Irish Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Irish Life Reviews

Updated 4 November 2018
84 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Harney
33 Ratings

84 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Flexi time, which is very family friendly" (in 6 reviews)

  • "good location for public transport" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Increased red tape since takeover from GWLC" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Sometimes very boring work and repetitive, occasional long hours, tends to become very IT based work" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Pensions admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    So much patience, never made u feel like u were bothering them. So helpful, friendly, great atmosphere and akways loads planned for us

    Cons

    Having to get a smelly bus to work. Junkies everywhere. Sometimes water cooler was empty

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and for your feedback. We wish you well in your future career.


  2. "Nice place to work with supportive career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    Bringing in some good staff benefits, colleagues are generally great people and with so many departments and supportive management there's great opportunity to move sideways with training and upskilling provided

    Cons

    Can be a bit old school when it comes to management, being a large financial institution it's alot slower implementing change compared to smaller newer companies

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased that you feel that there are opportunities in the organisation. Feedback is an important part of improving our performance as an... More

  3. "Great Environment, Work Lacked Challenge and Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Great Cafeteria, Great Facilities

    Cons

    Unchallenging Work, Lack of Responsibility

    Advice to Management

    Have more structured work placement set out for intern

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Hello and thanks you for leaving a review. We appreciate your honest feedback about the company.


  4. Helpful (3)

    "GWLE IT - Lovely people but a great need for fairness and transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    Great location in the city centre, good facilities and really friendly people. A lot of interesting projects to get involved in, if you're chosen to participate.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency, particularly when it comes to career progression opportunities. A chosen few get selected and it comes across as being on the basis of their relationship with the hiring manager rather than merit. Lack of organisational skills from the top down. Time wasted due to poor management of people and resources.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to shake themselves up and engage in considerable personal development

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time and will share your comments so that we can make our organisation an even better place to work.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Civil Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Irish Life full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic people and great company facilities

    Cons

    Terrible management style. No coaching or leadership but micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    Worry less about your employees wearing a tie and more about utilising their skills

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for leaving a review and for your service with Irish Life. We appreciate your feedback about our company.


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Amateur Hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Location for transport.

    Cons

    I work in the GWLE IT section of the business so I think it’s only fair I base my review on this.

    The GWLE org needs a culture change and it needs it fast. The current management in place are some of the worst I’ve ever worked for in any large company in Ireland or the UK. There is a nod and a wink culture that still exsists where to progress you just need to befriend the right manager. This is not a company I would recommend for an enthusiastic talented graduate from college.

    The management have been here so long that no new ideas exsist and it’s stale, I just don’t believe they are capable of management in the modern era.

    Their are so many talented people working in IT in GWLE that sadly will never progress because at some stage they disagreed with a project or had a better idea that upset a PM or a manager.

    People are starting to leave now in their droves and I expect this to get worse over the coming months. We are loosing our very best and as usual the less talented are left behind.

    It’s such a shame this company has so much going for it but is managed so badly. The management style is like
    stepping back 40 years into the civil service. The managers that head up some of the critical teams in GWLE are just not good enough.

    Advice to Management

    Management really need to take a good look at themselves and implement a culture change quickly. A radical idea would be to reward your most talented and not your friends. HR need to look into some of the hiring practices happening in GWLE at the moment.

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your service in GWLE. We appreciate you taking the time as we strive to create a better, more effective, diverse and inclusive place to work.


  7. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance
    on-site pool and gym
    staff canteen

    Cons

    salary not at market rate

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased to note your positive comments and are sorry that salary does not meet your expectations.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "You have to be prepared for constant pressure and you need to be highly self driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Can make decent money, good employer benefits,

    Cons

    Highly stressful, not many promotion prospects, high turnover in role, moved around regularly

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to keeping experienced staff happy, most staff constantly looking to move employer due to job pressures and attitude of higher management towards frontline staff

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review and also for your service with Irish Life. As a company, we constantly review ways we can make our organisation an even better... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pension Administrator in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Current Employee - Pension Administrator in Dublin, Co. Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fun people
    Good location
    Great staff restaurant

    Cons

    Management no longer listen
    People on the ground taken for grantes

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for your 10 years of service with Irish Life. Thank you for your balanced feedback. As you know, as a company we constantly explore ways we can increase employee engagement to enable us... More


  10. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irish Life full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and Interesting projects

    Cons

    Salary isnt great compared to IT companies

    Irish Life Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you giving the time to leave this review and have taken on board your comments.


Showing 84 of 93 reviews
Reset Filters