facilitate those who wish to work from home.

    Cons

    Staff Gym could do with an upgrade.

    Irish Life2019-08-27
  2. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, gym, decent pay

    Cons

    Career possibilities , parking, work life balance

    Irish Life2019-11-21
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am on a great team. Only work 10 hours a week around college hours and I choose when I want to work.

    Cons

    Only bad thing is that some teams are very understaffed

    Irish Life2019-11-18
  4. "Irish Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to operate as needed

    Cons

    Salary doesn’t stack up with work load and expertise

    Continue reading
    Irish Life2019-11-15
  5. "Horrific treatment of advisors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is excellent. Brand recognition.

    Cons

    Politics Expect you to bring in business but will never tell you how considering the 100s of restrictions in place They expect you to fund yourself and do not offer any financial assistance They will sell you a false bill of goods based on complete fantasy Management do not care. They will do everything to force you out.

    Continue reading
    Irish Life2019-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "communication problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    looking outward for innovation and new ideas

    Cons

    political, poor inter-communication between teams, leaders seem disingenuous. Small number of gossipy staff, blame culture. Old fashioned view of how the work place should operate, agility doesn't exist here, disappointing and unrewarding - if you intend to work for this company - i suggest you join the clique to progress

    Continue reading
    Irish Life2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, supportive company if you wish to continue obtaining qualifications

    Cons

    Becoming more and more difficult to unlock bonuses

    Irish Life2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Irish Life Health: Mixed bag, developed a lot but left because of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Irish Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Salary & benefits not bad *Develops lower level staff for mid-range roles *Office is centrally located

    Cons

    *Do not develop staff for more senior roles *Frustrating BAU experience as most decisions not made for the right reasons (politics) *Too many staff get away with very poor performance consistently

    Continue reading
    Irish Life2019-09-15
  9. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    you get to learn many things and work with people who actually know what they're doing

    Cons

    non-inclusive environment, poor work life balance

    Irish Life2019-09-08
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, decent salary and good pension

    Cons

    No working from home available

    Irish Life2019-08-08
Found 108 reviews