HCT Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

HCT Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
25%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "You're paid to not acknowledge certain things that everyone knows- student ability/motivation, competence of senior management(in 12 reviews)

  • "The upper management refused to pay overtime during summer(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Run far away from this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HCT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Almost none left I am afraid

    Cons

    Your contract is subject to 'live updates' to your detriment. Students are demotivated and passive.

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    HCT2017-07-12
  2. Helpful (22)

    "slash n burn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HCT

    Pros

    All in the past: collegiality innovation professionalism etc

    Cons

    Perversion 2 Lack of vision Incompetence at the top Inability to listen Erosion of staff conditions Lack.of support Rule by fear Disillusioned students

    Advice to Management

    As student numbers fall and student social media criticism reaches crescendo CEO and his lacklustre team preside over the decimation of the former poster boy of vocational education in the middle-east.

    HCT2016-08-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "UNFAIR DISMISSAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty in Al Fujayrah, Fujairah
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HCT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salaries and good locations to enjoy

    Cons

    Unfair dismissal is common. 2. Credit can be taken by your supervisor when applicable. 3. New program initiated is actually cheating the students 4. No other comments --staff is terrorized

    HCT2020-01-15
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi

    I worked at HCT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Colleagues, Students, Time

    Cons

    Management, Title, VP, HR, No research

    HCT2019-12-25
  5. "Up to you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at HCT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the students are great and pleasant

    Cons

    the school fees benefit do not fully cover your children

    HCT2020-01-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't join unless you're dying of hunger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HCT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is above the market average

    Cons

    HCT is managed by the senseless, ignorant, self-styled genius. Employs dozens of low-grade nameplate academics. They can fabricate a reason and dismiss you at any moment (to show its legal!). Extremely toxic & stressful to qualified & renowned people. Worlds apart from a good university. Most notorious is HCT Ras Al Khaimah Men's Collage. Check retention rate, if you can gain access. Check soaring unemployment rates for its graduates. Don't gamble with your reputation. Don't endanger your future. Never join HCT unless your family is dying of hunger.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HCT was fine 10 years ago. Began the downfall since 2016. HCT 2.0 failed. HCT 4.0 has begun to fail. Come clean. Admit mistakes. Hire quality people. Don't doctor the true statistics. Stop fooling the UAE government and Accreditation agencies.

    HCT2020-01-08
  7. "HCT salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Air Export Agent in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HCT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    apart from the salary none really

    Cons

    dreadful line management, benefits are being reduced yearly, ridiculous equivalency policy, chaotic realignment of salary across Foundations and Graduate programmes, stupid digital fingering in and out punitive action if you are not 'in' the campus sitting doing very little, usual nightmare exam cheating and the absent /present attendance issues

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the current CEO & El Presidente

    HCT2020-01-09
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommends

    I worked at HCT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice company to work for

    Cons

    nothing to say about cons

    HCT2019-11-14
  9. "balanced work and life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HCT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very good environment, amazing colleagues, leadership are approachable

    Cons

    I think free education is good for students but human beings typically dont appreciate free staff, I would alter the system abit so students appreciate HCT more. also I wish summer semesters were not mandatory

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    HCT2019-09-11
  10. "Excellent Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HCT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have had the chance to work with some extraordinary team members during my career, i truly learned a lot.

    Cons

    Due to some massive projects, we used to have long working hours

    Advice to Management

    Thanks to the upper management for their trust in us!

    HCT2019-07-10
Found 156 reviews
</>Embed