Irish Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Irish Life Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
David Harney
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexi-time/days (again team dependent)(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good culture and sense of companionship(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Increased red tape since takeover from GWLC(in 6 reviews)

  • "Outdated systems, lack of morale,long hours,poor management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Staff, good benefits, good scope for moving around, good culture

    Cons

    Salary and salary increments are relatively poor.

    Irish Life2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "CB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pension Administrator in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Location, great people, flexi-time

    Cons

    Poor management, very little room for progression unless you are friends or family of executives/managers, outdated systems, high workload

    Advice to Management

    Waste of my time.

    Irish Life2019-04-27
  3. "Headless Chickens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business Support 

      I have been working at Irish Life full-time

      Pros

      Good Staff New Building Pay for QFA exams

      Cons

      Pay Career Path Poor Lack of Direction Expect More Than Other Companies

      Irish Life2019-04-03
    • "Investment Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        not much, nice atrium and canteen

        Cons

        Outdated systems, lack of morale,long hours,poor management. Avoid taking a job in ILIM, your life will be better for it.

        Irish Life2019-03-30
      • "Great Systems. Old Fashioned Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Irish Life full-time

        Pros

        Great IT systems. Flexi Time.

        Cons

        Old Fashioned management System. Some (PR) management refuse to release annual reports, for example, to members of the public who phone up.

        Irish Life2019-03-13
      • "Irish life grad programme"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Actuarial Trainee 

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Study leave, lots of people in similar positions

        Cons

        Promotion policy is very poor.

        Irish Life2019-03-11
      • "It's grand"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Actuarial Trainee in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good work life balance in some teams. Flexi-time/days (again team dependent). Lots of internal promotions if that's your goal. Very sociable bunch, lots of activities/events.

        Cons

        Teams don't communicate well. Lots of trainee actuaries with little knowledge/interest in the whys of what they're doing which can be frustrating. Resistance to change in some teams. Not a diverse crowd. Quite a bit of workplace gossip.

        Advice to Management

        Less pointless meetings and more openness to new ideas/change.

        Irish Life2019-01-05
      • "Great team & People - Good location"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Oracle Database Administrator in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great people and benefits. nice place to work.

        Cons

        could do with higher base salaries and market adjustments aligned to job types

        Irish Life2018-12-18

        Irish Life Response

        January 2, 2019Recruitment Specialist

        Thank you for your comments. We do indeed work with great people and appreciate that you feel that this is a nice place to work. We have taken note of your comments regarding salary and market rates.

      • "Nice place to work with supportive career progression"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time

        Pros

        Bringing in some good staff benefits, colleagues are generally great people and with so many departments and supportive management there's great opportunity to move sideways with training and upskilling provided

        Cons

        Can be a bit old school when it comes to management, being a large financial institution it's alot slower implementing change compared to smaller newer companies

        Irish Life2018-11-04

        Irish Life Response

        November 12, 2018Recruitment Specialist

        Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased that you feel that there are opportunities in the organisation. Feedback is an important part of improving our performance as an organisation.

      • "Great Environment, Work Lacked Challenge and Responsibility"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Network Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Irish Life full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible Hours, Great Cafeteria, Great Facilities

        Cons

        Unchallenging Work, Lack of Responsibility

        Advice to Management

        Have more structured work placement set out for intern

        Irish Life2018-10-21

        Irish Life Response

        November 12, 2018Recruitment Specialist

        Hello and thanks you for leaving a review. We appreciate your honest feedback about the company.

      Found 91 reviews